Hacking RELEASE Firmware Version Inspector - get FW version from NAND dump

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,316
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
13,894
Country
Norway
Have more than one NAND dump? Forgot to rename or label them?
Good news! Now you can quickly find out what firmware version a given backup contains.

Download:
Firmware Version Inspector - by shchmue on Github

Usage:
Install Python 3 and pycryptodome. In command prompt, type:
Code:
pip install pycryptodome

If this is an encrypted backup like Hekate makes (ie. you haven't dumped a decrypted System partition via HacDiskMount), you need to provide your console-specific BIS key 2. Dump this using biskeydump (https://gbatemp.net/threads/biskeyd...c-decryption-real-time-mounting-tools.502434/)

Then run from command line:
Code:
python FVI.py [-b=/path/to/biskeyfile] <dumpfile>

 biskeyfile must contain the following lines:
   BIS Key 2 (crypt): <32-digit hex key>
   BIS Key 2 (tweak): <32-digit hex key>
  omit -b if System partition already decrypted (eg. dumped with HacDiskMount)

 dumpfile must be NAND dump (eg. Hekate rawnand.bin dump) or System partition

Run examples:
View attachment 140232

View attachment 140233

I tested this on Windows 10 with Anaconda Python 3.6.5 and Ubuntu 16.04 LTS with Python 3.5.2. I hope you find it useful :)
This is useful, but I do have one feature request: an option to auto-rename files in a folder with serial number and firmware.
 

shchmue

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
791
Trophies
1
XP
2,367
Country
United States
there are many ways. when a new firmware version comes out i get hactoolnet to output a list of which file name is which title ID and i end up referencing it a lot
 

Garou

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
1,213
Trophies
0
XP
1,667
Country

SpicyMcHagis

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
115
Country
Canada
I am having no luck. Combed through this thread but keep getting the following message.
 

Attachments

  • help please.JPG
    help please.JPG
    49 KB · Views: 202

istovi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 29, 2018
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
91
Country
United States
I installed everything but it won't let me check the files because it cannot find FVI.py. "No such file or directory found". I looked through all the responses in this thread and can't seem to find an answer. What do I do now? I'm on Windows, thanks in advance.
 
Last edited by istovi,

Ottoclav

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
132
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
290
Country
United States
Python and command line can be difficult for unfamiliar users, so if possible, I would recommend the wonderful NxNandManager tool, which among other things can list the firmware version of a NAND backup.


Have more than one NAND dump? Forgot to rename or label them?
Good news! Now you can quickly find out what firmware version a given backup contains.

Download:
Firmware Version Inspector - by shchmue on Github

Usage:
Install Python 3 and pycryptodome. In command prompt, type:
Code:
pip install pycryptodome

If this is an encrypted backup like Hekate makes (ie. you haven't dumped a decrypted System partition via HacDiskMount), you need to provide your console-specific BIS key 2. Dump this using biskeydump (https://gbatemp.net/threads/biskeyd...c-decryption-real-time-mounting-tools.502434/)

Then run from command line:
Code:
python FVI.py [-b=/path/to/biskeyfile] <dumpfile>

 biskeyfile must contain the following lines:
   BIS Key 2 (crypt): <32-digit hex key>
   BIS Key 2 (tweak): <32-digit hex key>
  omit -b if System partition already decrypted (eg. dumped with HacDiskMount)

 dumpfile must be NAND dump (eg. Hekate rawnand.bin dump) or System partition

Run examples:
View attachment 140232

View attachment 140233

I tested this on Windows 10 with Anaconda Python 3.6.5 and Ubuntu 16.04 LTS with Python 3.5.2. I hope you find it useful :)
Having an issue.
pythonscriptscrn.png

im using python 3.6.5, Windows x86 Executable from Python site. I'm not using Admin Cmd Prompt. FVI file is in a FVI folder on my desktop, and the paths for the other files are also on my desktop. I am not very savvy with cmd and terminal. Hope this is enough info to help.
 

dza

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
53
Country
Denmark
I dumped with biskeydump (v9) on 10.1 and tried

