GBARunner2

By Gericom, Dec 4, 2016 490,429 2,968 96

  1. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,606
    Country:
    Italy
    You gotta change the build inside srloader which you find in _nds. Swap the newest arm7wramicache build with the gbarunner2.nds and gbarunner2_fc.nds and go to options in srloader and enable gbarunner2 for gba. Then run the gbarunner shortcut from the srloader menu.
     
    Last edited by Zense, Mar 6, 2018
    siamese likes this.
  2. brunocar

    brunocar GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    Argentina
    as i said, i dont know how to use SRloader so i just run the GBArunner2 builds straight from my flashcart, i tried both the normal and FC build, the normal build gives me an error message and the FC build gives me the same "test" message as before
     
  3. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,606
    Country:
    Italy
    Srloader needs to be run from the boot_fc.nds file. This is the easiest way to run gbarunner2 in your case
     
  4. brunocar

    brunocar GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    Argentina
    does it make any diference compared to running the GBArunner2 builds it comes with separately?
     
  5. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,606
    Country:
    Italy
    Yes. I wouldn't have told you to do so if not
     
  6. brunocar

    brunocar GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    Argentina
    my bad then, ill check it out and get back to you
     
  7. vinzanity

    vinzanity GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Will there be a chance that we can use the bottom screen to display the game? I'm using a "GBA Macro" converted DS Lite to play my GBA games and playing it at the bottom screen would be awesome!
     
  8. brunocar

    brunocar GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    Argentina
    well, i got SRloader to work, that said, booting GBArunner2 from it just gives me a blank screen, i've waited for like a whole minute and nothing has happened :/
     
    Localhorst86 likes this.
  9. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,606
    Country:
    Italy
    It should work so if you could tell me if there is a message on the bottom screen when running gbarunner, then that would help. Did you use the latest gbarunner2 version? Check gbatemp's gbarunner2 wiki to find it.
     
  10. brunocar

    brunocar GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    Argentina
    i already told you there is nothing on both screens, pure white, the TEST message was only when i wasnt using the SRloader, i used the GBArunner2 version that came with SRloader
     
  11. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,606
    Country:
    Italy
    I see. So in other words you didn't replace/update the gbarunner that came with srloader? If so I strongly recommend you to since if I'm not mistaken improvements were made in the compatibility with srloader in some later builds.
    If you already didnt know, you can find builds here:
    https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/GBARunner2
     
  12. Gericom

    OP Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,324
    Country:
    Netherlands
    @Zense It could also just be an issue with the dldi of that particular card.
     
  13. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,606
    Country:
    Italy
    But wouldn't running it through the special option in srloader neglect that possibility?
     
  14. brunocar

    brunocar GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    Argentina
    not really, what that would do is make it dependant of NDS-bootstrap, which itself is still dependant on the card
     
  15. Gericom

    OP Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,324
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No, because the dldi driver should still be the one of the flashcard. Otherwise you can't read sd.
     
  16. brunocar

    brunocar GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    Argentina
    just so you know im using an R4i gold 3DS RTS straight from nds-card.com, so its not like im using an obscure card or something

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    just tried it and it still doesnt work
     
  17. Lyrin

    Lyrin Annoying Weaboo Girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    Country:
    United States
    nds-bootstrap does not run on flashcarts, and is not used if booting from a flashcart.
     
  18. brunocar

    brunocar GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    Argentina
    then SRloader is kinda pointless for this isnt it
     
  19. Lyrin

    Lyrin Annoying Weaboo Girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    497
    Country:
    United States
    It's intended to be a better GUI for flashcart users, but I don't see why it'd change GBARunner2's boot process.
     
  20. brunocar

    brunocar GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    735
    Country:
    Argentina
    it really is just an .NDS homebrew that autoboots :P
    but i guess you are right, still, while nothing on screen is different from "test", its still no working, i tried multiple recent builds and all give me the same results

    EDIT: just out of curiosity i swaped my US DSi for my CFWed n3DSXL, same results
     
    Last edited by brunocar, Mar 6, 2018
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - GBARunner2,