What is the best 1TB HDD for the usb loader?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by JJBro1, Apr 13, 2009.

Apr 13, 2009
  1. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    I checked the compatibility list but it seems like not everyone reported. So which is the best because I almost bought one the other day at fry's but i was afraid it wouldn't work for the usb loader so i decided to do a little more research.
     


  2. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    problem is you'll only be able to use 512 GB of it since usbf only reads max 512gb.
     
  3. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    You don't need 1TB for the loader... I've a 500Gb for my wii only and 61 games doesn't take more than 200GB. Take a smaller 2.5" and use it for you wii only (separate harddrive for separate usage: best way to backup and don't lose you isos if the disc crash)
     
  4. wiigee

    Member wiigee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    currently using a wd 1tb drive partitioned into 2 halves (500gb for wii, 500gb ntfs)

    so far 230 games on it, 360gb used
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the loader can't write to such a large partition (yet)
    but if you use a pc application to put games on the hdd, it will work and the loader will be able to read them
     
  6. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    usb loader WRITES to a max of 512GB but READS fine
    edit: like he ^ said
     
  7. Jeomite

    Member Jeomite GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    So... is it possible to have a single 1TB WBFS partition; use a PC app like WBFS Manager to add games (and not use USB Loader to add games)?

    In short, does the 512GB limit apply only to the USB Loader app; will the USB Loader app read past 512GB?
     
  8. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    2x yes
     
  9. priapism

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    i'm also interested in knowing what HDD is the best to use with the USB Loader. .

    best 1TB?
    best 500GB?

    what is everyone using? i want to buy one that has no problems at all reading ISOs.
     
  10. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    I am currently using a 1TB WD Essentials drive with a 340GB WBFS partition for the loader, 10GB FAT32 for wads, and the rest NTFS for ISO images copied from the WBFS partition. So far, I haven't had any problems, not even the spindown issue reported by some other people.
     
  11. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Make sure you grab the latest wbfs manager, it has the corruption fix (should you ever use it to delete games)
     
  12. priapism

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    are other people getting the spindown issue with that exact drive? if so, i don't want it.
     
  13. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    I have the WD 1TB Essential, partitioned with 200GB for Wii games, 800GB NTFS. No issues with it at all; it works great for me.
     
  14. denpanosekai

    Newcomer denpanosekai Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Canada
    Whatever you do, don't get the Seagate Freeagent 1TB. It sucks. I wasted 5 hours trying to get it to work.
     
  15. greevedogg

    Newcomer greevedogg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    i would have to agree with den....
    i have a 1.5TB Seagate Freeagent xtreme and haven't been able to get it to work...
    500GB partitioned WBFS, the rest NTSC...formatted with WBFS.exe in XP, unable to be recognized wth any 1.1-1.4 loader.

    tried formatting to FAT32 but still get ERROR:NO partitions found! (ret = -6)

    DON"T GET A SEAGATE!
     
  16. BrandonG777

    Newcomer BrandonG777 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Country:
    United States
    Not 1TB, but this is what I ordered...

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822136263

    WD My Passport 320GB
    Doesn't need an external power source
    It's white, matches the Wii
    It's small and lightweight

    Being able to plug it without messing with a power source is very nice, since I can just disconnect plug into my Linux server and dump ISOs straight to the drive. I was going to go the 1TB route but it's really overkill, I have the 320GB loaded with all the games I like, all the games my son likes and then some and I still have like 160GB free.
     
  17. Elfish

    Member Elfish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Country:
    Germany
    good to hear that the wd essential works just fine [​IMG]

    according to the wiki the wd elements 1tb works fine too.
    i might go for that.

    otherwise it makes me wonder if a 500gb drive is enough....
    i got like 200+ games :/

    on the other hand a 1tb drive is just 20€ more [​IMG]

    *doesn't know what to do [​IMG]*
     
  18. hdhacker

    Member hdhacker GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    It's not surprising that a 1.5 TB would have problems working with the Wii? I wouldn't say that's Seagate's fault. I have heard that the Seagate FreeAgent Go works with the Wii. And, you can turn off the spindown feature without opening the case. I'd probably go with that one instead of the Passport if I had to do it all over.
     
  19. Elfish

    Member Elfish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Country:
    Germany
    that western digital elements 1tb drive is the cheapest i can find [​IMG]
    are there any problems with the spindown time?
     
  20. sgwiiboy

    Member sgwiiboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a 320BG FreeAgent Go and I have had no problems with it all. I changed the power settings via PC and then formatted on the Wii and it's worked like a charm.

    Some people might want a bigger drive but to be frank, there are not enough good games to fill 320GB, let alone a TB.
     

Share This Page