Acekard 2 Loader 4.08

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Diffusion, Aug 12, 2008.

Aug 12, 2008

Acekard 2 Loader 4.08 by Diffusion at 7:57 PM (6,513 Views / 0 Likes) 52 replies

  1. Diffusion
    OP

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Download:
    Official Site: http://www.acekard.com/download.php#ak2
    GBAtemp: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=3062
     


  2. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    they have save slots for the acekard 2?
     
  3. dewback

    Member dewback GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States

    his is a Feature that was in the bliss loader. The Bliss Loader was using the release to load with more options for save slots and turning on pachs per game. This is great because the Bliss loader is a lot better but had to wait for it to be updated.
     
  4. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    so basically it's AKAIO-lite...

    this is what they made of it.
    Let's drink, Normmatt.
    I got my 4 AKs out of the code in this. shoulda asked for a replacement DS Lite [​IMG]
     
  5. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    I hope this is good. Going to try out. So far looks like the AKAIO. Or .. is it?
     
  6. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    It's not AIO. It's based on Bliss' menu, which uses a lot of the code from the previous version of AIO (I think I said that right).

    Smiths, this may actually be a good sign. At least they're incorporating code from the custom firmware. Since you and Normmatt are continuing to develop your code (and Bliss isn't), it seems like they may now be open to adding some of your features to it. Maybe Normmatt's slow-motion code can be added (and then supported by the Acekard team).

    It's a little funny that the default skin (black) says "Acekard RPG" on it instead of "Acekard 2" (or just "Acekard").

    -Bri
     
  7. Takoru

    Member Takoru GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    Egypt
    Why isn't there a version for AKRPG?
    hm, who matters... AKAIO > ALL
     
  8. Gevexx

    Newcomer Gevexx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah maybe but i think that the devs are just lazy and wait until smiths code everything so that they can overtake it.
     
  9. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    So would you say this is better than AKAIO 1.1r2 ? Or is it the same .. kinda looks like the same.
     
  10. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe, but I don't see that as a problem. I kind of prefer that they concentrate on compatibility updates in the loader. Remember that the Acekard team will also be responsible for supporting all these new features when they update the loader. It was a concern for Smiths and Normmatt that when they implement new features, they had to recode everything every time the Acekard team changed the loader. If the Acekard team incorporates features into the official loader, they take over support in future versions, taking the burden of support off of Smiths and Normmatt, allowing them to concentrate on coding new features (which is probably what they prefer to do anyway).

    -Bri
     
  11. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    It's probably very similar (maybe identical) to Bliss' latest menu, which is based on some of the same code that AIO is based on (both use code from AIO's predecessor, AKBBS). But AIO has had some new features since Bliss stopped development of his menu, so I'd say AIO is better. AIO is perhaps slightly less stable than the official given that Smiths and Normmatt are constantly adding new features to it.

    -Bri
     
  12. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States


    HAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAAH

    oh yeah, that'll be the day.
     
  13. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, if the Official firmware still works as good/better than AKAIO, I'll keep it. Still have to test it out though.
     
  14. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Now that they've added the new functionality to the official menu, I don't think they have a choice. If a future version of their loader breaks something in the official menu, they'll either have to remove that functionality (which will cause a lot of problems for them) or else fix the menu code accordingly.

    -Bri
     
  15. Takoru

    Member Takoru GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    Egypt
    But, why isn't it possible to use it with an AKRPG? I thought it's open source... so it should get such firmwares before the AK2, lol.
     
  16. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    The merged bliss' AKRPG is on the way. They are just checking over too make sure there aren't any bugs.
     
  17. Devante

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    Seems like this one is a few weeks late when compared to AKAIO.
     
  18. seren

    Newcomer seren Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Australia
    Do you know if that release will have a similar loading engine as the AK2 4.0.8?
     
  19. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    The new loading engine is only for the AK2, the AKRPG and AK+ versions of bliss' merged firmwares won't have any compatibility fixes except for the DQ5 fix i think.
     
  20. seren

    Newcomer seren Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Australia
    ok, thanks.

    I don't know why they would bother releasing such a miner release
     

Share This Page