Tutorial How to make 3DS Games with Unity

Should I add some Demo Projects?


  • Total voters
    54
  • Poll closed .

Davey159

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 13, 2020
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
18
XP
134
Country
United States
Okay, I downloaded Unity, but it does not offer an option to build for 3DS, Is it just me? Is there a way to fix this issue? And I tried to download an older version of Unity which supported the 3DS... But It is not downloadable anymore - from my knolwege. Can anybody drop a link to the old Unity version - one that supports 3DS? I would be very thankful
 

User154

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2021
Messages
254
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,264
Country
United Kingdom
Does anyone know how to get touch input on 3DS, I would usually use something like:

if (Input.touchCount > 0){
Touch touch = Input.GetTouch(0);
}

but this does not work for 3DS
 

xScarYx

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2021
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
512
Country
Germany
U should keep an eye on "FLAX Engine and Godot", they make really progress. i dont like Unity at all. Feels to overloaded with half-baked features, UI is nothing if ur a artist (yeah i know, theres an asset store) not really thought to the end.

*edit* had a typo :)
 
Last edited by xScarYx,

placebo_yue

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2019
Messages
739
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,264
Country
Argentina
Flex Engine
I don't think using an engine made by some guy that only had 11 releases since 2017 is better than using unity that has a giant community, an asset store full of whatever you could ever need, and an engine that might leave many things to be desired but it's getting constant updates and new versions... godot might be worth trying tho
 

xScarYx

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2021
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
512
Country
Germany
I don't think using an engine made by some guy that only had 11 releases since 2017 is better than using unity that has a giant community, an asset store full of whatever you could ever need, and an engine that might leave many things to be desired but it's getting constant updates and new versions... godot might be worth trying tho

ups my bad, had a typo. i mean FLAX Engine
 

Sammyueru

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 4, 2021
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
55
Country
United States
Ok. Nevermind, i managed to fix the problem by myself. If you did consider assisting me though, then thank you for your time.

Yes I would like to know how too
If anyone knows please help me on this!

Alright I got it to work but now I get this error (Any help?):
Unable to create ROM .cci
"C:\Nintendo\Sam\SDK\ctr_sdk\tools\CommandLineTools\ctr_makerom32.exe" -f card "C:\UnityGame\3DS\SuperSoarin3DS\SuperSourin3DS\Temp\StagingArea\Player.axf" -desc "C:\Nintendo\Sam\SDK\ctr_sdk\resources\specfiles\ExtApplication.desc" -banner "C:\UnityGame\3DS\SuperSoarin3DS\SuperSourin3DS\Temp\StagingArea\Banner.bnr" -icon "C:\UnityGame\3DS\SuperSoarin3DS\SuperSourin3DS\Temp\StagingArea\Icon.icn" -rsf "C:\UnityGame\3DS\SuperSoarin3DS\SuperSourin3DS\Temp\StagingArea\Application.rsf" -DROMFS_ROOT="RomFplatform S" -DTITLE="game" -o "C:\UnityGame\3DS\Builds\SuperSoarin3DSBuild1.cci"

stderr[

]
stdout[
[MAKEROM ERROR] Failed to make cci: Syntax error
File : C:\UnityGame\3DS\SuperSoarin3DS\SuperSourin3DS\Temp\StagingArea\Application.rsf
Line : 2
"Soarin" is unexpected.

]
at UnityEditor.N3DS.Command.Run (System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo psi, UnityEditor.N3DS.WaitingForProcessToExit waitingForProcessToExit, System.String errorMsg) [0x00038] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\Command.cs:74
at UnityEditor.PostProcessN3DS.Run (System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo psi, UnityEditor.N3DS.WaitingForProcessToExit waitingForProcessToExit, System.String errorMsg) [0x00016] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\PostProcessN3DS.cs:1630
at UnityEditor.PostProcessN3DS.CreateCCI (Boolean developmentBuild, System.Collections.Generic.List`1 cfaList, System.String installPath, System.String stagingArea) [0x002e7] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\PostProcessN3DS.cs:999
at UnityEditor.PostProcessN3DS.PostProcess (BuildTarget target, BuildOptions options, System.String installPath, System.String stagingAreaData, System.String stagingArea, System.String playerPackage, System.String stagingAreaDataManaged, UnityEditor.RuntimeClassRegistry usedClassRegistry) [0x003b4] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\PostProcessN3DS.cs:285
UnityEditor.HostView:OnGUI()
 
Last edited by Sammyueru,

TheCrossovers

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 9, 2021
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
51
XP
65
Country
Korea, South
.
 

