Backup's just not working???

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MozyMan, Oct 22, 2009.

Oct 22, 2009

Backup's just not working??? by MozyMan at 8:14 PM (935 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. MozyMan
    OP

    Newcomer MozyMan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Ireland
    Right, so I sent my Wii back to Nintendo for repair (wasn't reading any discs). Before I sent it, i removed everything, eg bootmii, homebrew channel and what not.
    Came back today, read normal wii games fine and was on 4.1E. I started to softmod it again, installin bootmii an all that. i installed cIOS rev14. Only i went to load a backup in backup launcher, and i got "disk read error 324". I get this for all the backups. i also installed cioscorp, but backups fail to show in the disc channel :S
    i even just restored with bootmii using an earlier nand backup, when they had worked before, but still have the same problem.

    Anyone have any idea why it's not working???
    I'm thinking of downgrading to 3.2E and starting from there...
     
  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    probably replaced your drive with one of the new ones which wont read backup disk's I think your only option would be a usb loader
     
  3. MozyMan
    OP

    Newcomer MozyMan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Ireland
    Ugh you kidding me [​IMG] They have dvd drives that can stop backups from reading now??? well that sucks anyways
     
  4. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    wii games aint dvds, but the drives could read them anyway, its a long story why, but you should look it up its interesting......ish

    anyways the wiis new drives cant read them any more, i wonder if they can be hard modded still?

    if so its probably just the drives firmware being changed
     
  5. MozyMan
    OP

    Newcomer MozyMan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Ireland
    Well i guess im stuck then anyways, if i'd have known bout the newer drives, i almost wouldn't have bothered sending it back lol, o well better go look at buyin a usb hard drive...
    thanks anyways
     
  6. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well the old drive wasnt reading disks anyway so your only hope was a usb loader anyway, [​IMG]
     
  7. MozyMan
    OP

    Newcomer MozyMan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Ireland
    Yh i guess, the warranty was out so could've had a mess bout the inside of it, dont know much bout the innards of a wii tho so...
     
  8. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    you could buy a different drive and install it
     
  9. MozyMan
    OP

    Newcomer MozyMan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Ireland
    meh i cba, sure im probably better off finally getting a usb drive anyways
     

Share This Page