Code:
python FVI.py -b=biskeydump.txt rawnand.bin

Code:
Firmware Version Inspector - by shchmue
Dump is full EMMC raw NAND.
Loaded BIS keys.
Found FAT boot sector!
Scanning root for /Contents/...
/Contents/ found at cluster 0x3 address 0x148000
Scanning root for /save/...
/save/ found at cluster 0x3f01 address 0xfd40000
Scanning /save/ for System Savegame 8000000000000060...
Success! Found /save/8000000000000060.
Scanning /Contents/ for /registered/...
/registered/ found at cluster 0x5 address 0x150000
Scanning FAT for fragmentation...
/registered/ clusters:  ['0x5', '0x2be2', '0x14daa', '0x192ae']
Buffered 4 /registered/ clusters. Reading filenames...
Success! Found 197 NCA filenames.
System Version Title not found!

Does it require a 10.1 update to identify?

I was unsure if I updated to 10.1 before making a backup (though me and friend is pretty sure we did)..

I would like to verify so I am sure I can recover my nand backup safely.. Is there any risk to bricking if I attempt to restore and I remembered wrongly about updating first? Or can I simply backup again and restore that in case?
 

shchmue

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Dec 23, 2013
Messages
791
Trophies
1
XP
2,367
Country
United States
yeah i need to update FVI for the new versions. and there’s no brick risk, if you’re on an unpatched console and you restore a backup even if there’s a fuse mismatch you can still boot CFW
 

Buzbee

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
191
Country
United States
yeah i need to update FVI for the new versions. and there’s no brick risk, if you’re on an unpatched console and you restore a backup even if there’s a fuse mismatch you can still boot CFW
Here is an updated firmware_titles.db that supports up to 10.2.0
 

Attachments

  • firmware_titles.zip
    1.5 KB · Views: 174

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I'm not familiar with the technicalities of the differences between the two versions, but I'm wondering if at least some of those differences are things that you could port over to the US version in your patch without having to include copyrighted assets from the EU version
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    @Sicklyboy I am wanting to fully change the game and bend it to my will lol. I would like to eventually have the ability to add more characters, enemies, even have a completely different story if i wanted. I already have the ability to change the tilemaps in the US version, so I can basically make my own map and warp to it in game - so I'm pretty far into it!
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I really would like to make a hack that I would enjoy playing, and maybe other people would too. swapping to the EU version would also mean my US friends could not legally play it
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I am definitely considering porting over some of the EU features without using the actual ROM itself, tbh that would probably be the best way to go about it... but i'm sad that the voice acting is so.... not good on the US version. May not be a way around that though
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I appreciate the insight!
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @TwoSpikedHands just switch, all the knowledge you learned still applies and most of the code and assets should be the same anyway
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and realistically they wouldn't

    be able to play it legally anyway since they need a ROM and they probably don't have the means to dump it themselves
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    why the shit does the shitbox randomly insert newlines in my messages
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It does that when I edit a post.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It inserts a newline in a random spot.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    never had that i don't think
  • Karma177 @ Karma177:
    do y'all think having an sd card that has a write speed of 700kb/s is a bad idea?
    trying to restore emunand rn but it's taking ages... (also when I finished the first time hekate decided to delete all my fucking files :wacko:)
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Karma177 that sd card is 100% faulty so yes, its a bad idea
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    even the slowest non-sdhc sd cards are a few MB/s
  • Karma177 @ Karma177:
    @The Real Jdbye it hasn't given me any error trying to write things on it so I don't really think it's faulty (pasted 40/50gb+ folders and no write errors)
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    run h2testw on it
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    when SD cards/microSD write speeds drop below a meg a sec, they're usually on the verge of dying
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Samsung SD format can sometimes fix them too
  • Purple_Heart @ Purple_Heart:
    yes looks like an faulty sd
  • Purple_Heart @ Purple_Heart:
    @Psionic Roshambo i may try that with my dead sd cards
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's always worth a shot
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    @The Real Jdbye, I considered that, but i'll have to wait until i can get the eu version in the mail lol
  • I @ I-need-help-with-wup-wiiu:
    i need help with nusspli failed downloads, can someone respond to my thread? pretty please:wub: