GBA ROM Dumping?

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by SuperGeek, Dec 8, 2007.

Dec 8, 2007

GBA ROM Dumping? by SuperGeek at 7:13 PM (3,212 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. SuperGeek
    OP

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Hey,

    Is there any way I could dump the ROMs of my gba carts using a slot-1 R4 or M3 Real? Or a Slot-2 supercard SD or M3 SD?

    Thanks,
    SuperGeek
     
  2. SuperGeek
    OP

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Hey,

    2 questions: Does it work the the R4? Also, where can I get this?

    -SG

    EDIT: It says it only works with the EZFlash 3-1. What is that, and do I need one?
     
  3. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
  4. SuperGeek
    OP

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
  5. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
  6. SuperGeek
    OP

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Alright. Well, I already have a tool for dumping NDS games, thank you anyways.

    Ooh, that homebrew the second guy recommended can dump GBA saves as well...woo, I've been looking for something like this for a long time.

    I may consider the Ez 3in1. Thanks.
     
  7. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    I never used GBALDR for GBA dumping or anything else... ( only rudolph's backup tool to dump NDS games. )
     
  8. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    you don't need an ez flash 3 in 1 to dump gba games. GBALDR is a flashing tool for the EZ flash 3 in 1 but has an option to dump gba games, the 3 in 1 is not needed for dumping
     
  9. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    forget about the 3in1 business, launch GBALDR while holding the R button and a GBA dumping menu should pop up.

    apparantly it works well, however it wil always dump to 32 megabytes (it doesn't detect the proper size) so they shuold be trimmed afterwards. also make sure you have enough room on your R4, so there is no corruption.
     
  10. SuperGeek
    OP

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, this is good.

    One final question: The dumper also dumped the GBA game's .sav, if I edit it with a trainer, is there a way I can restore it to the GBA carT?
     
  11. kazumi213

    Member kazumi213 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    Spain
    To properly deal with GBA saves (extract and restore) you need a dldi compatible slot-2 device and the homebrew cart_save by Chishm. GBAldr is probably able to dump saves along with the ROM itself but I'm not sure about its restoring capabilities.
     
  12. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Although I would suggest GBAldr WRG's take on the old DS rom dumper was supposed to have swap every two megs GBA dumping abilities. Not sure if they added SCSD or it was CF only though.
     
  13. SuperGeek
    OP

    Newcomer SuperGeek Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    Tried that already, only for CF. Thanks for the suggestion, though.
     

Share This Page