Gaming [GBA Clone] Help USB pinout?

aldighieri

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
626
Country
Brazil

TeamScriptKiddies

Licensed Nintendo (indie) Game Developer
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
1,970
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Planet Earth :P
XP
1,703
Country
United States
Is the connection that goes into the GBA clone itself just like a standard micro/mini usb connector or is it some funky proprietary connection? If its just one of the standard connections, you can just use any old usb cord with a connection that fits properly. No need to build your own cable lol
 

OrGoN3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2007
Messages
3,133
Trophies
0
XP
2,415
Country
United States
Is the connection that goes into the GBA clone itself just like a standard micro/mini usb connector or is it some funky proprietary connection? If its just one of the standard connections, you can just use any old usb cord with a connection that fits properly. No need to build your own cable lol


He said it's a clone so it's probably the Nintendo proprietary connector. Nintendo doesn't use standards.
 

TeamScriptKiddies

Licensed Nintendo (indie) Game Developer
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
1,970
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Planet Earth :P
XP
1,703
Country
United States
those b*******s lol. If the connection is identical to a normal GBA SP you could turn around and just buy a cheap GBA SP usb cable off Ebay or something and use that.
 

aldighieri

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
626
Country
Brazil
those b*******s lol. If the connection is identical to a normal GBA SP you could turn around and just buy a cheap GBA SP usb cable off Ebay or something and use that.
Thats use the normal gba plug, but its have a usb interface, some others fake/clone gba used to have a usb cable i just need to know the pinout. The usb cables on ebay are just to charge. :/
 

aldighieri

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
626
Country
Brazil
Thanks for all help, i did it by myself! :D

Here is the pinout for this version os GBA clone, from Tinydeal.

gba_usb_zpsbfac6109.jpg
 

aldighieri

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
626
Country
Brazil
Congrats dude! I'm glad you got it all sorted out :)

Thanks, now the problem is that i can acess just 199mb from the 2gb memory, the ¨system¨ files are probably hide, but disk manager dont show any hide partition, do you some way to show all 2gb files?

I know its have 2gb because its have a 2gb chip soldered on board, hehe.
 

TeamScriptKiddies

Licensed Nintendo (indie) Game Developer
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
1,970
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Planet Earth :P
XP
1,703
Country
United States
Thanks, now the problem is that i can acess just 199mb from the 2gb memory, the ¨system¨ files are probably hide, but disk manager dont show any hide partition, do you some way to show all 2gb files?

I know its have 2gb because its have a 2gb chip soldered on board, hehe.


Where its a clone it might not actually be 2gb like the dealer claims. This often happens when buying clones etc. If you're familiar with linux at all, you could try viewing the additional partitions (if they're there and just hidden) under your favorite flavor of linux as that can often see much more then what windows will show you.
 

aldighieri

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
626
Country
Brazil
Where its a clone it might not actually be 2gb like the dealer claims. This often happens when buying clones etc. If you're familiar with linux at all, you could try viewing the additional partitions (if they're there and just hidden) under your favorite flavor of linux as that can often see much more then what windows will show you.

I think its have 2gb because of the chip on the board, look the picture i take

20140714_172416_zpsfb5b5486.jpg

20140714_171849_zps3819d211.jpg


For sure this thing have a 2gb nand, but i can just acess 199mb, i read that some others GBASP Clone have 2gb, but they can acess the system files too, mine can see just games...
 

aldighieri

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
626
Country
Brazil
Can we get pictures of the GBA? I have no clue what GBA clone you are talking about. The only reliable one I know of is the Revo 101. I never heard of using a USB cable on a standard GBA, beyond charging the battery.

You can see the pics on the link for Tinydeal, first post.. :)
 

qstot

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
22
Country
United States
I'm sorry to resurrect an old post! I have a GBA SP clone like this too! I just build a data cable, though with a link cable, not a charger, and I still can't get into USB mode. I saw that you built yours with a charger cable, though I'm missing two other pins on my cable (my charger cable just has a positive and a negative). How did you get those other connections on the charger cable?
 

aldighieri

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
626
Country
Brazil
I'm sorry to resurrect an old post! I have a GBA SP clone like this too! I just build a data cable, though with a link cable, not a charger, and I still can't get into USB mode. I saw that you built yours with a charger cable, though I'm missing two other pins on my cable (my charger cable just has a positive and a negative). How did you get those other connections on the charger cable?

Hello, i glued some solder on the missing slot, than from the back of the plug i found the solder and put 2 more cables, you can try to use some alumini paper to make the other 2 contacts and put the cables from the back os the plug. Idk if you understand, if not i can try to take a picture.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TeamScriptKiddies

azublazer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
150
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
146
Country
United States
No, thank makes perfect sense. Thanks for responding! I'll try this myself.

Hello, i glued some solder on the missing slot, than from the back of the plug i found the solder and put 2 more cables, you can try to use some alumini paper to make the other 2 contacts and put the cables from the back os the plug. Idk if you understand, if not i can try to take a picture.

You guys have got to help me out here. I have the same clone as you guys, opened it up and everything. I have no experience with making my own data cable though. Think you could type out a quick and easy tutorial to get me on the right track?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Pickle_Rick @ Pickle_Rick: