HELP! with bricked wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Shpinxis, Sep 2, 2009.

Sep 2, 2009

HELP! with bricked wii by Shpinxis at 8:07 PM (1,601 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    i followed this guide...http://www.gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=119311

    i have the twilight hack installed, the HBC, and BootMii, and some other stuff. When i followed this guide i got the wii to make the sounds like it was reading the game but then nothing appeared on the screen...maybe im doing something wrong or i need to do something else..

    i put the game cube controller in port 1 does that matter?
     
  2. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    please can someone help me or point me in the right direction...
     
  3. ozguy

    Member ozguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    United States
    If you have BootMii installed at Boot2, just hold the Reset button down when you power on the Wii.
    You can then use your NAND backup (you did make one didn't you?)
     
  4. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    You're confusing bootmii with preloader. Preloader can be loaded by holding reset while loading the system menu, bootmii installed as boot2 should automatically come up unless you configured it not to or don't have the bootmii folder on your sd card.

    To the OP, knowing exactly what you did to brick the Wii would help diagnose what to do to fix it.
     
  5. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    long story nad no one would understand but i just felt like updating my system even though i like new it was going to mess it up...so ya

    everyone is saying i need my NAND backed up and unless an instalation i did automatically did it no i dont think i did do that
     
  6. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    If you don't explain said story noone can help you. It's hard to diagnose anything without any info.
     
  7. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    the reason why it bricked was because i did an update...
     
  8. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Through what? official update from the system menu settings? Disc update? Waninkoko's updater? What did you have on the system for said update to have cause a brick in the first place? CIOSCORP? downgrade from 4.0 before and disc updated with a game with the 3.4 update?

    Do you have bootmii installed to boot2 or as an IOS?
     
  9. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    i did a system update through the regular disc channel...
     
  10. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Ok you're getting somewhere now, so you updated from a disc. What game did you do this update from? Did you ever downgrade your system menu before from 4.0 or something? Did you have CIOSCORP?

    And you still didn't answer whether you have bootmii installed to boot2 or as an IOS, but I'm gonna assume it's just as an IOS because it's clearly not helping you right now.
     
  11. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    im not sure if i had bootmii installed to boot2 or IOS....when i updated the HBC i saw that it was installing bootmii but i dont remember any options on where to install.

    i did instal cioscorp

    i dont think that the update came from a game...i wasant connected to the internet but i had gotten an email about the new internet channel...i think that was the update
     
  12. Covarr

    Member Covarr Sentient Cash Register

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Far East of Eden
    Country:
    United States
    If you did an update through the disc channel, then the update definitely came from a game. Knowing what game might help us.
     
  13. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    since i soft modded my wii have played...

    monster hunter 3
    then conduit
    guitar hero smash hits
    and guitar hero world tour
     
  14. Covarr

    Member Covarr Sentient Cash Register

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Far East of Eden
    Country:
    United States
    Did one of those ask for an update when you played it and you hit yes?
     
  15. EtherealX

    Member EtherealX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    Seems like a downgrade brick. For any reason, did you downgrade your Wii's firmware to 3.2 through AnyRegionChanger after having a 4.0+ firmware? What guide did you originally follow to softmod your Wii?

    If that's the case, you need to start checking to see if you have BootMii installed to boot2 or not. Remove the SD card, and start your Wii. If the disc LED flashes a couple of times, you're in luck. If it only does its normal quick one-time flash, then.. sorry.
     
  16. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    no i dont know what game qould have given me the update....ill check the light flashing thing

    and all i did was instal the twilight hack...get the HBC...then installed neo gamma
     
  17. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Well you said you did install CIOSCORP so that's clearly not "all you did". You did other stuff on your Wii, so don't skip details. They aren't minor things you did and NOTHING modifies your system even close to as much as CIOSCORP does.

    Also the hackmii installer won't automatically install bootmii for you, it brings you to a menu where you can CHOOSE to install the HBC, CHOOSE to install dvdx, and CHOOSE to go into the bootmii menu and install it as either boot2 or IOS or both if your Wii allows it.

    If you got a message on your system menu that said there is an update and clicked on that, that would NOT be the disc channel that you used to update. Not sure what that would've even tried to install. Possibly 4.1. But you shouldn't have gotten a message on your message board about any update if you weren't connected to the internet in the first place. Nor would it even be able to download any sort of update to install on your system without the internet, the only way you could have updated anything without internet would be through a game from the disc channel. So either you did that, or you had internet.

    You need to be a lot more clear with what you did to your system or at least learn what you did yourself first and then come back when you can post something useful that isn't one line at a time saying "oh yea i did that".
     
  18. Shpinxis
    OP

    Newcomer Shpinxis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    first of all your right im not sure exactly what all ive installed on my wii

    heres what i did:

    i am constantly connected to the internet and one day got a message in my inbox saying there was an update and when i went to the disc channel it wouldnt let me play games unless i updated...so i then disconnected from the internet then did the update
     
  19. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so if you disconnected from the internet and clicked the update from the disc channel, then you updated from a game. Probably doesn't matter all that much, but do you know what game it was?

    And since the brick occurred due to a disc update, did you ever downgrade your Wii to 3.2 or something after previously being on 4.0?

    Do you know what version of CIOSCORP you had installed?

    Try to answer everything in one post.
     
  20. baffle-boy

    Member baffle-boy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Country:
    Canada
    my word, people REALLY shouldn't soft mod their wii without reading up on things, ESPECIALLY not cioscorp... let me get this straight, you installed cioscorp, hbc, dvdx, and probably NOT bootmii or preloader... then did a disk update... well you're pretty much screwed. if thats what happened i doubt it can be fixed, please refrain from bricking your wii, then clogging up the forum with yet another "bricked wii" thread.

    (edit: maybe savemii might work, but once again... unlikely, just follow the guide on site: here )
     

Share This Page