DVD-R or DVD+R?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Mistle, Feb 9, 2008.

Feb 9, 2008

DVD-R or DVD+R? by Mistle at 8:29 AM (865 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Mistle
    OP

    Newcomer Mistle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Australia
    My local store only have Verbatim DVD-R DL disks, and no DVD+R.

    My question is, will a DVD-R still work? Looking through that topic it seems everybody has DVD+R's...
     
  2. Alfangus

    Newcomer Alfangus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey Mistle, its me Alfangus (assuming your the same Mistle from the IGN boards)

    Anyway according to the Guide, you can use DVD-R DL, and I don't see any reason why couldn't (people have said stuff about custom set layerbreaks, but given the straightfoward way you burn SSBB I don't think this is an issue.)

    I used DVD+Rs, TDK ones which I found at my local Dick Smith (ironically because they only had -R verbatims, and I wasn't sure). They worked fine.
     
  3. Mistle
    OP

    Newcomer Mistle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Australia
    Ah, hey Alfangus, same Mistle here [​IMG]

    That's great to hear, because I have finished downloading and I really wanna play some SSE. I'm gonna start the burn now.

    Hopefully it works....
     
  4. Sonikku

    Newcomer Sonikku Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I used verbatim DVD-R DL too. In my case, the game doesn't boot by itself (error #001) but when I start the game with the dvd5 and swap the disk with the dvd9 in the main menu, it works perfectly.
     
  5. Mistle
    OP

    Newcomer Mistle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Australia
    Ah well, I can handle doing that.

    Does it work on 60Hz or 480p? Thanks [​IMG]
     
  6. sepinho

    Member sepinho GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    Germany
    Has anyone tried Philips-branded/Ricoh-manufactured DVD+R DL?

    I can't even burn the ISO and now I'm wondering if it's just really crappy discs or a corrupt file. How would I find out, if it's the latter?
     

Share This Page