Computer switches off by itself

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by R2DJ, Nov 28, 2010.

Nov 28, 2010

Computer switches off by itself by R2DJ at 1:40 PM (1,043 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. R2DJ
    OP

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello. My friend's custom built PC is turning off by itself. I haven't turned it on for a long time until today and it seemed fine, until after 3 minutes or so, it just turned off by itself. I have tried the following:

    - Unplugged additional devices i.e. internal card reader, graphics card
    - Changed power supply
    - Removed 1 stick of RAM (went from 1GB to 512MB)
    - Formatted to Windows 7 - this was only successful once. I tried doing it several times and the installation starts up but the keyboard and mouse don't work at all.
    - Reformatted BIOS settings to Optimal and Fail-safe Defaults

    Any advice on what can actually be fixed?
     
  2. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Are the mouse and keyboard PS2 or USB. If its PS2 you may have a blowin fuse. What is the condition of your caps any bulging
     
  3. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    that sounds like overheating to me
    the CPU is probably turning too hot, maybe a fan's disabled or the thermal paste is gone or something...
     
  4. Knyaz Vladimir

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    It's just like my PC and YouTube, but it's not caused by playing Demetori's Nuclear Fusion remix.

    No idea why, check inside and keep the case open for better conditioning.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Is it shutting off or restarting?

    There's a very big difference.
     
  6. Saken

    Member Saken GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    Australia
    If your memory is dual channel i suggest you put the RAM back in... it does sound a bit like the computer is overheating?
    What are you doing when it "switches off"? Anything heavy-duty or does it happen at startup?
    When it first started switching off what were you doing?
     
  7. Arnold Schwarzen

    Member Arnold Schwarzen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    787
    Country:
    United States
    Could probably also be GPU as well.
     
  8. Vulpes Abnocto

    Former Staff Vulpes Abnocto Drinks, Knows Things

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,601
    Country:
    United States
    I had this same problem very recently.
    The problem was traced to a popped capacitor on the motherboard.
    Take a close look at the capacitors and see if any of them have domed tops rather than flat tops.
     
  9. R2DJ
    OP

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My friend has a USB keyboard and a brand new PS2 mouse. I also checked inside and no capacitors are blown or anything. I just discovered that the CPU heat sink is actually loose (thanks to a simple flick) but I don't know...I was told that it was loose for a long time (which I know is a very bad thing) but it hasn't turned off (not restarting) sporadically until now...

    I suggested to them to get a new heat sink, but how can I know which heat sink should I get for the motherboard?
     
  10. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    You mightn't need a new heatsink for the cpu, it may just need to be reseated. If it's loose, take off the heatsink.
    I'd suggest cleaning both the bottom of the heatsink and the cpu to remove any old thermal paste. Then reapply new paste and attach the heatsink again (make sure it's attached properly, some of them can be tricky). Check to see if it's still loose after that.

    If you need to get a new cpu heatsink, first figure out what socket type the motherboard is. Then it's a simple matter of looking for a cpu heatsink that matches the socket type.
     
  11. kylehaas

    Member kylehaas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    United States
    I would definitely monitor the temperatures of everything inside there.
    Just download a program like Speedfan. That always works for me.

    Also, you might want to check the health of the harddrive.
    A damaged harddrive has lots of problems.
     
  12. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,156
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you do decide to get a new heatsink, first find out what socket the motherboard is using. The easiest way is simply to find out what CPU it's got (BIOS can help there, or just System Properties in Windows or Device Manager or dxdiag or SpeedFan will tell you too - many ways to find out), look it up on WiFi and it'll tell you. For example, most Core 2 CPUs are LGA775, so you just need to look for a heatsink that supports LGA775.

    Whether or not you do get a new heatsink, get some new thermal paste and probably a cleaning solvent for the thermal paste already there.
     
  13. FireGrey

    Member FireGrey Undercover Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    Country:
    Australia
    I think you would need a new fan.
     
  14. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Your heatsink for the CPU must be working somewhat, as if you tried running the computer without the heatsink it would be off in a matter of seconds not minutes. I would try reapplying thermal paste and remounting it to make sure it is getting the best efficiency out of it.
     
  15. Velveteer

    Member Velveteer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, well they will work fine up until the tjmax is approached and they'll shut off. So my guess is that it's touching, but there's not enough pressure/it's uneven.

    For a bit of perspective, you should be able to pick up the motherboard from the heatsink (if it was removed from the case. Don't try to pick up the system from the heatsink or you'll fuck the board.) It should not move with the exception of some larger tower heatsinks (if you have to ask, it's not one), which can rotate slightly with enough force and fresh thermal paste.

    Again, as others have said, use a program such as SpeedFan or CoreTemp (doesn't work with Pentium 4 or Athlon XP and earlier) to check the temps at idle and load.

    There's no dust in the CPU heatsink, is there?
     

Share This Page