ACDC Rock Band Track Replacer

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by assassda, Jan 27, 2009.

Jan 27, 2009

ACDC Rock Band Track Replacer by assassda at 5:25 AM (9,460 Views / 0 Likes) 52 replies

  1. assassda
    OP

    Member assassda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    I wrote a small program which allows you to quickly create a custom Rock Band ACDC disc
    For those of you who dont know, this version of rock band can use Guitar Hero guitars while the others (besides 2) do not

    coded by me(djsouth09/wander@efnet)
    tutorial by me
    Arktool by xorloser
    GH2 DTB Editor by Nachyoz

    Required
    -ACDC iso
    -Rock Band Track Pack iso (or up to 18 of any song files) NOT Rock Band 2!
    -Trucha Signer (dont ask about Trucha in this thread look here http://gbatemp.net/index.php?act=ST&f=108&t=76657 )
    -ArkTool and GH2 DTB Editor (included in download)
    -ImgBurn or other burning program
    -A method of playing backups and trucha signed discs (GeckoOS)

    1. Obtain a Rock Band ACDC iso and open it in Trucha Signer
    2. Navigate to the second partition "R33E69" and then the folders "ROOT/gen" and extract the two files main.hdr and main_0.ark to a new directory

    If you already have your custom song files skip to step 5

    3. Obtain a Track Pack or Rock Band 1 and open it in Trucha Signer
    4. Navigate to the second partition "R33E69" and then the folders "ROOT/gen" and extract the two files main.hdr and main_0.ark to a new SEPERATE directory from ACDC

    5. "Run ac_trk.exe" and choose your two working directories
    6. press "get" to extract song files from main_0.ark

    If you are using custom songs now you should put your song folders in your Track Files directory in a subfolder "songs"

    7. Press "name" to read the directory names of the songs
    8. Ensure that there are the same amount of song files in each list and press "size" to sort songs by size
    9. Press "rename" to begin the renaming process and overwrite the ACDC files with the new custom ones

    If you dont wish to change your song names you may skip to step 15

    10. Run "GH2DTBEdit_unencrypted.exe" and open the file in your ACDC folder "/songs/gen/songs.dtb"
    11. Using the list provided as reference change the songs titles (there is a "name" and "artist" folder for each song)
    12. Use "ArkToolGui.exe" to open your ACDC directory and navigate to "/songs/gen/songs.dtb"
    13. right click "songs.dtb" press "Replace File" and choose your edited "songs.dtb"
    14. File>Save and exit ArkToolGui

    15. Once again open your ACDC iso in Trucha Signer

    Now it is highly reccomended you remove videos or the songs will drag on at the end until the video finishes
    If you dont wish to remove the videos skip to step 17


    16. Navigate to the second partition R33E69 and then the folders "ROOT/videos" and replace each song video file with "blank.bik" included

    17. In the folder "ROOT/gen" replace the "main.hdr" and "main_0.ark" with the modified files in the ACDC directory
    18. Right click on the the second partition "R33E69" and click "Trucha Sign It!"

    19. Close Trucha Signer and burn iso with the program of your choice


    ACDC Track Replacer Kit
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=4654

    Trucha Signer Download
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=1909


    This may work with discs other than ACDC as the target but it is untested
     


  2. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    So this make the GH guitar work in RB1?If so, THANK YOU!! I've been meaning to do this for a while now, but I've been so caught up with customs and never got around to it [​IMG]

    Edit: Nevermind, just read the whole thing. Still on my to-do list [​IMG]
     
  3. assassda
    OP

    Member assassda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    no but this allows you to play the songs from rock band 1
     
  4. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I guess that's still good. If anyone asks for a RB Mod for GH controller from me, I'll just tell them about this [​IMG]
     
  5. Phratt

    Member Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States
    Do you think there'll ever be an easy way to make GH or RB customs? like a Wadder type program?

    Also, do you know any place i can go for custom requests?

    (Im asking you Mrkinator because you seem to be the ambassador of all things Rock band)
     
  6. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    There Is one for Guitar Hero called the GHOST (Guitar Hero Open Source Tool). I asked at scorehero.com If they could make one for Rock band and they didn't really give me a straight answer. I'm no coder, but if I can get one to code and all-in-one program for me, that be awesome.

