A Bug in the Birthday system

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by Fishaman P, Mar 13, 2012.

Mar 13, 2012
  1. Fishaman P
    OP

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,181
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    So, it's my birthday today! :toot:

    Anyway, I entered the month and day of my birth, but not my year (to protect my identity).
    So, the front page interpreted my DOB to be in year 0. As a result, it claims I am 2012 years old.

    I suggest using a simple question mark to denote an undefined age.
     
  2. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Happy birthday! IIRC you can set your age then change it to hidden afterwards, though it will not display your birthday (correct me if I'm wrong).
     
  3. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,930
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Happy b-day Fisha!
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    they could add a check box to keep the year private. that way the bday code doesn't need to be fixed, just the profile display code.

    -another world
     
  5. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    The title of this topic sounds like it would be a great song.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, now you've said it it sorta reminds me of this:
    [yt]IfeyUGZt8nk[/yt]
     
    2 people like this.
  7. Fishaman P
    OP

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,181
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Even if there was such a "Hide Age" checkbox (which there isn't, I checked) the Birthday code would still have to be updated to support it, so why not just fix it in the first place?

    BIRTHDAY STREAM TOMORROW AT 7PM EST!
    http://www.twitch.tv/fishamanp
     
  8. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i'm pretty sure it would have nothing to do with the birthday code. it would just hide it when someone clicks on your profile. You would continue to show up it the bday box because the year is there its just hidden from view.

    -another world
     
  9. Fishaman P
    OP

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,181
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    But when it shows up in the B-Day box, would it show my actual age or 2013?

    Nonetheless, such an option does not exist yet, and I cannot begin to comprehend the complexity of GBAtemp's code.
     
  10. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    It should be fixed on the portal now. It didn't check whether the year was 0, so it just always did "currentyear - year".
    On other places it should already hide the age if no year is chosen (at least from what I've seen).

    Also, you shouldn't be worried about the complexity of the code and all, that's my problem :lol:
     

Share This Page