Homebrew Question HBG shop new update and no full ram access

Verin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2019
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
112
Country
United States
After updating the HBG shop to version 4.0, I can no longer hold R over a game and have it load into the homebrew menu to get full access to the full ram for emulation/homebrew etc.

Does anyone know whats going on here? Is there a new button combo? I only updated because the 3.0 HBG shop was not working but I would rather have full access to ram for homebrew than the HBG shop IF I had to choose. Thanks in advance, this one has been doing my head in.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

arianadark

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2016
Messages
723
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
1,672
Country
United States
here download this and put it in your atmosphere folder in your sd card
 

Attachments

  • loader.zip
    235 bytes · Views: 739

Verin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2019
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
112
Country
United States
Ah, thats why I was confused I thought it was a program not the standard ini file from atmosphere. Anyhow, replacing that loader.ini does make the desired menu pop up (full ram access while highlighting a game) but it causes hbg shop/tinfoil to throw an error "The Install environment is corrupt".

Back to square one, it seems you cannot use the HBG shop and have full ram access at the same time. Its forcing me to use "Mercury" and I have to hold R to bring that up instead of L and that does not provide full ram access.
 
Last edited by Verin,

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
8,784
Trophies
2
XP
17,262
Country
United Kingdom
Ah, thats why I was confused I thought it was a program not the standard ini file from atmosphere. Anyhow, doing replacing that loader.ini does make the desired menu pop (full ram access while highlighting a game) but it causes hbg shop/tinfoil to throw an error "The Install environment is corrupt".

Back to square one, it seems you cannot use the HBG shop and have full ram access at the same time. Its forcing me to use "Mercury" and I have to hold R to bring that up instead of L and that does not provide full ram access.
Oh christ, is @blawar pulling this bullshit again? He's of the belief that "dumb users just want to pirate games and don't need/care about homebrew and should run exactly the software I tell them to to make my own life easier". Fuck that guy and his ego and his shitty drm-laden software.
 

Verin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2019
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
112
Country
United States
Oh christ, is @blawar pulling this bullshit again? He's of the belief that "dumb users just want to pirate games and don't need/care about homebrew and should run exactly the software I tell them to to make my own life easier". Fuck that guy and his ego and his shitty drm-laden software.

For now I am just going to have to get rid of Tinfoil, I have tried every possible work around I can think of... at the end of the day I would rather have full ram access. I was just hoping to have both.
 

BASgamer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
151
Trophies
1
XP
1,803
Country
United States
have you tried holding L. i havent updated it lately but i think its with L so that it doesnt interfere with atmospheres less ram homebrew menu. you can get more with atmosphere i think but you need to edit the config
 

Verin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2019
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
112
Country
United States
have you tried holding L. i havent updated it lately but i think its with L so that it doesnt interfere with atmospheres less ram homebrew menu. you can get more with atmosphere i think but you need to edit the config

L does not work, it's been switched to R and that forces Mercury to load. No full ram access... you can not use it on games, only the screen shot icon. If anyone has a viable workaround, I would be happy to hear it.

Thanks to everyone for their replys. I think it's pretty absurd to do something like this with Tinfoil.

(Edit: for some reason I replied that L did work, it does not)
 
Last edited by Verin,

blawar

Developer
Developer
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
1,709
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
4,293
Country
United States
L does not work, it's been switched to R and that forces Mercury to load. No full ram access... you can not use it on games, only the screen shot icon. If anyone has a viable workaround, I would be happy to hear it.

Thanks to everyone for their replys. I think it's pretty absurd to do something like this with Tinfoil.

(Edit: for some reason I replied that L did work, it does not)

Install reinx or sx os, or use goldleaf.
 

