Hacking Can't launch Wii and Gamecube games from system menu

Tonitonichopchop

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
1,210
Trophies
0
XP
299
Country
United States
This has been a bit of an annoying issue for a while now and I figure I might as well solve it. My Wii for whatever reason won't recognize discs from the system menu but I can still boot them using an app like Neogamma or Gecko. I don't think any more info is needed beyond this, so any help would be appreciated.
 

Tonitonichopchop

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
1,210
Trophies
0
XP
299
Country
United States
  1. Are you talking about retail discs?
  2. Please post a SysCheck using the guide in my signature.

Yeah, it's with retail discs.

Syscheck:
sysCheck v2.1.0b17 by Double_A and R2-D2199
...runs on IOS58 (rev 6175).

Region: NTSC-U
System Menu 4.1U (v449)

Drive date: 2006.09.07
Homebrew Channel 1.0.0 running on IOS58
Hollywood v0x11
Console ID: 43011707
Boot2 v2
Found 79 titles.
Found 24 IOS on this console. 0 of them are stub.

IOS11 (rev 10): Flash Access
IOS12 (rev 6): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS13 (rev 10): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS14 (rev 257): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS15 (rev 257): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS17 (rev 512): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS20 (rev 12): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS21 (rev 514): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS22 (rev 772): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS28 (rev 1288): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS30 (rev 1040): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS31 (rev 1040): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS33 (rev 1040): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS34 (rev 1039): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS35 (rev 1040): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, Flash Access, NAND Access
IOS36 (rev 3351): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
IOS58 (rev 6175): USB 2.0
IOS60 (rev 6174): No Patches
IOS61 (rev 5405): No Patches
IOS222[38] (rev 65535, Info: hermes-v5.1): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS236[36] (rev 65535, Info: rev 3351): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
IOS249[36] (rev 21, Info: rev 21): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
IOS250[57] (rev 21007, Info: d2x-v7alpha5): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
BC v6
MIOS v10

Report generated on 2012/04/03.
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,966
Trophies
3
Age
37
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
7,706
Country
Cyprus
I'm familar with the expression, but what do you mean by "no dice"? Does that mean you successfully used ModMii's syscheck updater feature to install a bunch of IOSs\WADs and games still do not load from the disc channel? Or does that mean you were unable to complete ModMii's syscheck updater guide for some reason or another?

Please create a new syscheck log after having used ModMii's syscheck updater and post the results here.
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,172
Country
Wow that wii even boots? You miss really much IOS, do what Joostin said then it should work.
A wii will boot just fine without any IOS other than the SM IOS (IOS60 in the case of 4.1 which is on that Wii). It should be of no surprise to anyone vaguely knowledgeable in the field of Wii homebrew that this Wii boots.

EDIT: He's not missing that many IOS really. The only active ones missing are 9, 37, [41, 43, 45, 46, 48 - only used by Korean SM/games], 53, 55, 56, 57 and 80 (which is obviously not needed without 4.3).

So he's missing 6 IOS. Each only used by a few games. The majority of games should boot fine.

EDIT: Also, seeing as the games boot with Gecko, it is clearly NOT an IOS problem. Probably some Priiloader hack messed up or something like that. If you have any of those OP, disable them and if you really must, re-enable them one by one to isolate the one causing problems.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Tonitonichopchop

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
1,210
Trophies
0
XP
299
Country
United States
I'm familar with the expression, but what do you mean by "no dice"? Does that mean you successfully used ModMii's syscheck updater feature to install a bunch of IOSs\WADs and games still do not load from the disc channel? Or does that mean you were unable to complete ModMii's syscheck updater guide for some reason or another?

Please create a new syscheck log after having used ModMii's syscheck updater and post the results here.

This.

Here's the log:

sysCheck v2.1.0b17 by Double_A and R2-D2199
...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).

Region: NTSC-U
System Menu 4.1U (v449)

Drive date: 2006.09.07
Homebrew Channel 1.0.0 running on IOS58
Hollywood v0x11
Console ID: 43011707
Boot2 v2
Found 104 titles.
Found 49 IOS on this console. 0 of them are stub.

IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
IOS11 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS20 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
IOS30 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches
IOS40 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
IOS50 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS52 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
IOS60 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
IOS70 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS80 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS202[60] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS222[38] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS223[38+37] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS224[57] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS236[36] (rev 65535, Info: rev 3351): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
IOS245[37] (rev 21007, Info: d2x-v7alpha5): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS246[38] (rev 21007, Info: d2x-v7alpha5): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
IOS247[53] (rev 21007, Info: d2x-v7alpha5): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS248[55] (rev 21007, Info: d2x-v7alpha5): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS249[56] (rev 21007, Info: d2x-v7alpha5): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS250[57] (rev 21007, Info: d2x-v7alpha5): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS251[58] (rev 21007, Info: d2x-v7alpha5): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
BC v6
MIOS v10

Report generated on 2012/04/03.


