Hacking Xbox detecting external HDD problem

mario41001

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 3, 2008
Messages
120
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
????
XP
279
Country
Canada
recently my xbox 360 hasn't been detecting my external had drives plugged into them on freestyle they worked yesterday and I can view them in the xboxes normal settings anyone know whats wrong and how I can get them to appear again ?
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,493
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
22,530
Country
Antarctica
I think that it's in the settings tab.
If that doesn't work then you can try to reinstall FSD.

In the worst case you'll have to reformat your drive but if it still works perfectly in windows/other OSses then it's FSD.

I haven't done it since mine never actually acted up.

Oh, have you tried other USBports?
The back one?
 

mario41001

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 3, 2008
Messages
120
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
????
XP
279
Country
Canada
Tried everything and still nothing. Works perfectly fine though on my computer though and the xbox still detects it just not FSD should I still try and reformat? Also switching usb ports didnt help either :c
 

mario41001

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 3, 2008
Messages
120
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
????
XP
279
Country
Canada
No it can only find the one with FSD on it but both of them work perfectly fine on my computer which is why i dont understand
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,493
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
22,530
Country
Antarctica
It could be that it's the 360 itself thats acting up.

Do you have it jTAGged or RGH'd and Dualbooted?

Otherwise you could install FSD on your internal drive (it's upgradeable without any problem) and place some games there.
It's way faster then USB + it frees up space near your 360 and lets you use the HDD for other things ;p
But those are my two cents and I can't decide for you.
 

mario41001

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 3, 2008
Messages
120
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
????
XP
279
Country
Canada
oh ok I think I'll just pick up a transfer cable and put my games on that way (it will work right?) and my console is RGH'd anyways thanks for the help though
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,493
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
22,530
Country
Antarctica
I'd get a USB and format it for the 360.
Then transfer all your saves on it.

Or FTP into your 360 and back it up from there

Then you can format your internal HDD (or upgrade it and restore the Xbox emulator)
Then install FSD and FTP into your 360 and dump all your games/saves back on it ;]
 

tbgtbg

Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
1,995
Trophies
1
XP
988
Country
United States
Have you tried scanning the drive when it's connected to the PC? It's possible you lost/corrupted some data the 360 loaders rely on but that your PC isn't as sensitive to.

Also, this is a FAT32 primary partition, right? You say it was working before, so it would've had to be, but if you went changing partitions or something, that could've messed things up.

Just throwing out some ideas, hope you get stuff working.
 

Gaurang

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 16, 2015
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
41
Country
India
I having the same issue as well! My external hard drive was working fine 2-3 days ago. Now when i connected it to my xbox yesterday it shown as "Unformatted" inside Storage Devices. And XEX Menu and FSD not detect it either. And it is Formatted in FAT32 its a HGST Touro 500GB.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,493
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
22,530
Country
Antarctica
Seems like it's corrupted.

You could see if you can restore the MBR, other then that, reformat it.

Or think about upgrading the internal HDD and putting everything on that.
 

Gaurang

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 16, 2015
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
41
Country
India
Ok thank you:). You're right I have tried connecting with other Xbox 360 as well and the same happens. My Internal HDD its also a 500GB and is full :( sadly i'm not sure if i can get bigger one. :( But only thing i don't get if it is corrupted, the same external HDD is still working totally fine on PC. And how i can restore the MBR.
 
Last edited by Gaurang,

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,493
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
22,530
Country
Antarctica
You can upgrade it to a max of 2TB.
Make sure it's a 9mm thick one (10mm also might work)
Just a standard laptop harddisk.

I wouldn't know how to restore the MBR without formatting the entire drive.
Google it I guess?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Not a whole lot, just finished playing Helldivers 2 for a bit. Bout to go to sleep soonish, probably. hbu?
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Sicklyboy, I'm doing well
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Its 9 in the morning for me, everybody is heading off to sleep.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    4 AM here
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Damn. Get some sleep dude.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I always stay up late. And then gotta wake up at 9 for work lmao
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @wolffangalchemist, What programmer did you use for this?
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Make sure that the OSC value does not change when you load the hex, as it can brick the chip.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Sicklyboy, Ngl, insomnia sucks for me.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Last night I have gotten better at sleeping than usual.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    My insomnia has gotten a bit better since quitting my last job. Probably the reduction in stress
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I think I've discovered recently that even though caffeine doesn't have much of a noticeable effect on me, I think it does completely stop me from going to sleep if I drink any late enough. So I'm being a bit more cautious about that now
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    My insomnia has to do with how my anxiety and stress worsened up in the past few weeks.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    I don't drink as much caffeine like I used to.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    There have been days where I feel refreshed, then a couple or so hours in, my mood starts to take a toll.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I've had stuff like that happen to me from time to time. Shit sucks
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Damn yeah true
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    It does suck a lot
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    Guess I'm not the only one suffering from insomnia
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    One of the uncensored voice clips for Sailor Mouth leaked.
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    krabs is a motherfucker?
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    :huh::O:ohnoes: Stay Away ! :(:angry:
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    🦀 🦀 BakerMan has 🦀 🦀 🦀 !
    +1
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: +1