Soraiko

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2015
Messages
4,016
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
Hamburg
XP
3,023
Country
Germany
u acces Mercury (HBG homebrew menu) without pressing any button. for the homebrew menu u need to press and hold L ...for album R
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,374
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
12,079
Country
Norway
Ah, thats why I was confused I thought it was a program not the standard ini file from atmosphere. Anyhow, replacing that loader.ini does make the desired menu pop up (full ram access while highlighting a game) but it causes hbg shop/tinfoil to throw an error "The Install environment is corrupt".

Back to square one, it seems you cannot use the HBG shop and have full ram access at the same time. Its forcing me to use "Mercury" and I have to hold R to bring that up instead of L and that does not provide full ram access.
It does provide full RAM access actually as long as you launch it from a game but what you should do is just put back the hbl.nsp and hbmenu.nro from Atmosphere. hbl.nsp is in the atmosphere folder whereas hbmenu.nro is on the root.

hbmenu.nro is where Mercury is contained and it basically hijacks your HBL. I was puzzled when I saw that it was no longer booting into HBL and promptly changed the files back as Mercury seemed super sketchy and sneaking that in there without telling people is not OK.

hbl.nsp is just a modified or outdated version that allocates the maximum RAM available, if you've seen the Tinfoil changelog you might have noticed him complaining about Atmosphere reducing the available amount of RAM in applet mode to allow the soft keyboard to work in homebrew. There is a setting in one of the Atmosphere inis now to adjust the RAM allocation in applet mode though I'm not sure what it should be set to to achieve the same effect.
Tinfoil "needs" that extra RAM in applet mode or some features might not work correctly, but if you just launch HBL in game mode it doesn't matter and you are just as well off using the stock Atmosphere hbmenu.nro and hbl.nsp like I do.

In fact I don't even use most of the files from the hbgshop release. I grab stock Tinfoil and add the required files from hbgshop (minus anything executable) just in case, you never know when someone might decide to put malware in it. I don't particularly trust anything executable that comes from a warez group.
 
Last edited by The Real Jdbye,
  • Like
Reactions: gizmomelb

blawar

Developer
Developer
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
1,709
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
4,293
Country
United States
It does provide full RAM access actually as long as you launch it from a game but what you should do is just put back the hbl.nsp and hbmenu.nro from Atmosphere. hbl.nsp is in the atmosphere folder whereas hbmenu.nro is on the root.

hbmenu.nro is where Mercury is contained and it basically hijacks your HBL. I was puzzled when I saw that it was no longer booting into HBL and promptly changed the files back as Mercury seemed super sketchy and sneaking that in there without telling people is not OK.

hbl.nsp is just a modified or outdated version that allocates the maximum RAM available, if you've seen the Tinfoil changelog you might have noticed him complaining about Atmosphere reducing the available amount of RAM in applet mode to allow the soft keyboard to work in homebrew. There is a setting in one of the Atmosphere inis now to adjust the RAM allocation in applet mode though I'm not sure what it should be set to to achieve the same effect.
Tinfoil "needs" that extra RAM in applet mode or some features might not work correctly, but if you just launch HBL in game mode it doesn't matter and you are just as well off using the stock Atmosphere hbmenu.nro and hbl.nsp.

All of these memes have been mitigated, it now launches hbmenu by default, however all of the relevant files you listed are now signed and cannot be modified:

holding nothing launches hbmenu
holding L launching mercury
holding ZL launches tinfoil
holding ZR launches nxmtp

use a forwarder if you want full access, title override is one of the dumbest memes ive seen in the scene.
 
Last edited by blawar,

Verin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2019
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
112
Country
United States
Thanks guys, I will try this out. Since I have installed this 4.0 of tonfoil, holding L over a game doesn't do anything... the game just starts.
 

