Chat??

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by dumbsioux, Oct 26, 2002.

Oct 26, 2002

Chat?? by dumbsioux at 5:41 AM (1,745 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. dumbsioux
    OP

    Member dumbsioux GBAtemp Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    402
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    I think this would be the best site if it had a chat room. anyone with me?
     


  2. zErO

    zErO Newbie

    i can live with just forums
     
  3. ivwshane

    ivwshane Newbie

    Chat can be cool but in my experience it just ends up in BS.
     
  4. SMN

    Member SMN GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    377
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    I agree with Zero [​IMG]
     
  5. D2_

    Former Staff D2_ Weee!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,799
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    i shudder at the fact of chat rooms. they sometimes full of lamers and too many ppl talking at once
     
  6. zErO

    zErO Newbie

    if i wanna live talk with people from these forums, i'll do it on msn messenger, or aim.
     
  7. MasterOfTehRom

    Member MasterOfTehRom Mastah Of FlashCarts

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    336
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Just do a forum search for IRC, I recall seeing KiVan posting around three IRC channels alot of people use to trade roms, and what not.
     
  8. zErO

    zErO Newbie

    i never learned how to use mirc, too confusing for my taste.
     
  9. SMN

    Member SMN GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    377
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    and sometimes you can send file thru those messenger as well [​IMG]


    ... unless you have the firewalls installed then there'll be a problem [​IMG]
     
  10. D2_

    Former Staff D2_ Weee!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,799
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    u can even find out their ip address from that aswell
     
  11. zErO

    zErO Newbie

    ya, i send lots o files through both.
     
  12. SMN

    Member SMN GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    377
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    really ? how ?

    you can also can on IRC too, right ?
     
  13. zErO

    zErO Newbie

    hmmm, so how would you find the ip adress?
     
  14. D2_

    Former Staff D2_ Weee!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,799
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    i dont remember the details but i just remembered it works on aim. u have to do something while trying to connect to some1
     
  15. zErO

    zErO Newbie

    freaky... [​IMG]
     
  16. SMN

    Member SMN GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    377
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    I heard about it too and I don't think it's that easy. I think one needs to know how to hack the messenger in order to get the IP
     
  17. MasterOfTehRom

    Member MasterOfTehRom Mastah Of FlashCarts

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    336
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Ya, thats why when using AIM it asks you if you want to accept a direct connection and that you should only connect with someone you trust ( at least I think it gives that warning ). As to your comment about MirC, Ya i completely agree. It is a tad confusing until you've really figured it out. Which is why you can always use some other IRC client or a java based one online. Trick to that is finding the jave based ones. MAYBE if we ask nicely we can have KiVan or one of the site admins add in a java based chat client in the near future, for all the chat-a-holics out there [​IMG]
     
  18. zErO

    zErO Newbie

    well, a lot of people know how to hack. and did you know that anybody can get your password? even if you change it? there are documents on the internet that tell you how to get anyone password.
     
  19. SMN

    Member SMN GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    377
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    the password of your messenger ?

    I would say one good hacker can do anything that you think impossible to do [​IMG]

    Oh well
     
  20. zErO

    zErO Newbie

    no, like your email password (wait, that's the same thing). and you don't have to be a hacker, they tell you exactly what you have to write, all you do is copy and paste then change a few names and words and stuff.
     

Share This Page

Loading...