GBARunner2

By Gericom, Dec 4, 2016 410,215 2,755 89

  1. SaveState

    SaveState Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure the linking in MyBoy uses Bluetooth or some other linking technology not present in the Nintendo DS. This would make it not really useful Gbarunner2. However, I think it actually might be a good idea to learn from other, similar software. I my opinion, a more useful existing example could be GameYob, a GBC emulator for NDS that supports link emulation. It is open-source, and can automatically connect two devices together without manual configuration.
     
  2. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,469
    Country:
    United States
    Eh I thought Gericom already had the "link" part working, the main issue holding up merging is that he hasn't gotten around to having the wifi itself turn on or off or making the link optional, meaning big waste of power in most cases.
     
  3. SaveState

    SaveState Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. That, and automatic linking. I'm pretty sure you still need to manually put the mac addresses in the ini file, which isn't ideal.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  4. Gericom

    OP Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,315
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah, I may have a look at it. Latency is a big problem. If I could get dsi wifi working that may help a lot, since it's way faster. Enabling/disabling has been implemented. So only searching and connecting is left to be implemented.
     
    Tarmfot, Zense, Robz8 and 3 others like this.
  5. wally86

    wally86 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Will I get better performance if I use the version on twilight++ or on my R4? I'm on a dsi.
     
  6. Pk11

    Pk11 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    United States
    It works better from TWiLight (from SD) since that gives it access to the DSi's 16MB of RAM and 133MHz CPU clock speed that aren't accessible from flashcards
     
    Tarmfot, Robz8, Gericom and 2 others like this.
  7. Ziko

    Ziko GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone been able to get any Fire Emblem hacks running on this thing? I've tested 3 of them and they mostly hang or don't load to the title screen at all.
     
  8. notrea11y

    notrea11y Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2019
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not necessarily. It can link via either bluetooth or wifi.

    Just adding this here:
    If the Mac address was addable inside the GbaRunner itself, I could try out some games more quickly.
    Bonus points if it reads the current ds and sets it as master or something.
    I'm sure that would beat having to scoop out nearby devices and speed up the testing for many.

    Eitherhow, glad to hear you're still working on it :).
     
    Last edited by notrea11y, Feb 26, 2020
  9. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,236
    Country:
    Austria
    Could you tell us the name of the hacks? Did you test them on your DS or DSI/3DS?
    I have the feeling that this is another case of Highcode.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  10. Gericom

    OP Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,315
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The current ds can be either master or slave. That depends on which end of the link cable you want to be. (A big misunderstanding seems to be that people think that the master is always the ds itself)
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  11. alexander1970

    alexander1970 GBAtemp Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    7,803
    Country:
    Austria
  12. notrea11y

    notrea11y Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2019
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    alexander1970 likes this.
  13. Gericom

    OP Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,315
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Both should have the same mac addresses as master and slave. So once you have made an ini file you should use it on both devices.
     
    notrea11y, alexander1970 and Robz8 like this.
  14. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,236
    Country:
    Austria
    Last edited by Dodain47, Feb 26, 2020
    alexander1970 likes this.
  15. Ziko

    Ziko GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United States
    The hacks were Elibian Nights, Sacred Echoes, & BS Fire Emblem. The latter two were for Sacred Stones and former for the Blazing Sword game.
     
  16. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,311
    Country:
    Italy
    I've been testing it out too. Maybe I've forgotten to add DSi clockspeeds and vram boost? I'll check.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Nope still freezes even though I turned on those options now. Seems like the DSi version is the only one freezing? I'll try putting the DS version on my DSi and see how things go.
     
  17. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,236
    Country:
    Austria
    The game freezes after the boss battle? I can move around the dungeon after the battle.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  18. notrea11y

    notrea11y Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2019
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats strange.
    I had it exactly as instructed.
    /_gba/*.ini file
    and both GBARunner_dldi_arm7 on 3DS/2DSXL.

    No connection so far, no matter how often I enter/reenter.

    Gonna retry with my DSLite.

    I hope I can get it to work somehow, so I can start compiling a compatibility list.
     
    Tarmfot, alexander1970 and Zense like this.
  19. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,311
    Country:
    Italy
    Yes, it freezes pretty quickly after the party goes towards the crystal. My 3ds does not freeze though and I was able to save afterwards.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    DS version works so apparently only the DSi version is affected somehow..
     
    Tarmfot and alexander1970 like this.
  20. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,236
    Country:
    Austria
    The 3DS version works for me. I can go to the crystal and walk around the area.
    I guess we both use the latest master release.
     
    Tarmfot and alexander1970 like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - GBARunner2,