Hacking D2Pro Bootchip

Hecro

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Okay, so im totally new to this console - just bought it 2 weeks ago. I have experince with Xbox bootchips and dashboard.

I have decided to get a "D2Pro Bootchip" installed in my Wii and I was just wondering if there is any pre-caustions I should take?
The dealer said something about I should be carefull not to download USA (NTSC) games, as they can brick the Wii - why is that, does some of the games contain FW upgrades?

Is there anything I should be carefull about after getting the chip installed - FW upgrades, Wii online service on the Wii, and so on...

Thanks for the help
smile.gif

WiiCrazy

Be water my friend!
Trophies
Website
www.tepetaklak.com
XP
Country
Hecro said:
Okay, so im totally new to this console - just bought it 2 weeks ago. I have experince with Xbox bootchips and dashboard.

I have decided to get a "D2Pro Bootchip" installed in my Wii and I was just wondering if there is any pre-caustions I should take?
The dealer said something about I should be carefull not to download USA (NTSC) games, as they can brick the Wii - why is that, does some of the games contain FW upgrades?

Is there anything I should be carefull about after getting the chip installed - FW upgrades, Wii online service on the Wii, and so on...

Thanks for the help
smile.gif

1. Updates installed from different regions cause a semi-brick (settings can't be accessed)... further messing up the system can cause bricks (wii boots into a opera error screen)
2. Recovery from 1 is possible through homebrew (semibrick fix disc, downgraders)
3. If you update your wii online you will probably get 3.3 which fixes the bug that through modified discs are booted (for ex. semi brick fix disc)
4. Hence 3, if you update to 3.3 and brick your wii after that, it's a mess.. you can take a look at http://savemii.net/troubleshooting.html and see which bricks are fixed and how...

Hecro

OP
Trophies
XP
Country