Gaming Doom Performance is BAD

Zeldalife89

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
138
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
248
Country
Netherlands
Im having an issue and kinda disapointed..

I sold my PS4 like i said in my other topic for a switch since i dont like Sony exclussives and all i played rly was Doom So i figured hmm i can play doom anywhere then and since Its the only shooter on switch the multiplayer will be populated too...

I just finished the campaign and Its super LAGGY later on in the levels everytime all the demons spawn in it drops to like 12 FPS and it feels really slow untill you kill few demons then the fps adjust back to normal but these drops almost happens in every level it seems like it cant handle the demons at once... The PS4 never dropped not even with all the crazyness on screen on switch Its rly bad to the point that Its just not fun Its like playing a game on a very low spec computer.. The graphics dont bother me i think it looks fine enough Its the performance tho.. I did not install the patch yet but all that is the multiplayer? I dont think it will help framerate in single player..

I rly hope it gets patched So it can handle it better but as of now its not really playable If it stayed at 30 with all the downgrades it be fine even if it dropped a frame or 2 but it litterly feels like 10-12 FPS thats horrible

Anyway what did you guys think of it?
 

Xzi

Time to fly, 621
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
17,617
Trophies
3
Location
The Lands Between
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
8,144
Country
United States
Sorry to hear, I wonder if it's just a bug causing it or if they really didn't bother to optimize past a certain point. I'm sure there will be updates so we'll find out I guess. Was this docked? Have you tried portable?
 
Last edited by Xzi,

Zeldalife89

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
138
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
248
Country
Netherlands
That's my guess. I mean I have it, I have noticed a couple of hiccups every once in a while, but I'm not that far in. But really, the reviewers would be rip'n'tearing it a new one if it was as bad as the OP was commenting.

Thats exactly it i play on higher diffeculty and i Just beat the game like half hour ago the first 3-5 missions are managable but later on in levels like Argent tower,lazerus labs,Argent der null,vega complex, And more it gets rly rly laggy Its prob around the 15 FPS Mark because the whole game starts to slow down stays like that untill you kill a demon or 2 then Its fine again but this happens every level after the first couple missions So in the middle of the game till the end of the game basicly the whole game...
Kinda disapointed rly hope patches Will fix it

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Could potentially be his Switch or the cart as well.

Doubt it since other games are fine and doom plays fine too the first couple missions that is later on it gets rly laggy when all demons spawn in and you have to kill them all at that point it can get very laggy like 15 FPS untill u kill some of them then Its back to normal but this happens often like Every mission Will have these slow down moments when you get little further into the game ;(
I havent updated my game yet and i hope further patches Will fix this

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

So you're complaining about the performance of a game, that has a patch out, but you didn't install the patch.

Smart.

Check that patch notes bud Its just multiplayer mode and multiplayer game fixes om having slow downs in the campaign single player..
 
Last edited by Zeldalife89,

Zeldalife89

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
138
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
248
Country
Netherlands
Maybe your switch have overheating problems and downclocks itself to prevent damage to hardware.

Nope not it either i touched the switch Its actually not even warm Its pretty cool actually..

Also for the people that arnt experiencing this try to up your diffeculty setting and try again unplayable...
Anything past im to Young to die lags pretty bad

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Shit, guess there goes my reason to upgrade past 3.0.0.

:switch:PEGASWITCH BOYZ:switch:

What you mean?
Im on 3.0.1 still people that are on 4.0 are having the same issue as me Its clearly the game
 

sarkwalvein

There's hope for a Xenosaga port.
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
8,500
Trophies
2
Age
41
Location
Niedersachsen
XP
11,165
Country
Germany
I heard about this in many video reviews and thorough analysis before the game came out.
Many reviewers said that it happened when many enemies were around, specially in higher difficulty.
They recommended to play it in "normal" mode.... :huh:

It is a known limitation currently (I hope they "fix" it, but I don't see that happening)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Subtle Demise

