Bought used Wii u, still has previous owner info

Discussion in 'Wii U - Nintendo Network' started by Cldbld, Feb 27, 2018.

  1. Cldbld
    OP

    Cldbld Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Feb 27, 2018
    United States
    Hello, 1st thread here.

    I bought a wii u used the other day. I would like to format it, but as I understand just simply formatting the system will not unlink the nnid.

    It says to delete the user, but I need a password, am I sol or is there a way to get it done?

    I have contacted seller but I don't know how they feel lending me a password for this.

    I would just like to make it my own.

    Thanks guys
     
    WintendoZone likes this.
  2. Trylk248

    Trylk248 Honest helper and custom content creator.

    Member
    3
    Oct 31, 2012
    Canada
    Province of Québec
    Does the Wii U you actually has Homebrew (Haxchi, ect.) ?
     
  3. bailli

    bailli GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    5
    Oct 16, 2006
    Gambia, The
  4. SjorsMaster

    SjorsMaster Ayy

    Member
    2
    Aug 26, 2015
    Netherlands
    Enkhuizen, North-Holland.
    It doesnt really matter if this user is on it or not, you can still add new users.
    other than that you could try and use a file transfer program like filezilla to delete the user via nand, I wouldn't recommend that though, one small mistake and you're doomed.
    formatting the system is also an option.
    Ask the seller to change the password via the nintendo website to something simple.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    We're not talking about parental codes.
     
    Trylk248 and Spadezilla like this.
  5. Demix

    Demix Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    3
    Sep 5, 2018
    United States
    I bought same type. Instead i used a master password to remove parental lock and then did a system restore. You click something that says forgot pin, then you get a id or something. Nintendo want charge you a dollar but you can google the wii u master kry generator and itll work
     
  6. steveja82

    steveja82 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    4
    Dec 29, 2014
    United Kingdom
    The tool to remove a user account without the password is called account manager (don't think can link to it on here).

    Of course the Wii u would need to be in a state to run homebrew for this to work
     
    Last edited by steveja82, Apr 19, 2019
  7. Brayton

    Brayton GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    4
    Feb 6, 2016
    United States
    Formatting will delete the account from your Wii U, it just doesn't unlink their NNID, they'd just need to call Nintendo if they ever get another Wii U, so it's their problem.
     
  8. Demix

    Demix Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    3
    Sep 5, 2018
    United States
    I had 3 different nnids and not 1 pin, i clicked forgot code and then visited this similar site https://mkey.salthax.org
    1. On the Wii U Menu, select the Mii character in the upper-left corner to access the "User Settings."
    2. Tap "Delete This User."
      • If this selection is grey, there is only one account on the system, and it cannot be deleted. You will need to format the system instead. How to
    3. If prompted, enter the four-digit PIN and select "OK."
    4. Enter the password associated to the Nintendo Network ID, then select "OK." (Forgot Password?)
    5. The nickname and Nintendo Network ID associated to the account will display. Select "Next" to continue.
    6. Select "Understood" to agree to delete the save data and play times associated with the user. Select "Next" to continue.
    7. Do you want to delete just the user account (Mii, save data) or the user account ANDNintendo Network ID?
      • PLEASE NOTE -
        • Deleting the user account will delete the save data, user Mii, and play records associated to the account, but will not delete the Nintendo Network account. The Nintendo Network ID can be relinked to the same console in the future. How to
        • Deleting the Nintendo Network ID will also delete all Nintendo eShop licenses and balances on both the Wii U AND Nintendo 3DS family systems.
        • Deleted Nintendo Network accounts cannot be recovered. This includes ALL purchases or funds lost when the account is deleted.
        • A deleted Nintendo Network ID cannot be used again to create a new account. Once it is deleted, that username is gone.
        • The Nintendo Network ID should only be deleted if you do not want to use it or access purchases made with it (on Wii U or Nintendo 3DS) ever again.
        • Even if you are no longer planning to use the Nintendo Network account, it is strongly recommended that you delete just the user account. That will keep your Nintendo Network ID (and related purchases) available to you to use again in the future.
     
Loading...