1080p Videos on my hardware

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Raki, Nov 19, 2009.

Nov 19, 2009

1080p Videos on my hardware by Raki at 5:08 PM (978 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Raki
    OP

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    Heya,

    Currently I'm running a Pentium D 830 at 3 Ghz, 1 GB DDR2 RAM and a Geforce 9600GT

    I'm running various 1080p video material. Most low bitrate stuff works perfectly well, but everything with higher bit rate stutters horribly
    My guess atm is, that everything is managed by the CPU and this old Pentium D won't cut it.
    But shouldn't the 9600GT manage the HD video playback? is there some trick behind it?
     
  2. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,465
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    It does depend if the video playback is managed by the GPU pipeline thingies.
    I'm not 100% sure, but I think the HD compatibility of the graphics card is that it can output it, for the computer to process the video is another task...

    I think the RAM might have something to do with it also... but I'm not sure.

    But I'm pretty sure that the processor is what holds you up. If you have a 3 feet hole in a wall, and stand on one side shooting with a water gun through the hole, it won't become a 3 feet stream...
     
  3. logical thinker

    Member logical thinker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    Japan
  4. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
  5. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    CoreAVC does not, afaik, have hardware acceleration. Media Player Classic has had hardware decoding for a while now. Try downing the latest CCCP and check if that helps.
     
  6. Raki
    OP

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    well I tried this and it plays perfectly, but I cannot use the subs in the MVK file then...meh
     
  7. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You could try:
    Launch MPC > Click "View" > Click "Options" > Select "External
    Filters" > Click the "Add Filter" button > Select "DirectVobSub
    (Auto-loading version)" > Click "Ok" > On the right hand side, click
    the radio button for "Prefer" > Click "Ok" > Exit MPC and Restart MPC.
     
  8. Raki
    OP

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    that one works, but now the sound is lagging
     
  9. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You could check out how your CPU load is holding up while playing your video files with the subs on like I described and how they run without. VobSub doesn't do anything with your audio afaik, so I'm guessing your CPU isn't pulling it (you could of course try to OC it a little if it is only just underpowered [​IMG]). AFAIK, but I have yet to personally test / push that, your system should be able to run it without any problems (as a single core atom, together with a 9400M can too) (not a clue how much VP2 and 4 differ).

    I've tried running full HD material on my Amd athlon 64 3200+, together with a (agp) HD2400pro which it didn't really like (read, 720 went without a hich but 1080 only low bit rate stuff) but that had less hardware decoding afaik. But that system is currently not built anymore (and when I do build it up again I'm gonna see if I can get OSx running on it (too)).
     
  10. Raki
    OP

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    well it just goes up to about 70% actually (with minor stuff in the background)...maybe some other problem?
     
  11. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    The newer versions have support for nvidia. But he might not even need the hardware support. I ran relatively high bitrate 720p files on my Intel Atom netbook.... WITHOUT overclocking.
     

Share This Page