Homebrew DS(i) NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,747
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,666
Country
United States
Since there's already one for the 3DS, I thought why not make one for the DS(i) as well?
With the recent rise of the DSi scene with users using Unlaunch, hiyaCFW, and TWiLight Menu++ with nds-bootstrap, it's about time there's a noob paradise for the DS(i).

Basically, this thread was made so that hopefully this subforum won't get clogged with the same question(s). :P

If you need help urgently or you aren't getting your question answered here, you can also try asking in those servers below.

DS⁽ⁱ⁾ Mode Hacking! Discord server: https://discord.gg/yD3spjv

Common FAQs

Q: How do I update Unlaunch?
A: Download the latest one here: https://problemkaputt.de/unlaunch.htm, and extract "unlaunch.dsi" to the SD root.

If you're on 1.8 or later:
Power on your DSi console, then select "UNLAUNCH".
After selecting it, select "INSTALL NOW".
You should now be on the latest version.

If you're on 1.7 or below:
Extract "unlaunch.dsi" to the SD root.
Rename your existing "bootcode.dsi" file to "hiya.dsi" (if using hiyaCFW), then rename "unlaunch.dsi" to "bootcode.dsi".
Put your SD card in the DSi console, then power it on.
If you see an "INSTALL NOW" option, select it.
You should now be on the latest version.

Q: How do I uninstall Unlaunch?
A: Download Unlaunch above, boot "unlaunch.dsi", then select "UNINSTALL".
It is not recommended to do so, as there's a high chance of bricking.

Q: Uninstalling Unlaunch says that my DSi will be rendered useless, will that brick my DSi?
A: No, it won't. That's just NoCash's way of saying that the DSi will be back to stock/unmodified.
 
Last edited by RocketRobz,
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,560
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
16,466
Country
Austria
What happens if you update the system with Unlaunch 1.8 installed?

Hello :)

When you do this you´ve got at the next boot up:

"An error has occurred.Press and hold the Power button to turn the system off.Please see the Nintendo DSi manual for help troubleshooting".

Nothing more or else.:)
Thrust,i know it.:lol:
 

kerik

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
33
Country
Russia
Hi guys,

Is it possible to change user name in TwilightMenu++? As I understand CFW use user name that was in settings when CFW was installed, right?
 

HE1NZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
149
Trophies
0
XP
287
Country
Serbia, Republic of
What format should DSiWare dumps be? I have a collection in .nds format, got it years ago and never tried. Will it work?
 

orangy57

bruh
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2015
Messages
729
Trophies
0
Age
19
Location
New Jersey
XP
1,999
Country
United States
Is there a way to get NDS homebrew to be installed on the DSi's home menu? I know some homebrew is compatible, like nesDS, so I'm not sure why any homebrew couldn't be patched to work
 

Trash_Bandatcoot

Your Local Random Internet Geek
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2018
Messages
1,140
Trophies
1
XP
3,226
Country
Netherlands
Is there a way to get NDS homebrew to be installed on the DSi's home menu? I know some homebrew is compatible, like nesDS, so I'm not sure why any homebrew couldn't be patched to work
The homebrew must have DSi-headers, however, even that is hard. All you can try is either contacting the developer or edit the source yourself.
 

Maxcension

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 5, 2017
Messages
28
Trophies
0
XP
488
Country
France
hello!
i wanted to update my DSi because i haven't touched it since June, so i do what the "If you're on 1.7 or below" section say because I didn't know my version (but I'm sure it's not 1.8).
the problem is that I didn't have the "INSTALL NOW" option, and now I don't have SRLauncher & co in the menu as before.
i tried to install TWiLight Menu++ using the instructions for DSi users with HiyaCFW (i deleted the old _nds folder and extract the one in the 7z file, extract BOOT.NDS in the root of my sdcard, extract the files in "DSi - CFW users\DSiWare (EUR)" and "SDNAND root" in the root too (by replacing the files present before)) but it changed nothing.
what i do wrong? (i installed hiyacfw with ugopwn a long time ago)
thanks!
 
Last edited by Maxcension,

Bens411

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 19, 2013
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
403
Country
France
Hi !
Is it possible, or will it be possible, to change the region of a DSi ?
Also, is it possible to load a custom firmware from the NAND, instead of a SD card (for faster boot time) ?
Thanks !
 

realdrdoob

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
31
Country
United States
Hi, just wondering, if I have an R4, can I load fwTool.nds through that instead of HBMenu through the Flipnote Studio?

Also, I'm looking at that dsi.cfw.guide site, and they mention something called "Flipnote Lenny", does that mean you don't have to do that thing where you click paste like 150 times or whatever it was?
 

RocketRobz

Coolest of TWL
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
14,747
Trophies
2
Age
22
XP
16,666
Country
United States
Hi, just wondering, if I have an R4, can I load fwTool.nds through that instead of HBMenu through the Flipnote Studio?
Yes, but you won't have NAND access.
Also, I'm looking at that dsi.cfw.guide site, and they mention something called "Flipnote Lenny", does that mean you don't have to do that thing where you click paste like 150 times or whatever it was?
Yes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ClaireKK
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: I guess Microsoft took over the 2ds line...