Edge Ds and CycloDS

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by ExDee, Feb 4, 2008.

Feb 4, 2008

Edge Ds and CycloDS by ExDee at 3:41 AM (2,788 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. ExDee
    OP

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States
    Well I saw THIS page. The Edge and CycloDS have excact PCB clones. The only thing they dont have in common is that the CycloDS has 16mbit flash. Well my friend tested both and you can use the Cyclo's skin on the Edge's. They're $27.96 on the DealExtreme but theyre sold out. Well I posted this because it seemed interesting. Now I'm wondering if I should get which of both. I also heard Cyclos are overpriced Edges.
     
  2. naes

    Member naes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, I thought you said you've tested both. So shouldn't you have both?
     
  3. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Cyclo is an okay price, but like 5 dollars less won't hurt. [​IMG]
     
  4. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I was originally going to buy a cyclo this week, but since I found this, I thought I'd wait a little to see if the EDGE team updates their stuff or not. I really don't need all the extra feature it comes with the Cyclo, although it would've been nice. I play the games the way they're ment to. I just needed something that can run homebrews, games, and download play perfectly. I actually don't like it's sticker or the funky case, but I really like its price. Also, one of the other reasons why I'm not buying an EDGE right away, because I want to skin it with some Cyclo skins that I originally intended to use with cyclo. But since it currently can't, I won't.
     
  5. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    Supercards revenge!!!
     
  6. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    lol.

    On another note, has anyone with an edge tried running a dump of the cyclods firmware with their card?
     
  7. ExDee
    OP

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States
    Umm no :wtf:? i saw it for like 50 and edge = 27
     
  8. euphemism

    Member euphemism GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    ...the edge doesn't have an in-game menu so there is no slow motion, Real-time saves, or in game LCD brightness adjustment. It also doesn't have integrated support for the EZ Flash 3-in-1's RAM and rumble capabilities. Skinning support is also broken. It's a cheap knock-off, get the Evolution for its amazing support and features.
     
  9. naes

    Member naes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly, who needs LCD brightness adjustment in the middle of a game? Slow motion isn't important either... and neither is real-time saves. The original DS games don't use slow motion or real-time saves, so why should it be so important?

    I'm honestly wanting an Edge pretty badly...
     
  10. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I agree. Although The extra features might be a reason why people buy a cyclo, I just wanted something that can play games, and homebrews. Not all people want the extra features.
     
  11. naes

    Member naes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I just hope to get some more reviews of the Edge...
     
  12. ExDee
    OP

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States
    Welllll Im sticking with the R4 [​IMG]
     
  13. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    I think it's better to wait and see how good Edge's support actually are.

    Let's not forget DS-Xtreme.
     
  14. naes

    Member naes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    Let's not forget the huge price difference between the Edge and the DS-Xtreme.
     
  15. amemoryoncelost

    Member amemoryoncelost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United States
    price is nothing when it doesn't get updated...
    I'd still be pissed if I spent $30 and after a few months games just did not work anymore...
     
  16. naes

    Member naes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    I wouldn't be as pissed though.
     
  17. Avenger

    Member Avenger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Oakville & Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I would just invest in a product that is known to be well built and supported over saving a couple of bucks on another lower cost cart, unless of course there are features the Edge has over the CycloDS, but I do not see any reason not to choose the CycloDS.
     
  18. ExDee
    OP

    Member ExDee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Jupiter
    Country:
    United States
    True... I would just get the CycloDs... It recieved a gold star on the reviews. But ... I was wondering though if the CycloDS kernel will work on the Edge. Cuz they have both same PCB's
     
  19. Kaos

    Member Kaos Good show!

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I highly doubt it will. The CycloDS uses the update.evo to copy the firmware to a 2mb flash module in the CycloDS itself.

    The EDGE, however, runs the firmware off the MicroSD card. Just this fact alone will most likely mean that the CycloDS firmware won't work.

    Also, another cool feature on the CycloDS: It it is pretty much impossible to screw up a firmware update, as it has a built in Read-Only recovery mode which you can use to fix bad updates or firmware corruption.

    You really get what you pay for.
     

Share This Page