ROM Hack [WIP] The Fourth Dimension: A Super Mario 3D land level editor

exelix11

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
915
Trophies
1
Location
C:\users\exelix11\
XP
3,062
Country
Italy
I'll try to implement these changes, i already have an idea on how to move the c0list editor in the main window, not sure about nested children.
But not before the end of the week, in this period i'm really busy with school, so... stay tuned ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: mustafag32g

exelix11

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
915
Trophies
1
Location
C:\users\exelix11\
XP
3,062
Country
Italy
upload_2016-11-11_15-33-59.png

Got working both the multi object property editor and the C0List editing, but i'm not releasing yet, mainly because the C0List editing required a LOT of changes, so there is a lot to test.

If someone would like to help testing, compile the latest commit from github and if you find a crash PM me the way you got it to crash (if you know how to use visual studio, send also a screenshot of the code with the exception).
The biggest changes were in the clipboard code and the undo stuff, try messing around with those.
 

Louis Miles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
131
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
759
Country
Germany
Looks nice!
But how exactly do i start this build? Do i have to inject some files into the latest release, or do i have to use Visual Studio?
(Sorry if this is a stupid question :P)
 

exelix11

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
915
Trophies
1
Location
C:\users\exelix11\
XP
3,062
Country
Italy
Looks nice!
But how exactly do i start this build? Do i have to inject some files into the latest release, or do i have to use Visual Studio?
(Sorry if this is a stupid question :P)
From github download the zip of the repo, then open the .sln file in visual studio and click the run button, maybe tomorrow i'll post a compiled beta version.
 

mustafag32g

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2014
Messages
806
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
2,331
Country
Argentina
Also exelix I looked at the file structure of some 3d world objects and compared the same objects in 3d land. The info inside is almost the same however I know 3d world uses big endian and 3d land uses small :P. Would it be possible to port some objects over :P ?
 

exelix11

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
915
Trophies
1
Location
C:\users\exelix11\
XP
3,062
Country
Italy
Also exelix I looked at the file structure of some 3d world objects and compared the same objects in 3d land. The info inside is almost the same however I know 3d world uses big endian and 3d land uses small :P. Would it be possible to port some objects over :P ?
As far as i understood on how objects work, each object in the CCNT is linked to what the file calls "class", that most probably means a class in the code, so no, unless there is already the same class implemented in 3d land's code.

Anyway you can experiment, to convert a byml from big endian to little endian drag it over the4Dimension.exe and you just need to change this line in the editor: <isBigEndian Value="False" /> (it's not a value of the byml, it'is a flag the editor adds to the xml)
 

Louis Miles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
131
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
759
Country
Germany
Oh! Visual Studio is bigger than 8 GB!!:unsure: I think i have to wait...
For the multi object properties, i would recommend, that selected objects are marked, so you see exactly, which objects are selected ;)
Something like this:
pndmId1.png

sorry for big picture !
 
Last edited by Louis Miles,

Louis Miles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
131
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
759
Country
Germany
Found out a new camera code !
This camera is like the frozen camera from Mario 64 !

Frozen Camera:
This camera is similary to the fixed camera, but the camera does not look at a specific point, it looks at Mario and follows him by only rotating the view. It's like the frozen camera in Super Mario 64!

Code:
        <C1 Name="CameraPos">
          <D2 Name="X" StringValue="XXXX" />
          <D2 Name="Y" StringValue="YYYY" />
          <D2 Name="Z" StringValue="ZZZZ" />
        </C1>
        <A0 Name="Category" StringValue="Map" />
        <A0 Name="Class" StringValue="FixPos" />
        <D1 Name="UserGroupId" StringValue="XY" />
        <A0 Name="UserName" StringValue="CameraArea" />

CameraPos: Camera's position
UserGroupId: The camera ID

Here are other camera codes:
http://neomariogalaxy.bplaced.net/?page=thread&id=274#post2231
 

exelix11

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
915
Trophies
1
Location
C:\users\exelix11\
XP
3,062
Country
Italy
It took more than expected but here it is, this adds also highlighting selected objects and some other minor stuff.
Since it's not fully tested save often, don't relay too much on undo, and, if you want to help debugging crashes,add EnableDebugDumps.reg to the registry, this will enable saving debug infos to C:\T4D_Dumps if the editor crashes, the other reg file disables it.
Dumps are about 100mb, but with a good compressor (i use 7zip) you can reduce them to 25mb or so
Dumps are generated by windows itself, don't contain any personal information, only some details about the computer, like timezone, architecture, the path of the editor and the list of modules loaded at runtime, if you use this, make sure the editor name is "The4Dimension.exe" or else it won't work.
So if the editor crashes you can send me the dump so i can quickly see what went wrong.

