Hacking downgrade 3ds from 4.5u to 4.2u?

wolffangalchemist

This is bat country!
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,511
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
middleofnowhere, AL
XP
1,292
Country
United States
my newer 4.5 compatible ds mode flashcart has broken and i wanted to use my acehkard 2i in its place, but when i try to downgrade to 4.2u using the browser exploit it tells me "sorry, downgrading is not supported yet for your console."
So do i need to update past 4.5 with a game for the downgrade to work?
this is just a regular old 3ds aqua blue console and i bought it pretty close launch so i don't see where i should be having any issues.
 

fcz_x

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Temuco, Chile
XP
48
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
why you want to downgrade? there's a cia file that you install in the sysNAND and that's it, you can have fun with all banned flashcarts
 

wolffangalchemist

This is bat country!
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,511
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
middleofnowhere, AL
XP
1,292
Country
United States

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,294
Trophies
3
Age
35
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,212
Country
United States
Then don't use the DS Mode exploit and use the internet browser exploit? It's better than nothing.

He said he was using CFW. This leads me to believe that he does not own a Gateway. Even for 4.x console users, the CFW launcher has not been ported to the new web browser exploit. So no, this would not be an option for him. (yet)
 

wolffangalchemist

This is bat country!
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,511
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
middleofnowhere, AL
XP
1,292
Country
United States
He said he was using CFW. This leads me to believe that he does not own a Gateway. Even for 4.x console users, the CFW launcher has not been ported to the new web browser exploit. So no, this would not be an option for him. (yet)
yes thank you this is my dilemma , so what i need is a way of downgrading from 4.5 to 4.2.
what i need to know is am i supposed to be able to downgrade from 4.5u to 4.2u so i can determine if something is wrong with my 3ds/files or not( as it tells me i can't downgrade, also i have tried the different DG file links for the USA region from gateways site)
because if the launcher will now let you downgrade from 4.5u then i would need to update my 3ds with a game past 4.5u but not higher than 9.2u and then downgrade to 4.2u to use my acekard 2i on it to boot CFW.
 

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,448
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,487
Country
Brazil
Let me as ask you guys something.
The downgrade itself takes you back to 4.2, right?

What if OP just update to 7.X or 8.X with a game then do the downgrade. Won't him be taken to 4.2?

EDIT: Just so no one beat me stating he does not have any flashcart and stuff...
Then don't use the DS Mode exploit and use the internet browser exploit? It's better than nothing.

There ya go!
 

wolffangalchemist

This is bat country!
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,511
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
middleofnowhere, AL
XP
1,292
Country
United States
so if i buy say smash brothers and update, does anyone know what system version that would update my 3ds to?
i have a backup of my 4.5u nand from a while back so if i had to i could hard mod and downgrade back to that if anything went wrong.
 

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,448
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,487
Country
Brazil
so if i buy say smash brothers and update, does anyone know what system version that would update my 3ds to?
i have a backup of my 4.5u nand from a while back so if i had to i could hard mod and downgrade back to that if anything went wrong.

It'll take you to 8.X (8.1 if I'm not mistaken)

Yes! but there will be no need since you could downgrade or use this NAND backup with gateway menu.

Cheers!
 

wolffangalchemist

This is bat country!
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,511
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
middleofnowhere, AL
XP
1,292
Country
United States
It'll take you to 8.X (8.1 if I'm not mistaken)

Yes! but there will be no need since you could downgrade or use this NAND backup with gateway menu.

Cheers!
yes but the gatewway launcher says i can't downgrade and i am on 4.5u.
to use my acecard 2i to boot CFW on my 3ds i need to be on 4.2u, i have no other flashcarts.
 

mvmiranda

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
1,448
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Brazil, Sao Paulo
Website
www.gamemod.com.br
XP
1,487
Country
Brazil
yes but the gatewway launcher says i can't downgrade and i am on 4.5u.
to use my acecard 2i to boot CFW on my 3ds i need to be on 4.2u, i have no other flashcarts.

you can't downgrade because the downgrader "assumes" you're already in a "exploitable" FW. Just do what I said on my second previous post.
 

wolffangalchemist

This is bat country!
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,511
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
middleofnowhere, AL
XP
1,292
Country
United States
you can't downgrade because the downgrader "assumes" you're already in a "exploitable" FW. Just do what I said on my second previous post.
i want to use my acecard 2i to boot cfw, i don't see how only being able to boot onto a gimped emunand mode helps me do that.
i just bought a copy of smash for $28 on ebay when i get it in a few day i will update then downgrade and hope all goes well.
 

Classicgamer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
637
Trophies
1
XP
789
Country
United States
Follow mercluke.

I was part of that thread and dg to 4.2 so I could use ak2i.

I used dream team to upgrade to 5.x.

I then dg to 4.2 but ak2i still doesn't work. You need to apply flashcardtimewarp.cia then. After that it will work.
 

wolffangalchemist

This is bat country!
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,511
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
middleofnowhere, AL
XP
1,292
Country
United States
Follow mercluke.

I was part of that thread and dg to 4.2 so I could use ak2i.

I used dream team to upgrade to 5.x.

I then dg to 4.2 but ak2i still doesn't work. You need to apply flashcardtimewarp.cia then. After that it will work.
so i will still need to buy another chepo flashcart?
also was it on the “PIPPA FUNNELL” update to work on 4.3?
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Nah that's what gets them the award
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    These iPads deserve to be trashed.
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    Maybe only old senoirs would have loved to hear noisy kids
    +1
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    But then again, I see kids as a health hazza

    rd
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Their ears would have troubles hearing their loud screeches that they can sleep in peace.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @ZeroT21, They lack any common sense because their brain hasn't been fully developed.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    If old people learned how to use tablets more we might get them off the road :tpi:
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Anyways, I'm off for tonight. See you all later.
    +1
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Old people flip tables in anger :P
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I remember The Onion.
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    YOOO whats this
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    If anyone is here please help me with my wii
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ask nicer
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    bruh please im just tryna play mariokart
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Bruh
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    usb loader is taking forever to load
    +1
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    i just wanna play mario kart:cry:
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Make a thread in the Nintendo forums
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    um ok
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The chatbox is for chatting not everyone here knows how to solve your issue
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    Oh alright my bad
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Rip
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Hey