Attachments

  • 1.PNG
    1.PNG
    51.3 KB · Views: 149
  • 2.PNG
    2.PNG
    58.5 KB · Views: 149
  • 3.PNG
    3.PNG
    43.2 KB · Views: 115
Last edited by TheCrossovers,

PixelBox

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 9, 2021
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
47
Country
Dominican Republic
I had these problems, I installed ARM CC 5.4
and this IL2CPP error was removed and I managed to export CIA
I hope it will help you...
LUCK!!

Ve a google el es tu mejor amigo:D
 

quarter

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 29, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
17
XP
37
Country
Australia
do you know where I can find UnityNew3DS_2_0_1
Thanks for helping me. I’ve been trying to find where that Unity documentation was for a long time. Now I’ve managed to get something running involving a full room, albeit at like 10 FPS. (The models are Switch-quality, which obviously causes that.) Still fun to mess around with.

Thank you again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zellix

grisu_YT

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 24, 2020
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
164
Country
Germany
HOW?!
i managed to fix it too by adding the environment variables manually, that seemed to fix it, until i got these errors:
unknown.png
It's to do with the IL2CPP or armcc, im not sure, i did install it and it should work properly, it's also got the same path, the files are there, they just don't work?!
has anyone managed to fix this

everything i try doesnt work
 

grisu_YT

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 24, 2020
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
164
Country
Germany
has anyone managed to fix this

everything i try doesnt work
Ok i fixed it
idk how tough but now i get a banner error

Error 1.
Unable to create banner
"C:\Nintendo\BALLKOUR\SDK\ctr_sdk\tools\CommandLineTools\ctr_makebanner32.exe" -noicn BannerSpec.bsf "F:\Games\BallKour New 3DS\Temp\StagingArea\Banner.bnr"

stderr[

]
stdout[
MAKEBANNER FATAL ERROR: Language "English" LongName is necessary for region "All".
]
at UnityEditor.N3DS.Command.Run (System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo psi, UnityEditor.N3DS.WaitingForProcessToExit waitingForProcessToExit, System.String errorMsg) [0x00038] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\Command.cs:74
at UnityEditor.PostProcessN3DS.Run (System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo psi, UnityEditor.N3DS.WaitingForProcessToExit waitingForProcessToExit, System.String errorMsg) [0x00016] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\PostProcessN3DS.cs:1630
at UnityEditor.PostProcessN3DS.MakeBannerAndOrIcon (System.String stagingArea, System.String bnrPathName, System.String cbmdPathName, System.String iconPathName) [0x00157] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\PostProcessN3DS.cs:843
at UnityEditor.PostProcessN3DS.CreateCCI (Boolean developmentBuild, System.Collections.Generic.List`1 cfaList, System.String installPath, System.String stagingArea) [0x000cb] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\PostProcessN3DS.cs:952
at UnityEditor.PostProcessN3DS.PostProcess (BuildTarget target, BuildOptions options, System.String installPath, System.String stagingAreaData, System.String stagingArea, System.String playerPackage, System.String stagingAreaDataManaged, UnityEditor.RuntimeClassRegistry usedClassRegistry) [0x003b4] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\PostProcessN3DS.cs:285
UnityEditor.BuildPlayerWindow:BuildPlayerAndRun()

Error 2.
Error building Player: Unable to create banner
"C:\Nintendo\BALLKOUR\SDK\ctr_sdk\tools\CommandLineTools\ctr_makebanner32.exe" -noicn BannerSpec.bsf "F:\Games\BallKour New 3DS\Temp\StagingArea\Banner.bnr"

stderr[

]
stdout[
MAKEBANNER FATAL ERROR: Language "English" LongName is necessary for region "All".
]
at UnityEditor.N3DS.Command.Run (System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo psi, UnityEditor.N3DS.WaitingForProcessToExit waitingForProcessToExit, System.String errorMsg) [0x00038] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\Command.cs:74
at UnityEditor.PostProcessN3DS.Run (System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo psi, UnityEditor.N3DS.WaitingForProcessToExit waitingForProcessToExit, System.String errorMsg) [0x00016] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\PostProcessN3DS.cs:1630
at UnityEditor.PostProcessN3DS.MakeBannerAndOrIcon (System.String stagingArea, System.String bnrPathName, System.String cbmdPathName, System.String iconPathName) [0x00157] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\PostProcessN3DS.cs:843
at UnityEditor.PostProcessN3DS.CreateCCI (Boolean developmentBuild, System.Collections.Generic.List`1 cfaList, System.String installPath, System.String stagingArea) [0x000cb] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\PostProcessN3DS.cs:952
at UnityEditor.PostProcessN3DS.PostProcess (BuildTarget target, BuildOptions options, System.String installPath, System.String stagingAreaData, System.String stagingArea, System.String playerPackage, System.String stagingAreaDataManaged, UnityEditor.RuntimeClassRegistry usedClassRegistry) [0x003b4] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\PlatformDependent\N3DS\Editor\Managed\PostProcessN3DS.cs:285
 

placebo_yue

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2019
Messages
739
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,264
Country
Argentina
Just use the default banners for now and try to compile.
It took me a long time to get a banner working, and tbh i don't think it's worth the trouble, if i ever made a proper game i'd just ask some of the very talented people around here to make a banner for me and attach it to my .CIA and be done with it
 

grisu_YT

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 24, 2020
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
164
Country
Germany
Just use the default banners for now and try to compile.
It took me a long time to get a banner working, and tbh i don't think it's worth the trouble, if i ever made a proper game i'd just ask some of the very talented people around here to make a banner for me and attach it to my .CIA and be done with it
yeah it works now but i got another problem

error:
Failed running C:\Program Files (x86)\ARMCC_Nintendo_5\bin\../bin64\armcc.exe -c -I "C:/Nintendo/UnityNew3DS_1_3_0/Editor/Data/PlaybackEngines/N3DS/Tools\il2cpp\bdwgc\include" -I "C:/Nintendo/UnityNew3DS_1_3_0/Editor/Data/PlaybackEngines/N3DS/Tools\il2cpp\libil2cpp\include" -I "Temp/StagingArea\il2cppOutput" -I "C:\Nintendo\BALLKOUR\SDK\ctr_sdk\include" --gnu --cpu "MPCore" --split_sections --apcs=/interwork --littleend --arm --vfe --signed_chars --no_rtti --wchar --wchar16 --multibyte_chars --dollar --exceptions --remove_unneeded_entities --diag_style=ide --data_reorder --fpmode=fast -O2 "-Otime" --no_debug --no_debug_macros --diag_suppress=1,68,186,368,177,550 -D "NN_COMPILER_RVCT" -D "NN_COMPILER_RVCT_VERSION_MAJOR=4" -D "NN_COMPILER_RVCT_VERSION_MINOR=1" -D "NN_PROCESSOR_ARM" -D "NN_PROCESSOR_ARM11MPCORE" -D "NN_PROCESSOR_ARM_V6" -D "NN_PROCESSOR_ARM_VFP_V2" -D "NN_HARDWARE_CTR" -D "NN_PLATFORM_CTR" -D "NN_HARDWARE_CTR_TS" -D "NN_SYSTEM_PROCESS" -D "NN_DEBUGGER_KMC_PARTNER" -D "NN_COMPILER_OPTION_ARM" -D "NN_EFFORT_FAST" -D "__STDC_LIMIT_MACROS" Temp\Il2CppCache\__N3DS_AssemblyLinkInfo.cpp -o Temp\Il2CppCache\__N3DS_AssemblyLinkInfo.o Temp\Il2CppCache\__N3DS_AssemblyLinkInfo.cpp(38,46) : error #22: invalid hexadecimal number Temp\Il2CppCache\__N3DS_AssemblyLinkInfo.cpp(38,48) : error #65: expected a ";" armcc : Temp\Il2CppCache\__N3DS_AssemblyLinkInfo.cpp: 0 warnings, 2 errors UnityEngine.Debug:LogError(Object) NativeCompiler:RunProgram(ProcessStartInfo) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/NativeCompiler.cs:57) NativeCompiler:Execute(String, String) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/NativeCompiler.cs:24) ArmccCompiler:Compile(String, String, Boolean) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/PlatformDependent/N3DS/Editor/Managed/ArmccCompiler.cs:195) ArmccCompiler:CreateLinkInfo(String[], String) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/PlatformDependent/N3DS/Editor/Managed/ArmccCompiler.cs:307) ArmccCompiler:CompileDynamicLibrary(String, IEnumerable`1, IEnumerable`1, IEnumerable`1, IEnumerable`1) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/PlatformDependent/N3DS/Editor/Managed/ArmccCompiler.cs:103) UnityEditorInternal.IL2CPPBuilder:Run() (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/IL2CPPUtils.cs:161) UnityEditorInternal.IL2CPPUtils:RunIl2Cpp(String, IIl2CppPlatformProvider, Action`1, RuntimeClassRegistry, Boolean) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/IL2CPPUtils.cs:41) UnityEditor.HostView:OnGUI()
 

