1. Eduba

    Eduba Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    no i didi not... i have no other console at hand....
     
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,191
    Country:
    United States
    So by that it is fixed
     
  3. EZ-Flash2

    OP EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    476
    Country:
    China
    This enters a paradox. it requires a firmware update to make it work, but a firmware update requires a working device.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —



    This reviewer have a CGB with non suffix cpu. I gave him the test firmware and his console works fine.
     
    Minox and Helge like this.
  4. davidmorom

    davidmorom Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Perfectly working here, on a non-sufix GBC.

    Sin título-1.jpg

    For all of you having problems, copying the update to the SD is no enough, that only updates the kernel, for updating the FW (which is where the problem resides), you have to run Update_FW5.gb.

    Of course, that requires another working console (another GBC or GBA). If you don't have one, I'm afraid you are on a dead end.
     
    Helge likes this.
  5. Helge

    Helge Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Germany
    I love this :rofl2:
    I asked my colleagues. One of them has an old (black & white) Gameboy. He'll bring it to the company tomorrow, so I can try to perfom the update. :)
    I'll report, if it has worked.
     
    EZ-Flash2 likes this.
  6. rmrf-r

    rmrf-r Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    That is quite unexpected, but the new firmware made the flashcart to boot on GB Boy Colour no matter the voltage - it loads up the menu and you can choose the game. Some GB games work, Donkey Kong Land shows the file choose menu like if there are no saves (there are and they are playable) and when you load them, it loads up some messed map. Seems like it fails at some point. Games without saves work normally.
    GBC games don't boot up. Only Tetris DX boots up, but it has saves, so they are messed.

    On GBA SP, Heroes of Might and Magic don't load up.
     
  7. Helge

    Helge Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Germany
    Well, after the update was performed in the old GB, the card now works also in my non-suffix GBC :)
    All games I have tried until now, were playable.
    @EZ-Flash2, thank You for the update!
     
    EZ-Flash2 likes this.
  8. EZ-Flash2

    OP EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    476
    Country:
    China
    added limited support with GB Boy clone console. better than last version.
     
    rmrf-r likes this.
  9. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,191
    Country:
    United States
    Um where did the file go?
     
  10. EZ-Flash2

    OP EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    476
    Country:
    China
    pull off due to a false alarm. it will be upload again when we finish the text work.
     
  11. aaaaaa123456789

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Argentina
    Hey! I'm one of the devs of Pokémon Prism. Made an account here because of this issue.

    Do you mind telling us what changed regarding the RTC? I suspect this is really a bug in our code that you have worked around, and not a legitimate RTC bug on your carts.

    Some debugging we did (when we managed to reproduce the bug in emulators, which is rare...) showed us that the clock shift was always just below 512 days. This would naturally point to the RTC readout underflowing and becoming negative. What I don't really know, though, is if we're processing the data incorrectly (the game doesn't use the RTC values directly, but rather it treats them as an offset to a start point that the game updates periodically as it resets the RTC, so there might be an underflowing calculation somewhere down the line) or if the RTC is somehow actually running backwards. A third possibility, given that we write back to the RTC rather often, is that we're accidentally computing a negative timestamp and writing that back — although that should've caused the clock to stop ticking at all due to bit 6 of RTCDH being set. (As well as bit 7, which is sticky — which should in turn have prevented the game from relying on RTC data at all, since it treats RTC overflow as a readout failure.)

    All in all, the suspicious reoccurence of jumps that are very close in size to the clock's maximum value naturally points to an overflow/underflow, and I believe that might be on our side.

    Any help with debugging this error will be appreciated. Cheers!
     
    Last edited by aaaaaa123456789, Apr 16, 2020
  12. EZ-Flash2

    OP EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    476
    Country:
    China
    added limited support with GB Boy clone console. better than last version. There are not so many voltage requirements, and almost all games can be loaded normally. need more reports

    And I need the report of Prism test result. there is none since the 13th Apr release. But at before I saw that almost all of you can’t live without it.
     

    Attached Files:

    Elmi, Shadow#1 and wiewiec like this.
  13. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,191
    Country:
    United States
    well most that wanted it will not update to a "non-released FW/loader"
     
  14. Laevatein

    Laevatein Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Spain
    I ran to my shelves the second I saw the words "gb boy support". Currently loading the update on my sd. Will more than happily report.

    Saves me buying an SP I dont need, if it works.

    Edit: I need to charge the batteries. See you tomrorow. :rofl2:
     
    Last edited by Laevatein, Apr 22, 2020
  15. Laevatein

    Laevatein Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Spain
    So, this is with a fully recharged set of batteries.

    First boot after the update, garbed text shows up, then loads up. Load speed is fastest i've seen so far for GB Boy Colour.

    Booting Oracle of Ages (Europe) causes the system to freeze GB Boy Colour.

    on Firmware zero, screen remains white for (a noticiably long) time before On test Firmware 5, it's frozen on the boot title card (GB Boy on screen).

    Turning down the system and turning it on again causes the scren to go grey. No title card appears.

    Turning down the system a second time and turning it on again fixes it.

    Trying to boot a randomnized copy of pokemon red causes the screen to go black.

    Trying to boot Pokemon Blue causes black bars (like in a barcode) to appear instead of characters.

    [​IMG]

    Super Mario Land II fails to boot.

    I'm starting to feel I should have asked if this is targetting the old GB Boy that is similar to a GB Pocket instead of GB Color.

    I put the flashcart in a Gameboy Pocket to confirm there's not an issue with the files.

    Booting pokemon blue inside Gameboy Pocket took a split second longer than usual. No garbage graphics (everything normal).

    The randomnized copy of red also takes a spiit second onger than usual to load. But it loads.
     
  16. rmrf-r

    rmrf-r Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    GB and GBC run mostly normally on GB Boy Colour, games with save ability work as intended.

    Heroes of Might and Magic loading problem persists.
    Sometimes it loads up one pixel column shifted (so the rightmost pixel column becomes the leftmost), but physical reset usually solves the problem. Probably GB Boy hardware problem.

    Also I have to add that HoMM II don't work as well on GB Boy Colour - it only loads up the music and that's all. On GBA SP HoMM II work.

    Game & Watch Gallery 3 save has been loaded wrongly on GB Boy Colour. It works OK on GBA SP.

    I may assume saves not loading properly is a power issue. I loaded the games with fresh batteries in GB Boy Colour.
     
    Last edited by rmrf-r, Apr 25, 2020
  17. nashismo

    nashismo GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    392
    Country:
    Chile
    I say focus on original Gameboy and Gameboy Color first, later concentrate on Super Gameboy and in the distant last, the GB Boy, because that is NOT an original Nintendo console, only a cheap clone. Nintendo first party consoles (Gameboy, Gameboy Color, Super Gameboy), should have priority over the GB Boy. For me, Super Gameboy support is obviously more important (so I am a bit bias), but I think my reasoning is correct.

    Thank you for everything.
     
  18. freshone

    freshone Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    France
    hello the EZ Flash Junior does it work on a super game boy 2 thank you for your answers
     
  19. altobo123

    altobo123 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I tried this new update on Pokemon Prism.

    It still skips time, but only some seconds, enough to skip minutes if you save a couple of times. Not as bad as it was, but still happens.
     
  20. mathieulh

    mathieulh GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    France
    I flashed the latest testflight firmware, everything works well but I notice a crash upon reset whenever a new save file has to be created (it crashes after importing the save) the save does import properly so I just have to reset again to bypass the issue, this does not occur if the .sav file for the game already exists.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - TestFlight, Junior, FLASH