Hacking Certain CIAs not working via N3DS emunand?

SpongeFreak52

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
414
Trophies
0
Location
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
XP
1,027
Country
United States
So this is an interesting issue I've run into on my AUS N3DS running 9.5 on emunand. After converting my personal cartridge of Ultimate NES Remix to a CIA, it refuses to boot properly, and spits out a generic "An error has occurred" message. When using the raw 3DS file, it works just fine.

Since then I've verified that it's not just my converted CIA that causes it, and I can't seem to figure out if I'm simply doing something wrong or if this is an actual issue. Part of me immediately assumed it was a 7.X encryption issue, and I haven't taken the time to test out any other cartridges I have with that encryption.

Has anyone run into a similar issue?
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
1
XP
4,975
Country
Antarctica
I made a CIA out of my Majora's Mask US cart, and it's being pretty stubborn on my N3DS LL (but the .3DS I dumped works fine on the red card). I have yet to get it working, also getting that generic error message. Hopefully the next Gateway update will help iron it out.
 

SpongeFreak52

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
414
Trophies
0
Location
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
XP
1,027
Country
United States
MM refusing to boot would also point to an encryption issue. Can anyone verify if a game like Smash Bros runs on a N3DS via CIA? I can test this personally later, it just takes a while to go through the process of dumping and converting.
 

Kohmei

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
822
Trophies
0
XP
1,013
Country
United States
I'd start with a CIA that you know is valid. You could have made a bad one. I've installed 47 CIAs on my N3DS and they all work perfectly
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
1
XP
4,975
Country
Antarctica
MM refusing to boot would also point to an encryption issue. Can anyone verify if a game like Smash Bros runs on a N3DS via CIA? I can test this personally later, it just takes a while to go through the process of dumping and converting.


I installed a CIA of MH4U US (also from a cart of mine) and it has been working flawlessly, so I'm not really sure what it is. My Majora's Mask CIA worked fine on my old 3DS..

Edit: One thing of note, I suppose: it's a US copy, but the banner shows up in Japanese. Maybe it's the same issue as regionthree or something, I dunno.
 

SpongeFreak52

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
414
Trophies
0
Location
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
XP
1,027
Country
United States
I'd start with a CIA that you know is valid. You could have made a bad one. I've installed 47 CIAs on my N3DS and they all work perfectly

I can verify that the same CIA boots just fine on my standard US XL via emunand. I've tried other copies of the game in CIA form as well, with no luck. I'm assuming of those 47 games, some are ones which utilize 7.X save encryption?
 

Kohmei

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
822
Trophies
0
XP
1,013
Country
United States
I can verify that the same CIA boots just fine on my standard US XL via emunand. I've tried other copies of the game in CIA form as well, with no luck. I'm assuming of those 47 games, some are ones which utilize 7.X save encryption?
Yes, I've specifically installed all the allegedly problem games in this thread

What installer are you using? Maybe it's possible devmenu is bugged on the N3DS. I'm using bigbluemenu

Edit: This could also be a region problem. I'm using a US region N3DS and am very OCD about getting only US region CIAs despite the lack of a need for this
 

SpongeFreak52

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
414
Trophies
0
Location
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
XP
1,027
Country
United States
I'm using bigbluemenu as well.

The region being an issue is certainly a possibility, my NES Remix cartridge is a US version. I've got other non-7.X encryption US CIAs working fine, so perhaps it's a combination of the newer encryption and mixed regions? I'm assuming daxtsu is using a JP N3DS since he used "LL".
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
1
XP
4,975
Country
Antarctica
I'm using bigbluemenu as well.

The region being an issue is certainly a possibility, my NES Remix cartridge is a US version. I've got other non-7.X encryption US CIAs working fine, so perhaps it's a combination of the newer encryption and mixed regions? I'm assuming daxtsu is using a JP N3DS since he used "LL".


Correct. I have a Japanese New 3DS LL on 8.1. Anyhow, I think you might be right with it being a mixed region thing. Perhaps Gateway missed a few things in regards to region free with CIAs (but not .3ds dumps?) in this beta.
 

SpongeFreak52

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
414
Trophies
0
Location
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
XP
1,027
Country
United States
Alright, I've just confirmed that a EU dump from the same source as an attempted US dump works fine installed as a CIA. May be safe to assume that this is an actual bug, though we still need to confirm if it's specific to the N3DS.
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
1
XP
4,975
Country
Antarctica
I would venture to guess that both Pokémon games (X/Y & ORAS) will have this issue as well. If I insert my Japanese AS cart into my American 3DS, the banner shows up in English, and likewise, if I insert my American Y cartridge into my LL, it has the Japanese banner. I think it would be safe to conclude that games with multi-region banners or just multi-region code in general will not work correctly as a CIA on a New 3DS of a differing region for now.

Edit: I made a clean redump of my Majora's Mask cart and then used Queno's pack to make it into a CIA, with no spoofs/region locks/etc done to it, and it's working on my LL. I was previously using the CIA packer from MaxConsole. SpongeFreak52: Maybe try using a different CIA packer if you're using the one from MC.
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
1
XP
4,975
Country
Antarctica
The banner still shows up in Japanese, but the game is playing in English as expected. I guess the MaxConsole packer just does weird things and it only shows with the unusual situation we're in (out of region N3DS + local region CIA game).
 

SpongeFreak52

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
414
Trophies
0
Location
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
XP
1,027
Country
United States
Well, bit of an update. Used Queno's conversion pack successfully, but unfortunately the output CIA still causes an error. I've tried both with and without region unlocking with no luck. Not sure what else to try at this point.

Going to go ahead and dump my Smash cart, that should confirm whether or not it's a 7.X issue.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    NeoGaming @ NeoGaming: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wp4G0ub7omU