Hacking Acquired a semi-bricked Wii (normally boots to black screen but currently in system menu), need help finding correct current method to fix

dwells

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hey all, I'm hoping someone knowledgeable on current methods for correctly restoring a Wii can help me out here, as I'm new to this and have seen a lot of conflicting information. I don't know much about this system, but this is the current sitrep:
  • Boots to black screen normally
  • After dozens of attempts fiddling with the reset button (read about trying this), it did boot into Priiloader. So it's definitely been modded at some point
  • Booted from priiloader to system menu and successfully paired a remote, system settings says it's running 4.3U
  • Homebrew channel is installed but launches to a blank grey menu, it does allow me to select an option to exit to system menu, which worked
  • CMOS battery actually works and the system is showing the current date and time (although 15 minutes ahead)
  • I don't have a NAND backup or know the system's history and it doesn't have an SD card in it
I'd like to restore this thing and get it booting as normal. Ideally I'd like to unmod the system and restore it to factory. It appears to be complete in box with the original documentation, stand, accessories, even some of the original plastic wrap, so I'd like to get it to stock for a collector to enjoy.

It's currently turned on and in the system menu and I'm afraid to shut it off in case I can't get it to boot again -- I thought this thing was totally bricked and was about to tear it down for parts but decided to give it a final try just now, and this is the only time it's worked.

Any help would be massively appreciated!

JaapDaniels

Trophies
Website
github.com
XP
Country
Netherlands