Is it also possible to add a romfs and cia generator? That would make testing faster :download:
A while ago i thought about adding a button that built the 3ds and automatically run it in citra, but I was never able to build a working 3ds nor a cia :/
I think the fastest way would be making a batch file that does everything.
 

Attachments

  • Build.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 239
  • Like
Reactions: Louis Miles

Louis Miles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
131
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
759
Country
Germany
Ok, it's really nice! Children Editing is now REALLY, REALLY GOOD! It's sooo easy now. And also multi object property editing is really nice! I would suggest the option, to select multiple objects also in the model view, maybe selecting more object while holding shift.
I also like the idea to view a yellow square around selected objects!
I really often get an error when trying to undo, especially when editing Childrens. That's the only error i got.

And another suggest: We know if we hold CTRL and ALT, we can move the object every 100 units. Do you could implement the feature, to also move an object every 50 units? Maybe when holding only the ALT button?

Anyway, good job! ;D
 

exelix11

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
915
Trophies
1
Location
C:\users\exelix11\
XP
3,062
Country
Italy
Ok, it's really nice! Children Editing is now REALLY, REALLY GOOD! It's sooo easy now. And also multi object property editing is really nice! I would suggest the option, to select multiple objects also in the model view, maybe selecting more object while holding shift.
I also like the idea to view a yellow square around selected objects!
I really often get an error when trying to undo, especially when editing Childrens. That's the only error i got.

And another suggest: We know if we hold CTRL and ALT, we can move the object every 100 units. Do you could implement the feature, to also move an object every 50 units? Maybe when holding only the ALT button?

Anyway, good job! ;D
Can you explain what actions you try to undo when you get the error ? Or do that crash dump thing and send me the files ?
I can easily add snapping every 50 units, probably multi selection from the 3d view too, but dragging multiple objects may be a little tricky to pull out.

Also two new hotkeys were added, press C to directly edit the children objects of the selected object and B to go back while editing a C0List
 

StarLight42

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
71
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
216
Country
United States
I'm having a problem. Whenever I add "tinyplanet" to the CCNT it must delete itself or something right after I save because the planet won't show up on my game. It's weird because the planet worked for Louiskovskie when he added it to his CCNT so i honestly have no idea what's wrong.

To be clear, the planet just doesnt show up at all ingame, Mario falls through a void of nothingness.
 

Louis Miles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
131
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
759
Country
Germany
Can you explain what actions you try to undo when you get the error ? Or do that crash dump thing and send me the files ?
The error happens, when i changed the position of an object and try to undo. A very strange thing is, that there does not happens an error, when the object's position was changed in the properties.
And also, it is not possible to undo actions, that was made via changing properties of multiple objects.
There is also a bug with the yellow square when undo:
sQY7m76.png

I can't find the crash dump files! C:\T4D_Dumps doesn't exist, though i clicked on the enablefile.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Ninty can still make money filing false DMCAs.
    +1
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    they need to have a strong line up on the launch titles too. I think they should move metroid prime 4 to the next console because by now it has been quite a while and there's no release date scheduled yet
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    lol there's a guy selling mig switch in usa on ebay for $200/ea he's definitely going to get nailed with dmca by tomorrow
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    Wasn't Metroid Prime 4 teased all the way back in 2017? For the switch no less?
    :rofl2:
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    Pretty sure anyone buying the switch just for that got duped
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    for $200? rofl.
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    well as far as metroid prime 4 is concerned, the next system probably is similar enough to the current gen they can probably easily just slap it onto a next gen cart and call it good :P
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    The switch was about 350 in 2017
  • Metoroid0 @ Metoroid0:
    mabe where you live
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Nintendo president Tatsumi Kimishima took the stage at the outset to reveal that Switch will launch globally on March 3, 2017 for $299.99—earlier than some had expected at the price many suspected. https://time.com/4632820/nintendo-switch-nx/
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The NES launched at like 250 and the rob and light gun kit was like 350 or something
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I was near the test market for the NES and man did it make my 2600 look like ass lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    There has to be some mutual agreement with them all anything over $600 is just pc territory
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    next system rumored to launch at $400
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    but I don't really believe any rumors yet
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    need to have official info from N
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The 3DO and Neo Geo where like 700 bucks hmm the PS3 was stupid expensive at launch lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    But at least the PS3 was only 500 for the cheapest one at launch
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    My opinion is that 199.99 is the sweet spot but that spot is long gone lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Just played some Micheal Jackson Moonwalker.... Those poor parents trying desperately to protect their children
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    400 is a decent sweet spot if we get enough out of it
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It's not like how it was when we were locked down to a few options and that's it
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    For me just buying a Pi and some accessories fills that not a PC void new consoles have just put them close to PC prices and all the patching and updates makes me feel like I might as well just get a PC
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Were talking new Gen consoles at launch here
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Were talking new Gen consoles at launch here