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,151
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
13,637
Country
Norway
Thats exactly it i play on higher diffeculty and i Just beat the game like half hour ago the first 3-5 missions are managable but later on in levels like Argent tower,lazerus labs,Argent der null,vega complex, And more it gets rly rly laggy Its prob around the 15 FPS Mark because the whole game starts to slow down stays like that untill you kill a demon or 2 then Its fine again but this happens every level after the first couple missions So in the middle of the game till the end of the game basicly the whole game...
Kinda disapointed rly hope patches Will fix it

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



Doubt it since other games are fine and doom plays fine too the first couple missions that is later on it gets rly laggy when all demons spawn in and you have to kill them all at that point it can get very laggy like 15 FPS untill u kill some of them then Its back to normal but this happens often like Every mission Will have these slow down moments when you get little further into the game ;(
I havent updated my game yet and i hope further patches Will fix this

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



Check that patch notes bud Its just multiplayer mode and multiplayer game fixes om having slow downs in the campaign single player..
Try setting the console to 720p, should help if you're playing in docked mode.
 

DrkBeam

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2016
Messages
414
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
387
Country
Spain
The Framerate count you make is something subjective, for some of them is manageable, is the price for a hybrid console, it doesn't hold well for current and demanding games. Even digital foundry claims you need to play this game in lower difficulties for this reason, a switch revision might help with those issues
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
If you want to play multiplatform games which require good hardware then don't play them on the Switch. Skyrim is both cheaper and better on the PS4, XBONE and PC.
 

sarkwalvein

There's hope for a Xenosaga port.
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
8,500
Trophies
2
Age
41
Location
Niedersachsen
XP
11,165
Country
Germany
If you want to play multiplatform games which require good hardware then don't play them on the Switch. Skyrim is both cheaper and better on the PS4, XBONE and PC.
But Skyrim actually is one of the games that gets the most out of the portability.
It is not a fast paced game anyway, not that it has any performance problems, but now you can indulge comfortably during you conmute, addiction all the way.
It is like portable legal cocaine.
 

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,393
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
12,834
Country
United States
Does games actually improve framerate with lower resolution? Did anyone actually play Breath of the wild in 480P? Cause I doubt that. No one in 2017 would play a HD intended game with lower resolution unless they had absolutely no choice. Why even have a 480P setting with something that only uses HDMI anyway? :unsure:
 

jt_1258

Ella
Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2016
Messages
3,051
Trophies
2
Age
24
XP
4,822
Country
United States
how odd, I've heard others say it's solid with only rare drops when shit hit's the fan alongside a nuclear bomb more a less
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    that was fast in they year 2000
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i have three network adapters 2 standard us ones with the ethernet and phone jack and one slimmer Japanese one with just a ethernet port. not sure if one would be faster than the other. i installed a sata adapter thing i got off temu for 3 dollars in the Japanese one thought, was surprised it actually works. but considering i got 18 games to go, gonna be a two day endeavor at this point.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    every time I read your username as wolfgang alchemist
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I still want to swap out the IDE board in the BBA I have for PS2, replace the aging IDE with a SATA drive as well
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    Wolfgang Alchemist, now that’s a band name
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    so is dumpster donuts
  • Veho @ Veho:
    You mean his name isn't Wolfgang Alchemist? :wtf:
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    is this thing on?
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    what the fuck was that about?
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    I never saw this happen on this site before
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    @Veho did you see it too or not?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    What was what about what?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The shitpost in the funny pics thread?
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    in the mmebox thread yes, I didnt see the video the guy posted
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Yeah that's Clancy. Guy got banned a while ago and keeps making alts and posting increasingly unhinged shit.
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    i only saw the preview...ah
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    the preview picture...what's wrong with him?
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    what's his problem?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Dunno.
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    *shrugs* most strange, really
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    [calls your mother and tells her you just admitted you were Hi]
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    I don't have fever anymore
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    But i still have stomach problems
    +1
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: But i still have stomach problems +1