grisu_YT

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 24, 2020
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
164
Country
Germany
yeah it works now but i got another problem

error:
Failed running C:\Program Files (x86)\ARMCC_Nintendo_5\bin\../bin64\armcc.exe -c -I "C:/Nintendo/UnityNew3DS_1_3_0/Editor/Data/PlaybackEngines/N3DS/Tools\il2cpp\bdwgc\include" -I "C:/Nintendo/UnityNew3DS_1_3_0/Editor/Data/PlaybackEngines/N3DS/Tools\il2cpp\libil2cpp\include" -I "Temp/StagingArea\il2cppOutput" -I "C:\Nintendo\BALLKOUR\SDK\ctr_sdk\include" --gnu --cpu "MPCore" --split_sections --apcs=/interwork --littleend --arm --vfe --signed_chars --no_rtti --wchar --wchar16 --multibyte_chars --dollar --exceptions --remove_unneeded_entities --diag_style=ide --data_reorder --fpmode=fast -O2 "-Otime" --no_debug --no_debug_macros --diag_suppress=1,68,186,368,177,550 -D "NN_COMPILER_RVCT" -D "NN_COMPILER_RVCT_VERSION_MAJOR=4" -D "NN_COMPILER_RVCT_VERSION_MINOR=1" -D "NN_PROCESSOR_ARM" -D "NN_PROCESSOR_ARM11MPCORE" -D "NN_PROCESSOR_ARM_V6" -D "NN_PROCESSOR_ARM_VFP_V2" -D "NN_HARDWARE_CTR" -D "NN_PLATFORM_CTR" -D "NN_HARDWARE_CTR_TS" -D "NN_SYSTEM_PROCESS" -D "NN_DEBUGGER_KMC_PARTNER" -D "NN_COMPILER_OPTION_ARM" -D "NN_EFFORT_FAST" -D "__STDC_LIMIT_MACROS" Temp\Il2CppCache\__N3DS_AssemblyLinkInfo.cpp -o Temp\Il2CppCache\__N3DS_AssemblyLinkInfo.o Temp\Il2CppCache\__N3DS_AssemblyLinkInfo.cpp(38,46) : error #22: invalid hexadecimal number Temp\Il2CppCache\__N3DS_AssemblyLinkInfo.cpp(38,48) : error #65: expected a ";" armcc : Temp\Il2CppCache\__N3DS_AssemblyLinkInfo.cpp: 0 warnings, 2 errors UnityEngine.Debug:LogError(Object) NativeCompiler:RunProgram(ProcessStartInfo) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/NativeCompiler.cs:57) NativeCompiler:Execute(String, String) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/NativeCompiler.cs:24) ArmccCompiler:Compile(String, String, Boolean) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/PlatformDependent/N3DS/Editor/Managed/ArmccCompiler.cs:195) ArmccCompiler:CreateLinkInfo(String[], String) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/PlatformDependent/N3DS/Editor/Managed/ArmccCompiler.cs:307) ArmccCompiler:CompileDynamicLibrary(String, IEnumerable`1, IEnumerable`1, IEnumerable`1, IEnumerable`1) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/PlatformDependent/N3DS/Editor/Managed/ArmccCompiler.cs:103) UnityEditorInternal.IL2CPPBuilder:Run() (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/IL2CPPUtils.cs:161) UnityEditorInternal.IL2CPPUtils:RunIl2Cpp(String, IIl2CppPlatformProvider, Action`1, RuntimeClassRegistry, Boolean) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/Il2Cpp/IL2CPPUtils.cs:41) UnityEditor.HostView:OnGUI()
please help i really want to get my 3ds game to work
 

