1. Casual-One

    Casual-One Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Australia
    Apparently it WAS a mistake involving the changes, and not this method. (I knew I forgot to compress some files!)
    On that note, thanks FriendlyHacker!
     
  2. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    You're welcome! :)
    I'm glad it worked for you! And I'm sorry I wasn't much help.
     
  3. DuyTran

    DuyTran Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Hi can u help me out with this ?? Idk what's wrong T.T I already have installed the pythong 2.7. It keeps saying "IndexError: list index out of range The system cannot find the file specified"
     
  4. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    "The system cannot find the file specified" is always there, you can ignore it. As for "IndexError: list index out of range" it is a Python problem. You need to check everything related to python. In particular, can you tell me whether you've ever installed a different version of python (such as any python 3.x)?
     
  5. DuyTran

    DuyTran Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Vietnam
    No unfortunately I've checked my pc and there's only python 2.7 installed :'(
     
  6. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi! Sorry for the late reply!
    Please check again everything that's related to Python, because that error only comes up - in our case - when there's a Python compatibility issue. I once installed Python 3.5 because I needed it, and the .py script didn't work after that, even after I had uninstalled Python 3.5. As far as I know, issues regarding the .3ds file, the unpacking/repacking processes, the hacks made etc. never cause this error. It's an inside error of Python, it's only related to how Python reads the .py script. Basically, Python is telling you the script isn't written correctly, but we know it actually is written properly for Python 2.7, but it isn't compatible with other versions, which can only mean you made some mistake during the installation. Are you sure you never installed any other Python version before?
     
  7. foolishpigeon

    foolishpigeon Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I just found this and I have to say I’m overjoyed that I can install mods for Citra. Stupid question, but...will your save data be deleted if you do this? Is there a way to keep it? Thanks.
     
  8. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi there! I'm glad you're enthusiastic about modding your games! ^_^
    To answer your question, no, your savedata is not deleted, but depending on what changes you make some things might get mixed up or messed up. If you install someone else's mod, be sure to check whether they say you need to start a new game or not. Also if you're worried about losing your savedata just make a backup of the Citra folder found in "C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\Citra", that's where your save files are located.
    Hope this helps! :)
     
  9. tachko

    tachko Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Hungary
    Hello! Thank you for the tutorial, though I'm having a problem in the command program. I tried to look up a solution as to not ask a question you have already answered before, but I just can't seem to find a solution.
    My problem is when I try to type in the "3dstool -xvtf romfs romfs.bin --romfs-dir romfs" command, when I press enter it just says "3dstool is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batchfile.".
    What could I do to solve this? :(
     
  10. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi! Sorry for the late reply!
    I'm sorry you're having trouble! And don't worry about asking questions, I try to help anyone who needs support here, so don't be shy, ask away! ;)
    About that message you get, did you follow each step correctly? If you get that message it means you're probably trying to run 3dstool.exe without first telling the system where to find the program.
    You need to set the path where 3dstool.exe is located in the command prompt and then type or copy-paste that command.
    Here are the step-by-step instructions.
    - Open the command prompt, you'll see something like:

    C:\Users\YourUsername>

    - Type cd followed by the path where 3dstool is located on your pc, preferably between quotation marks (for instance let's pretend you put it in "C:\3dstool"):

    C:\Users\YourUsername> cd "C:\3dstool"

    - Hit Enter and you'll get:

    C:\3dstool>

    - Copy-paste the command and hit Enter:

    C:\3dstool>3dstool -xvtf romfs romfs.bin --romfs-dir romfs

    And the romfs.bin file you put in the folder will be extracted.
    If it still doesn't work, please tell me what you do exactly so I can help you out. :)
     
  11. girlfrand

    girlfrand Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    hi, thanks for this tutorial! unfortunately, i'm having a bit of trouble when it comes to 5.. it says the system cannot find the path specified when i type in the path :(

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    hi, thanks for this tutorial! unfortunately, i'm having a bit of trouble when it comes to step 5.. it says the system cannot find the path specified when i type in the path :(
     
  12. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi there! :)
    If you get that error it means you're not writing the path correctly. Try copy-pasting it from the address bar to be sure and enclose it in quotation marks (if you're on Windows 10 pasting on the command prompt is done by right clicking).
    Hope this helps! If you need any clarification or maybe screenshots, feel free to ask! ^_^
     
  13. Clueless_Academic

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hi FriendlyHacker, I'm having a problem getting past step 2.
    I've tried changing the Encoding to both UTF-8 w/ & w/o BOM, and in both cases the batch file just closes immediately.
    Don't know if it's useful but other things I've noticed:
    • When using the latter option (UTF-8 w/o BOM), this shows up in the prompt. (image below)
    • The original name for the 3DS file I'm trying to install a mod to in question is "0244 - Fire Emblem - Awakening (Europe) (En,Fr,De,Es,It) Decrypted"
    • I'm using Windows 10 with a 64-bit operating system (I found this out only now. I was convinced prior I was running 32-bit)
    • I put everything required for this whole thing under one desktop folder (named TEST), so as to not have to backtrack everywhere for everything. All still in their respective folders of course...

      EDIT: I was able to do it through a different set of methods. Thank either way, finally able to ship my ships
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 18, 2020
    FriendlyHacker likes this.
  14. FriendlyHacker

    OP FriendlyHacker Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi, sorry I couldn't help! But I'm glad you managed to do what you wanted to! :)
    And thumbs up for the ships, whichever they are! :yay:
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Installing, emulator, hacks