Also, seeing as the games boot with Gecko, it is clearly NOT an IOS problem. Probably some Priiloader hack messed up or something like that. If you have any of those OP, disable them and if you really must, re-enable them one by one to isolate the one causing problems.

The only thing I can think I may have used is Start/Star Patch (I've never used Priiloader). Could that have caused it?
 

FIX94

Former Staff
Former Staff
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
7,284
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
???
XP
11,223
Country
Germany
The only thing I can think I may have used it Start/Star Patch (I've never used Priiloader). Could that have caused it?
Ah a modded system menu changes the situation. Get a clean system menu with modmii and use prilloader instead because there you can disable hacks again if they make problems.
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,172
Country
The only thing I can think I may have used it Start/Star Patch (I've never used Priiloader). Could that have caused it?
Ah a modded system menu changes the situation. Get a clean system menu with modmii and use prilloader instead because there you can disable hacks again if they make problems.
Or just install a clean system menu, and don't install priiloader unless you actually need it.
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,966
Trophies
3
Age
37
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
7,706
Country
Cyprus
you could do as FIX94 suggested and it would work, but instead you could just use startpatch again to disable problematic system menu hacks. Most people prefer priiloader over startpatch, but if u have bootmii installed as boot2 then u don't NEED the extra protection that priiloader offers
 

Tonitonichopchop

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
1,210
Trophies
0
XP
299
Country
United States
you could do as FIX94 suggested and it would work, but instead you could just use startpatch again to disable problematic system menu hacks. Most people prefer priiloader over startpatch, but if u have bootmii installed as boot2 then u don't NEED the extra protection that priiloader offers

Well, I already did it and it worked so I have no complaints. I don't need Priiloader since I do have Bootmii as boot2 so I'm good to go. Thanks for all the help, guys.
 

JoostinOnline

Certified Crash Test Dummy
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
11,005
Trophies
1
Location
The Twilight Zone
Website
www.hacksden.com
XP
4,323
Country
United States
Wow that wii even boots? You miss really much IOS, do what Joostin said then it should work.
A wii will boot just fine without any IOS other than the SM IOS (IOS60 in the case of 4.1 which is on that Wii). It should be of no surprise to anyone vaguely knowledgeable in the field of Wii homebrew that this Wii boots.

EDIT: He's not missing that many IOS really. The only active ones missing are 9, 37, [41, 43, 45, 46, 48 - only used by Korean SM/games], 53, 55, 56, 57 and 80 (which is obviously not needed without 4.3).

So he's missing 6 IOS. Each only used by a few games. The majority of games should boot fine.
IOS9 is for launch games (how is he even missing that?), and the ones in the 50's are used by every current game AFAIK. He was missing several important IOS's for playing games

EDIT: Also, seeing as the games boot with Gecko, it is clearly NOT an IOS problem.
.
Normally Gecko OS installs the IOS required if it is missing, but if it can't for some reason, it defaults to 249. I thought that might be the case.

I should have thought of bad Priiloader hacks, but since I couldn't think of one thing that would cause all of his problems, I decided to suggest he install missing IOS's to see if that would at least fix the Wii games, then go from there.
 

Tonitonichopchop

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
1,210
Trophies
0
XP
299
Country
United States
Wow that wii even boots? You miss really much IOS, do what Joostin said then it should work.
A wii will boot just fine without any IOS other than the SM IOS (IOS60 in the case of 4.1 which is on that Wii). It should be of no surprise to anyone vaguely knowledgeable in the field of Wii homebrew that this Wii boots.

EDIT: He's not missing that many IOS really. The only active ones missing are 9, 37, [41, 43, 45, 46, 48 - only used by Korean SM/games], 53, 55, 56, 57 and 80 (which is obviously not needed without 4.3).

So he's missing 6 IOS. Each only used by a few games. The majority of games should boot fine.
IOS9 is for launch games (how is he even missing that?), and the ones in the 50's are used by every current game AFAIK. He was missing several important IOS's for playing games

I've been messing with my Wii for a few years now so I'm not surprised something was wrong. I did a weird NAND format a while back and I think that must have removed a few things I never thought to re-install.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "What if Joe Rogen was santa."
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Turns out Germany's version of Santa back in the 40s didn't go that well
  • Veho @ Veho:
    You don't wanna know where his toys were made.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Camp #2 or #4?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Or a Disney warehouse
  • Veho @ Veho:
    A Disney whorehouse.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Damn that's even worse
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Kumar becomes Santa now
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Harold and Kumar go to the North Pole.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Rudolph tasted the best
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Rudolph the red-rocket reindeer.
  • Shape @ Shape:
    @M4x1mumReZ every console. Every console. Please no more unbelievably bloated updates
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Imagine if nothing ever updated
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Imagine all the people.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I wouldn't mind a rock as a house easier to repair
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Subway announced footlong cookies.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Yay more ways to improve my diabetes
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Shape, Just block the updates with a custom DNS or never use internet on it in the first place.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Lol I am #81 in queue
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Damn she is one popular hooker
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Damn she is one popular hooker