1. Classicgamer

    OP Classicgamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United States
    A lot of information is for Wii only and outdated. I know Wii and vWii are two separate beasts. My vWii is already hacked and my Wii U has an HDD already setup and running on the Wii U side of things...

    I'd like to get nintendon't (gamecube only right?) and vWii backups running.

    Does nintendon't still require a specific folder structure beyond sd:/games ?

    Can I use a loader on vWii to boot Wii backups via sd?

    Thanks so much for all the help!!
     
    Last edited by Classicgamer, Mar 1, 2017
  2. Sinon

    Sinon You can call me either Mike or Autumn
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,213
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    -yes, /games/gamename/game.iso
    -I think you can, yes
     
    Last edited by Sinon, Mar 1, 2017
    Classicgamer likes this.
  3. kehkou

    kehkou does what Nintendon't
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Country:
    United States
    It's mostly the same as on a normal Wii. I use the SD card for my Wii/GC games, and my HDD for Wii U games.
     
  4. Classicgamer

    OP Classicgamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United States
    That is my setup but I'd also like to get Wii games running via vWii without having to hard drive swap.
     
  5. kehkou

    kehkou does what Nintendon't
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Country:
    United States
    No Swapping required, my HDD only has Wii U games. Just put the Wii games on the SD card in the same folders you would put them on USB.
    Are you using two HDDs?
     
    Classicgamer likes this.
  6. Classicgamer

    OP Classicgamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United States
    I'm confused about the folder layout though.

    gamecube is sd:/games/game name [game id].gcm

    what would wii iso folder structure be?
     
  7. Sinon

    Sinon You can call me either Mike or Autumn
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,213
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    wbfs/game[gameid]/game.wbfs?
    just use wii backup manager lol, it's much easier
     
    Last edited by Sinon, Mar 1, 2017
  8. Futurdreamz

    Futurdreamz GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,224
    Country:
    Canada
    Doesn't nintendont require you to use .iso instead of .gcm? Or did they change that?
     
  9. Classicgamer

    OP Classicgamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United States
    i'll find out once I find that title site to name these things correctly lol
     
  10. Sinon

    Sinon You can call me either Mike or Autumn
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,213
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    you don't have to

    "games/gamename/game.iso"

    The title id is optional
     
    Last edited by Sinon, Mar 1, 2017
  11. Classicgamer

    OP Classicgamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United States
    good to know. mine are *.gcm - am I out of luck?
     
  12. Sinon

    Sinon You can call me either Mike or Autumn
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,213
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Last edited by Sinon, Mar 1, 2017
    Classicgamer likes this.
  13. Classicgamer

    OP Classicgamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United States
  14. Sinon

    Sinon You can call me either Mike or Autumn
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,213
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    I use USBloaderGX myself

    but I don't know if USBloaderGX has the ability to load games from sd
     
    Last edited by Sinon, Mar 1, 2017
  15. Futurdreamz

    Futurdreamz GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,224
    Country:
    Canada
    if it helps i do use GCMutility to compress the gamecube roms (it's endorsed by the Dolphin team iirc and i never had a bad shrink), just save them as .iso. But it's unneccesary unless you want to save space.
     
    Classicgamer likes this.
  16. Classicgamer

    OP Classicgamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United States
    so I take it there's a setting I missed that allows it to redirect to sd card >.<

    thanks again! I'm transferring as wbfs now. i'll update if I get this all set up :)
     
  17. Sinon

    Sinon You can call me either Mike or Autumn
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,213
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Sorry, I load my games from USB
     
    Last edited by Sinon, Mar 1, 2017
  18. huma_dawii

    huma_dawii GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,832
    Country:
    United States
    It depends on how you install the IOS base and all of that. install the Alt V2 instead of the V3?

    Depending on which one you install you wont be able to load from SD or USB.
     
  19. Classicgamer

    OP Classicgamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    United States
    this chart huma_dawii?

    [​IMG]
     
  20. huma_dawii

    huma_dawii GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3,832
    Country:
    United States
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - searched, searched, backups