Crytek has DX11 graphics running in Crysis 3 on X360, PS3

AlanJohn

くたばれ
OP
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
3,849
Trophies
2
Age
26
Location
Canada,New Jersey
Website
www.deenextreme.com
XP
8,194
Country
Ukraine
Staff edit. Full quotes are not so hot. An example of a quick rewrite.

Eurogamer reports that Crytek (developers of the Crysis and Far Cry system testing programs that double up as games) have managed to get something akin to DirectX 11 style graphics on the PS3 and 360 hardware (which in case you forgot are running marginally tweaked DirectX 9 hardware).
Eurogamer quotes Rasmus Højengaard (Crytek's present director of creative development) "We want to make sure as much as is humanly possible can translate from a DX11 variant into a DX9 variant, that will work almost as good on an Xbox console to whatever extent we can, because we don't want the experience to be different between the platforms,"
Whether this means they just managed to render it (not a terrible hard thing) or got it running at something approaching full speed and at what resolution (games frequently render at a far lower resolution and upscale in various ways) is left for others to speculate upon (a type of graphics emulation is mentioned).


gallery_271505_136_246861.png

German developer Crytek has DirectX 11 graphics running on Crysis 3 on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.
...
...
"I'm not saying this will be in the game, but they managed to make parallax occlusion mapping work, which is an advanced form of bump mapping where you get silhouettes as well, and you have self-shadowing even though you have absolutely no polygons," he explained.
"That's a very advanced feature, and it shouldn't theoretically run on a 360, but they made it run on a 360."
Højengaard insisted, however, that Crytek will not include DX11 graphics features on console if they impact performance. "What it all boils down to is to what extent they're able to use this without choking the console," he said.



:arrow: Source and more parts of the statements/interview
 

Coto

-
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
2,979
Trophies
2
XP
2,565
Country
Chile
So many years since PS3/Xbox 360 were released and we still get gifts like this! Let's wait for the final result anyway..
Also, DX11 on a 6 year old console means they may know quite well the insides of the current consoles.
 

ThePowerOutage

The Lord of the Flyes
Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
813
Trophies
0
Location
Vallhallah
XP
277
Country
Misleading. What they are actually saying is that they managed to get features from DX11 (such as parallax occlusion mapping) running on the Xbox/PS3, not that they got the PS3/Xbox to run DX11, which would be impossible.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 7 people

M[u]ddy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Messages
511
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
NRW
XP
409
Country
Germany
Is it just me, or does it sound rather odd to include the PS3 in this when that doesn't run any version of DirectX?
It does use an nVidia GPU with DirectX 9 support. Even if the features are accessed different it's still DirectX 9 features.
 

Hadrian

Literally as TIGHT as a gnats chuff.
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
16,991
Trophies
3
Age
42
XP
5,033
Country
United States
great a PC from 30 years from now will be able to run this which has after burners.
What a bullshit thing you have said.

My PC clearly play DX11 titles without breaking a sweat and its hardly what I'd call a high end PC.

The only reason the first Crysis had trouble with SOME PCs was that it was on a poorly developed engine that didn't bother catering to some cards.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
9,111
Country
United States
Yeah this isn't anything exciting.

If anything, expect stutter. Part of the reason the first Crysis was slow with the high settings up was because it wasn't a true DirectX 10 game. DirectX 10 and up are incompatible with 9 and below, so what they did was force the DX10 shaders to run on top of DX9, so they wouldn't have to make two separate rendering engines. This is why some people were able to crack the game into allowing the select of some of the DX10 shaders (of course most were non-functional, but still it got people thinking DX10 was bullshit for a while).

So anyways if they do get some effects DX10 does easily into DX9, it's likely not going to be as fast.
 
D

Deleted_171835

Guest
Yes they have it running but at a sub-HD resolution, 15FPS, jaggies, low field of view and with poor AI.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Gahars

Bakayaro Banzai
Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
10,255
Trophies
0
XP
14,723
Country
United States
They really are pushing some impressive graphics out of the consoles. It's kind of a shame, though, that everything else about the games isn't quite so impressive...
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Minox @ Minox:
    I'll stick with my kimchi thank you
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Triglycerides almost 900
  • Minox @ Minox:
    No idea what any of those things you mention are
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Cholesterol and Triglycerides? Basically a way they measure fatty cells in your blood
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Cholesterol is sorta high, according to my doc
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I've been taking fiber pills, eating more grapes, switched to wheat bread in hopes to lower it
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I like wheat bread, I even like the chunky wheat bread with pieces of whole grain in it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Been getting this honey wheat bread from aldis pretty decent not very sweet to out do it
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Me making any food at home is an improvement to how I use to be
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I have an bread machine and use it alot, better than breads you buy, but don't last as long, cause no bs preservatives
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I got compliments about my weight loss and thought well guess I can pig out again now I'm the piggy
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    My biggest prob is alcohol, definitely is fattening
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I know when to stop at least honestly don't get those that go and go with food
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Or those that order 2 big macs , large fry, ice cream sundie, then a diet coke
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I might get downing two big macs but nah that's it
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Ok that will be $15.99, cash or charge?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My go to orders usually a mcdouble and a mcchicken and I'm happy rarely mess with fries
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Pro tip ask for that clowns jizzmac sauce on your mcdouble
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Do they charge extra when you add sauce,etc? I know burger king used to not, but don't know nowadays
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    They may squrit it for free if you ask nice
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Last time I got bk it was 35c per sauce fuck you king of my nutsack
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'll buy a bottle of baby rays BBQ for $2 and add it from home out of spite
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I like baby rays, my favorite is KC masterpiece tho. Figured all you could buy is that there.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    The metro doesn't discriminate good sauce
    +1
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: The metro doesn't discriminate good sauce +1