Crytek has DX11 graphics running in Crysis 3 on X360, PS3

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by AlanJohn, May 8, 2012.

  1. AlanJohn
    OP

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Staff edit. Full quotes are not so hot. An example of a quick rewrite.


    1600x900 image enclosed

    German developer Crytek has DirectX 11 graphics running on Crysis 3 on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.
    ...
    ...
    "I'm not saying this will be in the game, but they managed to make parallax occlusion mapping work, which is an advanced form of bump mapping where you get silhouettes as well, and you have self-shadowing even though you have absolutely no polygons," he explained.
    "That's a very advanced feature, and it shouldn't theoretically run on a 360, but they made it run on a 360."
    Højengaard insisted, however, that Crytek will not include DX11 graphics features on console if they impact performance. "What it all boils down to is to what extent they're able to use this without choking the console," he said.



    :arrow: Source and more parts of the statements/interview
     
  2. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,799
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    Is it just me, or does it sound rather odd to include the PS3 in this when that doesn't run any version of DirectX?
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    So many years since PS3/Xbox 360 were released and we still get gifts like this! Let's wait for the final result anyway..
    Also, DX11 on a 6 year old console means they may know quite well the insides of the current consoles.
     
  4. ilman

    Member ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Shibuya
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    I thought the PS3/xbox 360 were only capable of DX9 graphics.
     
  5. ThePowerOutage

    Member ThePowerOutage The Lord of the Flyes

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Vallhallah
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Misleading. What they are actually saying is that they managed to get features from DX11 (such as parallax occlusion mapping) running on the Xbox/PS3, not that they got the PS3/Xbox to run DX11, which would be impossible.
     
    7 people like this.
  6. M[u]ddy

    Member M[u]ddy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    It does use an nVidia GPU with DirectX 9 support. Even if the features are accessed different it's still DirectX 9 features.
     
  7. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    That's great, but I hope the PC version doesn't get bottlenecked because of the consoles
     
  8. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Why is this thread so wide? It's stretching my page and is hard to read.

    Anyway, this sounds SO BOSS.
     
  9. Flame

    Member Flame Me > You

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,408
    Country:
    great a PC from 30 years from now will be able to run this which has after burners.
     
  10. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What a bullshit thing you have said.

    My PC clearly play DX11 titles without breaking a sweat and its hardly what I'd call a high end PC.

    The only reason the first Crysis had trouble with SOME PCs was that it was on a poorly developed engine that didn't bother catering to some cards.
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah this isn't anything exciting.

    If anything, expect stutter. Part of the reason the first Crysis was slow with the high settings up was because it wasn't a true DirectX 10 game. DirectX 10 and up are incompatible with 9 and below, so what they did was force the DX10 shaders to run on top of DX9, so they wouldn't have to make two separate rendering engines. This is why some people were able to crack the game into allowing the select of some of the DX10 shaders (of course most were non-functional, but still it got people thinking DX10 was bullshit for a while).

    So anyways if they do get some effects DX10 does easily into DX9, it's likely not going to be as fast.
     
  12. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes they have it running but at a sub-HD resolution, 15FPS, jaggies, low field of view and with poor AI.
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. qlum

    Member qlum Posting when needed

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    The Pirate Homeworld
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Sure you can do some of the stuff done by dx11 in older platforms but it will most likely not good look as good and/or it would perform worse.
     
  14. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's funny that some people still think of Crysis as that "omg graphics" type of game.
     
    1 person likes this.
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's still used in benchmarks for how demanding it is, at least. :P
     
  16. Gahars

    Member Gahars Bakayaro Banzai

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10,254
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    They really are pushing some impressive graphics out of the consoles. It's kind of a shame, though, that everything else about the games isn't quite so impressive...
     
  17. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Please don't port the console version to PC please!!!
     
  18. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,345
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    :lol:
     

Share This Page