    Go to rockband.scorehero.com and go to software, there should be a request thread and a thread with customs already made.
     
  7. assassda
    OP

    Member assassda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    Thats what this program does. maybe people arent understanding what this is [​IMG]
    This makes replacing songfiles with Arktool only take a few clicks and is great for customs
     
  8. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    But my understanding is that it only works with AC/DC? I'll read your instructions properly and download this [​IMG]
     
  9. George290506

    Member George290506 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Hellas, Macedonia
    Country:
    Greece
    This is geat but will this work for the PAL one? I think so but I have to test it...
     
  10. rc11982

    Newcomer rc11982 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    Now this is awesome.... 1 Step closer to my Foo Fighters Disc.
     
  11. assassda
    OP

    Member assassda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    No unfortunately Arktool does not support PAL Rock Band, sorry
     
  12. badbwai

    Newcomer badbwai Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Canada
    Question: Instead of removing the videos, can I add like my own video?
    If so, may I ask how? I doubt it though.
    Just wondering.
     
  13. assassda
    OP

    Member assassda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    download RAD Video Tools and Click "Bink it" and make sure the dimensions are the same
     
  14. kid sampson

    Member kid sampson GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    By following this tutorial, will the imported tracks still contain all their parts: guitar, bass, vocals, and drums? Also will all the modes still work or are there extra steps to ensure that those features aren't broken?

    Thanks.
     
  15. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    No, just follow the steps and everything should be fine.
     
  16. kid sampson

    Member kid sampson GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone tried following this tutorial and successfully created a working disc? I've tried three times now and every disc I produce crashes after loading, returning a disc error.

    I'm on 3.2 U and trying to import songs from the Rock Band Track Pack Volume 2, with no luck. I think on my next attempt I'll skip trying to rename the files and replace the videos just to verify that those are not the steps that are making my discs faulty, but before wasting another disc, can anyone assure me that they've had success with this tutorial?

    Thanks.

    If nothing else, I'll hold out hope that Mrkinator works out a song importer for Rock Band 2 soon, and continue purchasing some of this content through DLC in the meantime to hold me over.
     
  17. doughD

    Newcomer doughD Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I was having the exact same issues, and I'm also on 3.2U with a chip. The game would give an error right on boot though you could see the title in the Disc Channel. As it states in the beginning of the instructions you must have "A method of playing backups and trucha signed discs (GeckoOS)," and this was my solution. I booted the game in GeckoOS and it worked beautifully. Oh and a tip if GeckoOS isn't booting: take your Gamecube Memory Cards out!

    Big thanks to the coders for this, I've been frustrated for a while as I have 2 guitar hero guitars! I was so happy I registered just to thank you guys!
     
  18. kid sampson

    Member kid sampson GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, doughD. That solved my problem as well. Since I have a chip and everything else had played on my system, I didn't figure I'd have to use Gecko to load this disc. Any reason for that? As I said, I'm also on 3.2, which should load trucha-signed games, right? Just asking, as all of the other GH customs I have load without going through Gecko.

    And did you happen to leave the video files in without replacing them with the blank one that was provided? After playing the game with a black background, I kind of wish I hadn't modified those files, even though the tutorial says the song will drag on at the end. Just wondering if there isn't a way to just extract and replace the video files with those from the track packs so that you don't have a blank background. In theory, is there any reason why that wouldn't work?
     
  19. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    Go to trucha and extract the video file for that song [​IMG]
     
  20. kid sampson

    Member kid sampson GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    So replacing the video files worked well, but for anyone who does this, it seems as though something in the process causes the game to lock up if you attempt to play career mode. Otherwise, everything seems to be working fine.

    Mrkinator, if you ever create one of these discs using this tool, let us know if yours also has problems booting once signed and burned. For some reason this process creates a disc that's unplayable from the Wii menu. The author, assassda, says he has the same issues and has to boot through either Gecko or Gamma, which shouldn't be necessary with 3.2.

    It will eventually load through one of those two methods but those take a minute or so to load these.
     

Share This Page