placebo_yue

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2019
Messages
739
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,264
Country
Argentina
please help i really want to get my 3ds game to work
I'm afraid you're on uncharted territory. My guess is that there's something wrong with your installation of the nintendo SDK for unity. But try anything you can think of, gradle to internal, changing package name. Any other setting you can think of mixing up a little. Perhaps open a fresh blank project and see if THAT compiles. Then at least you know the problem is in this project and not in your installation of the SDK. Trial and error, try to discard possible causes, and possible solutions
 

MG4M3R

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
351
Trophies
1
XP
532
Country
Brazil
please help i really want to get my 3ds game to work
Did you manage to run one of the template projects?

I recommend doing this first and then just duplicating the template project and gradually porting your game to it.

Also, only use shaders present in the template project.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It must be the 1st already
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    1st of what?
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    may?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Oh yeah it's in September
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BakerMan, yea i think its different
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    ok, because here it's in september, right before the fuckin school year starts
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    as to you
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    How do you know if the night will be good when you're asleep
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    because i didn't say i was asleep
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i said i was sleeping...
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    sleeping with uremum
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Even my mum slept on that uremum
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    yall im torn... ive been hacking away at tales of phantasia GBA (the USA version) and have so many documents of reverse engineering i've done
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I just found out that the EU version is better in literally every way, better sound quality, better lighting, and there's even a patch someone made to make the text look nicer
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    Do I restart now using what i've learned on the EU version since it's a better overall experience? or do I continue with the US version since that is what ive been using, and if someone decides to play my hack, it would most likely be that version?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    @TwoSpikedHands, I'll preface this with the fact that I know nothing about the game, but, I think it depends on what your goals are. Are you trying to make a definitive version of the game? You may want to refocus your efforts on the EU version then. Or, are you trying to make a better US version? In which case, the only way to make a better US version is to keep on plugging away at that one ;)
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I'm not familiar with the technicalities of the differences between the two versions, but I'm wondering if at least some of those differences are things that you could port over to the US version in your patch without having to include copyrighted assets from the EU version
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    @Sicklyboy I am wanting to fully change the game and bend it to my will lol. I would like to eventually have the ability to add more characters, enemies, even have a completely different story if i wanted. I already have the ability to change the tilemaps in the US version, so I can basically make my own map and warp to it in game - so I'm pretty far into it!
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I really would like to make a hack that I would enjoy playing, and maybe other people would too. swapping to the EU version would also mean my US friends could not legally play it
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I am definitely considering porting over some of the EU features without using the actual ROM itself, tbh that would probably be the best way to go about it... but i'm sad that the voice acting is so.... not good on the US version. May not be a way around that though
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I appreciate the insight!
    TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands: I appreciate the insight!