Gaming Custom Firmware 5.50GEN-D is now released

luke_c

Big Boss
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,587
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Land of England
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
915
Country
QUOTE said:
5-50gen_0090005200328511.png

The Custom Firmware 5.50GEN-D is now finished and released. Note that this Custom Firmware
is for PSP-1000 and PSP-2000 V1 and V2 only.The 5.03HEN-A will be updated soon with the same possibilities.

All features of 5.50GEN-B2 are avaible
Ability to run 5.51 + games without having to patch it (UMD or ISO)
Possibility to launch PSN demos requiring 5.51 + without having to patch them (as MGS for example)
Possibility to connect to the Playstation Store by the using of MEDIAGO, to retrieve games and goodies without having to install Fake USB or other complicated stuff.
Possibility to use the XGEN Updater to install the official firmware 6.10 (use it only if you have a Pandora XGEN to be able to return later in Custom firmware)
480x272 AVC Videos ere supported
Source
Download
Getting a: Game could not be started (80020321) error? Do this:
Turn off you PSP, turn it on while holding the R button down, this will put you into the recovery settings . Turn the VSH on, exit it. Press select on the PSP menu, change the driver to M33 or Sony. Reboot, games should now work.
Credit to deanxxczx.
 

Lakerfanalways

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2009
Messages
887
Trophies
0
XP
365
Country
United States
I am currently on firmware 5.50GEN B..do I have to upgrade to anything before I install this? I was reading something about having to upgrade to 5.50GEN B-2 before I upgrade to the newest firmware, if I have to do that..where do I get B2 from? Thanks
 

Livin in a box

Livin' in a cardboard box
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
1,794
Trophies
0
Location
Purgatory
XP
582
Country
Search for GEN-B2 on Google. You'll find it.

I have it installed, it didn't brick me but I turned my battery into a Pandora just in case. ^^ Not used it for long enough yet.
 

Lakerfanalways

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2009
Messages
887
Trophies
0
XP
365
Country
United States
Ok I installed 5.50GEN D but now i cant play any of my games, not the newer ones and not the ones that I had in the PSP before that did work..I get the message "This game could not be started 80020321"
 

ganons

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
3,287
Trophies
1
XP
3,063
Country
Lakerfanalways said:
Ok I installed 5.50GEN D but now i cant play any of my games, not the newer ones and not the ones that I had in the PSP before that did work..I get the message "This game could not be started 80020321"

maybe because they were patched? try a clean iso, also check the recovery settings are not reset
 

Lakerfanalways

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2009
Messages
887
Trophies
0
XP
365
Country
United States
yeah I went into the recovery settings and changed it to m33 driver..now it works fine..but now before each game, I get this little message saying that the drivers are enabled..is that Ok or is there a way to change that so I dont see it before the game starts
 

themuddaload

Creepin' hardcore.
Member
Joined
May 4, 2008
Messages
1,098
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
West of the equator Sex: sure
Website
Visit site
XP
301
Country
United States
well i updated to gen-D

djricekcn said:
i'm getting game could not be started on UMD games on any of the settings.

thats odd, my GTA:VCS autobooted fine by default for me...

oh, and the backlight was retarded on gen-C for me, it always switched brightnesses when you switched between xmb and a game, rather annoying when i wanted it at lowest setting... thats fixed for me in -D

my isos work fine, ive tried fieldrunners and gran turismo so far, i eboot patched it, so that may or may not mean anything...

id recommend everyone on -C to upgrade to -D, if you dont have a pandora it may be best to stick with -B2 at the moment though.
 

nl255

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
2,997
Trophies
1
XP
2,735
Country
The only major bug I have heard of is that Wifi connections in homebrew don't work if you use WPA encryption. Other than that, the only other issues I have heard of are the usual ones (no ms speedup unless you use fatmsmod, no 1.5 compatability (LEDA didn't work on B2, not sure about D), and it's a new fimware so probably best to wait until the first update/service pack).
 

djricekcn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
1,100
Trophies
1
XP
829
Country
United States
it's really weird, I can't boot UMD games only but the UMD drive isn't dead. I went back to B2 just to test and it was fine, then D again, same thing. I got no plugins either or custom anything.
 

prowler

Sony
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
9,475
Trophies
0
Location
Ragol
XP
3,294
Country
Zimbabwe
CAN GEN D WORK ON PSP 3K PLZZZZZZZZ?

lol. Has anyone noticed the msg when you start up an unpatched game?
It says something about 5.55 and 6.XX games and a link to there website.
GEN D works perfectly for me, so did GEN C.
 

spotanjo3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
11,146
Trophies
3
XP
6,156
Country
United States
It works fine to me without any problem but one thing I found a bug:

When you start Megaman 8.. After Capcom then fmv show up and it just skip to the title screen right away but ingame works okay... Bug ? It should be because it was fine on 5.00 M33-6 but GEN-D (FULL) the fmv just skip.
 

manaphy4ever

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
505
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Bahrain
XP
409
Country
Bosnia and Herzegovina
luke-c what should i do now i put on my psp and i press enter they said
Flash Install CFW 5.50 Gen-D
Flash Install OFW 5.50

Flash Install Any sony OFW

Install Xgen pandora

Shut Down

reboot device


which one should i choose ?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I made a taco bell style Combination burrito last night for dinner
    +1
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    who know if they're not made in china also:whip:
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    People will always see America and instantly think uptight Caucasian people with bad food but not the case at all lol
    +1
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    taco bell has mexican food? never been there
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    i stick to the meat section
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    [faaarrrrtt] Oh the beans are STILL in effect :tpi::rofl2:
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    It has tacos
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Juan burned down the last taco bell in Mexico
    +2
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    And the first one
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    The first ONE was here in California. in a town called Wilmington. I worked in it. back then
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @AncientBoi, You also opened the first McDonald's
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Placard and everything in there
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I am a true Ancient one
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Are reeses authentic Latin food 🤔
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Or is it from the Amazon
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Not true ordered directly from the Amazon here in two days
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I Hate Reeses to Pieces!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    We've had reeses since 2000 BC
  • impeeza @ impeeza:
    The best American food:

    Argentinan Beef (I am salivating only with think about it)
    Peruvian fish dishes
    And the Típico Paisa!!! its a monster of flavors and size!!!!!!!!!!!! he he he he
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I'm going to make a Spam n Cheese Omelet for lunch. Back in a bit
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @AncientBoi, but is it Authentic spam better not be that luncheon non authentic bs :angry:
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: @AncientBoi, but is it Authentic spam better not be that luncheon non authentic bs :angry: