[Info Thread] Kingmax Micro SD 2gb

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by AKUC, Jan 2, 2008.

Jan 2, 2008
  1. AKUC
    OP

    Newcomer AKUC Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    I recently picked up a R4 and instead of getting one of the "Japanese" microSD cards, I decided to test out a "Taiwanese" brand just for kicks. I tried Castlevania: POR and it worked fine without any crashing or freezing.

    Just wanted to let you all know. Will add this info into the memory wiki.

    BTW I used the 1.14 firmware for the R4 and I have the newest version.
     
  2. RS VR6

    Newcomer RS VR6 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using a Sandisk 128mb card for now and I have no issues with either Castlevania games, and its from China.
     
  3. AKUC
    OP

    Newcomer AKUC Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    [UPDATE]: After playing for a day, I turned off my DS to change games and the card died. Wasn't able to read it on a computer or a camera.
    ; - ;

    Exchanged it for a Sandisk 2.0gb Card (Also got a Japanese Kingston 2.0gb as well, but I'll post more results)

    Stupid cheap kingmax~
     
  4. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    A question regarding to
    Is problem of 2GB Japanese Kingston related to a specific card(s) like R4 or it just have problems with some specific games?

    In other words, Will Castlevania:PoR (or possibly other games or future releases) having problems in R4 mean that they have such problems with other cards such as Cyclo or DSTT too?
     
  5. bfoos

    Member bfoos GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Country:
    United States
    He didn't have a problem with a Kingston Japanese card. It was a Kingmax Taiwanese card.
     

Share This Page