Getting DSision2 to work on an R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by glowy, Jan 20, 2009.

Jan 20, 2009

Getting DSision2 to work on an R4 by glowy at 7:40 AM (10,230 Views / 0 Likes) 31 replies

  1. glowy
    OP

    Newcomer glowy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Netherlands
    1. Download DSision2 http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=92740

    2. unpack the following from dsision_2.rar to the root of your SD card:
    DSision (Folder)
    PICS (Folder)
    boxart.bmp (file)
    DSISION.INI (file)

    3. unpack R4_Version\r4_firmware\_DS_MENU.DAT (File) from dsison_2.rar to the root of your SD.

    4. download YSMenu and unpack in a temporary folder

    5. Download latest DSTT firmware Anti-Fake must be disabled! http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=4477 (has only TTMENU.DAT) and Unpack TTMENU.DAT in the same folder as you unpacked YSMENU

    6. Unpack the folder TTMENU to your SD, and delete everything from it except system.ank, system.fon, system.l2u, system.u2l, ttreset.dat and usercheat.dat

    6. Download R4 DLDI http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/DLDI/downloads/r4tf.dldi in the same folder you unpacked YSMENU and TTMENU.DAT.

    7. Use DLDI patcher http://chishm.drunkencoders.com/DLDI/downl...l-win32-gui.zip to patch YSMenu.nds with previous downloaded DLDI file

    8. Run ttextract.exe resulting in: r4dldi.dat, r4patch.dat, ttdldi.dat and ttpatch.dat and copy these to the root of your SD

    9. Copy YSMenu.ini and YSMenu.nds to the root of your SD (change "LITERALS=LITERALS_JAP" to "LITERALS=LITERALS_ENG" in YSMenu.ini if you want)

    10. Put some games on (any folder, I'm using \Games), and coverart in the \DSision\covers folder (named same as rom, adding .bmp so cartname.nds.bmp)
     


  2. a2h

    Member a2h GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh wow. This worked.

    +1 internets for you.
     
  3. Ballistic

    Member Ballistic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks biggie. But...when you load a game, is it suppose to go to YSMenu? I've heard you can go straight to the selected game. Anyhow, thanks much!
     
  4. glowy
    OP

    Newcomer glowy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Follow the instructions exactly and the game should run immediately. So it's not supposed to go to YSMenu.

    SD content should look something like this:
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Ballistic

    Member Ballistic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    The only difference from my microsd content and yours is that I have a few homebrew files needed for specified homebrew to execute (DSOrganize, DSDictionary, moonshl, etc.). Other than that, my R4 directories are the exact same.
     
  6. glowy
    OP

    Newcomer glowy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Try this one then: http://www.sendspace.com/file/3zgjvs

    It's a preconfigured DSision2 for R4
    Before you put it on your SD, compare it to your files and let me know what's different.
    If this one also starts YSMenu instead of the game, there is something different with the carts. (difference between Fake and genuine R4 maybe)
     
  7. Ballistic

    Member Ballistic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    Well I'm pretty darn certain my R4 is real, since I got it before the waves of flashcarts hit.

    Anyways, I got it working now, it seems that I mixed up the files r4dldi.dat with the actual dldi patch. Wow right? Thanks a lot, this works great. But since I'm new to the YSMenu thing as well, is there a way I can use cheats? I recall something about USRCheat, but I'm not sure where to put it.

    While I'm on the subject, if you do access the YSmenu, don't check the reset options for game. I selected it for some homebrew and my MicroSD needed to be reformatted.
     
  8. glowy
    OP

    Newcomer glowy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hey, great news..


    USERCHEAT.DAT usually goes in the TTMENU folder, wich is not used by DSision2.
    DSision2 does not support cheats.

    if you want cheats you have to use YSmenu, and not DSision2 (check the R4ysauto thread http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=103879)
     
  9. kaizer ryo

    Member kaizer ryo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    In your Bed
    Country:
    Malaysia
    This is actually...quite usefull.Kudos for the guide
     
  10. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way to make Dsision support cheats?
     
  11. icepick

    Newcomer icepick Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Ireland
    "Try this one then.................It's a preconfigured DSision2 for R4 "

    glowy .Thankyou for this, Not really into this scene, my daughter has an orig R4 & I will give it a go for her
     
  12. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    When i tried loading a ds game it would take me to ysmenu but I couldn't see any names of my folders or anything?
     
  13. cooleothman

    Newcomer cooleothman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for your guide, but still I still can't play the games directly it will go to the YSmenu and if I load a game there it will ask for creating a savefile even there's already a savefile?(I've got an original R4DS)

    Any suggestions?
     
  14. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    you don't need to have dsision2 on your flashcard 4 times, either. one is enough.

    moving the ysmenu.ini to the root with ysmenu.nds is supposed to help auto-launch games.

    and a lot of these steps can be cut out, since i highly recommend using r4ysauto to build ysmenu.
     
  15. cooleothman

    Newcomer cooleothman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wich files can be taken out?
     
  16. Ballistic

    Member Ballistic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    _DS_MOONSHL does tamper with loading ROMs directly. I used the new moonshell and problem solved.
     
  17. glowy
    OP

    Newcomer glowy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If it takes you to YSMenu instead of the game, you either have a TTMENU folder or something went wrong when DLDI patching.
    What happens when you load a game is that DSision2 edits YSMENU.INI and edits this line
    [YSMENU]
    AUTO_BOOT=
     
  18. glowy
    OP

    Newcomer glowy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Netherlands
    4 times? where?
    I have the nds file on it 3 times DSision_2.nds DSision_2_R4.nds and DSision_2_R4DS.nds
    since I don't know what the difference is between the files, I put them all on the cart and works fine.
    You can delete them if you want, but I'm taking the safe road here.

    edit: oh yeah right, and the forth time _DS_MENU.DAT.
    changed the startpost, thanks

    ysmeni.ini and ysmenu.nds are already in the root in this guide.

    Just point 'a lot of steps' out, and I'll remove them
    R4YSAuto kills te install, and takes you to YSMenu, instead of starting the game.
    Even spinal said so in the original DSision2 thread: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?s=&showto...t&p=1712529
     
  19. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    but r4ysauto builds ysmenu for you. it's a lot easier to build ysmenu and pull the *.ini file out than to build the whole thing manually. unless it needs to be specifically built for use with dsision2.

    and as far as which version you want, it will depend on your card. if it's an r4 or a clone, you want the version from the r4 directory. if you want it to boot as firmware, you pull the _DS_MENU.DAT. all of this information is in the readme that accompanies dsision2. your guide was verbatim to the readme in places, so i know you this.

    i haven't played much with dsision2, as i found it to be too slow, and my games weren't alphabetized. it is gorgeous, though, and i hope spinal continues to improve it.
     
  20. glowy
    OP

    Newcomer glowy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If Spinal says don't use R4YSAuto who am I to doubt that?
    When using R4YSauto it does not create YSMenu.nds, ttdldi.dat and ttpatch.dat
    So you still need YSMenu.nds and need to dldi patch it.

    It does not say in the readme what the difference is between DSision_2_R4.nds and DSision_2_R4DS.nds, so I put both on instead. Turns out when using it to autoboot both are not needed (thanks for pointing that out, must learn to read better [​IMG] ) but I already changed the startpost (already said that in the previous reply)

    I also hope he continues developing it.
    But I'm also very curious what menuDO is going to be like.
     

Share This Page