Verin

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 13, 2019
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
112
Country
United States
It does provide full RAM access actually as long as you launch it from a game but what you should do is just put back the hbl.nsp and hbmenu.nro from Atmosphere. hbl.nsp is in the atmosphere folder whereas hbmenu.nro is on the root.

hbmenu.nro is where Mercury is contained and it basically hijacks your HBL. I was puzzled when I saw that it was no longer booting into HBL and promptly changed the files back as Mercury seemed super sketchy and sneaking that in there without telling people is not OK.

hbl.nsp is just a modified or outdated version that allocates the maximum RAM available, if you've seen the Tinfoil changelog you might have noticed him complaining about Atmosphere reducing the available amount of RAM in applet mode to allow the soft keyboard to work in homebrew. There is a setting in one of the Atmosphere inis now to adjust the RAM allocation in applet mode though I'm not sure what it should be set to to achieve the same effect.
Tinfoil "needs" that extra RAM in applet mode or some features might not work correctly, but if you just launch HBL in game mode it doesn't matter and you are just as well off using the stock Atmosphere hbmenu.nro and hbl.nsp like I do.

In fact I don't even use most of the files from the hbgshop release. I grab stock Tinfoil and add the required files from hbgshop (minus anything executable) just in case, you never know when someone might decide to put malware in it. I don't particularly trust anything executable that comes from a warez group.


I tried putting back the two files from Atmosphere (nro on the root and nsp in the atmosphere folder) and if I hold L over a game it still will not override the game and take me to the homebrew menu. My homebrew is crashing because of ram limitations now.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,374
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
12,079
Country
Norway
I tried putting back the two files from Atmosphere (nro on the root and nsp in the atmosphere folder) and if I hold L over a game it still will not override the game and take me to the homebrew menu. My homebrew is crashing because of ram limitations now.
Tell that to @blawar, only he knows what might be wrong.
 

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,280
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
4,973
Country
Albania
use a forwarder if you want full access, title override is one of the dumbest memes ive seen in the scene.
I highly agree to this. Why would one run a homebrew app over an installed app. that's dumb. Forwarders exist and have existed ever since the days of the Wii. For instance we have the PPSSPP standalone beta, the Dev of it is so against forwarders/NSPs. IMHO the game override option is dumb.
 

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,151
Trophies
1
Age
41
XP
2,923
Country
United States
Atmosphere devs seem to be actually using their Switches on Nintendo's network for one. And .nsps of any type are still a fast one-way ticket to bansville.

This is obviously a moot point for anyone using /hbg.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,374
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
12,079
Country
Norway
I highly agree to this. Why would one run a homebrew app over an installed app. that's dumb. Forwarders exist and have existed ever since the days of the Wii. For instance we have the PPSSPP standalone beta, the Dev of it is so against forwarders/NSPs. IMHO the game override option is dumb.
Some people don't have an alternative. Those stuck with ipatched switches need to use emuNAND to play online and needless to say nsps are a no go there. You could just not use homebrew, that'd be the safest anyway, but yeah.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Verin and NoNAND

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    [sends Washington after them]
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    girls kiss other girls and nobody bats an eye, BUT WHENI KISS MY HOMIES GOODNIGHT IM NOW GAY
    +1
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    double standers

    are a bitch
    +2
  • C @ ch13696:
    Did you make sure to have socks on before kissing them goodnight?
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    The Core i9 seems like a nice CPU
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    need 32 gigs for Blender and shit like that
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    also dual wielding 580's are pretty nice for several games and blender
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    Hi Catboy
    +1
  • The Catboy @ The Catboy:
    Hey hey~
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Jesus super bowl tickets are like 5 grand this year
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Imagine if they didn't sell.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Who would pay Rhianna then
  • D @ Danali:
    hi, does someone know how to get the kernel update? for NDS
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    There is no kernel update for DS
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    There might be kernel updates for various DS flash carts
  • captainbob321 @ captainbob321:
    what is a kernel update? and what is it for?
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    In which case find either the website or suitable download section and hopefully it is there
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    *website for the flash cart in question
  • Maq47 @ Maq47:
    Soooo, uhhhh, how do I post a meme to /memes/ now? I don't see an option now...
  • Maq47 @ Maq47:
    Figured it out... Man, that is convoluted.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Kernel for the DS is loaded from the carts kinda lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Well some carts
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Well some carts