Hacking What is the best 1TB HDD for the usb loader?

JJBro1

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Messages
849
Trophies
0
XP
518
Country
United States
I checked the compatibility list but it seems like not everyone reported. So which is the best because I almost bought one the other day at fry's but i was afraid it wouldn't work for the usb loader so i decided to do a little more research.
 

carbonyle

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
360
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Switzerland
Website
Visit site
XP
96
Country
Swaziland
JJBro1 said:
I checked the compatibility list but it seems like not everyone reported. So which is the best because I almost bought one the other day at fry's but i was afraid it wouldn't work for the usb loader so i decided to do a little more research.
You don't need 1TB for the loader... I've a 500Gb for my wii only and 61 games doesn't take more than 200GB. Take a smaller 2.5" and use it for you wii only (separate harddrive for separate usage: best way to backup and don't lose you isos if the disc crash)
 

wiigee

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
152
Trophies
0
XP
46
Country
currently using a wd 1tb drive partitioned into 2 halves (500gb for wii, 500gb ntfs)

so far 230 games on it, 360gb used
 

kedest

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
3,289
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
534
Country
Netherlands
Bladexdsl said:
problem is you'll only be able to use 512 GB of it since usbf only reads max 512gb.

the loader can't write to such a large partition (yet)
but if you use a pc application to put games on the hdd, it will work and the loader will be able to read them
 

Jeomite

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2006
Messages
224
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
United States
Website
Visit site
XP
372
Country
United States
So... is it possible to have a single 1TB WBFS partition; use a PC app like WBFS Manager to add games (and not use USB Loader to add games)?

In short, does the 512GB limit apply only to the USB Loader app; will the USB Loader app read past 512GB?
 

tj_cool

Site dev
Supervisor
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
10,063
Trophies
1
Location
This planet
XP
2,770
Country
Belgium
Jeomite said:
So... is it possible to have a single 1TB WBFS partition; use a PC app like WBFS Manager to add games (and not use USB Loader to add games)?

In short, does the 512GB limit apply only to the USB Loader app; will the USB Loader app read past 512GB?
2x yes
 

priapism

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 12, 2008
Messages
373
Trophies
0
XP
113
Country
United States
i'm also interested in knowing what HDD is the best to use with the USB Loader. .

best 1TB?
best 500GB?

what is everyone using? i want to buy one that has no problems at all reading ISOs.
 

nl255

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
2,973
Trophies
0
XP
2,417
Country
I am currently using a 1TB WD Essentials drive with a 340GB WBFS partition for the loader, 10GB FAT32 for wads, and the rest NTFS for ISO images copied from the WBFS partition. So far, I haven't had any problems, not even the spindown issue reported by some other people.
 

kedest

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
3,289
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
534
Country
Netherlands
Jeomite said:
So... is it possible to have a single 1TB WBFS partition; use a PC app like WBFS Manager to add games (and not use USB Loader to add games)?

In short, does the 512GB limit apply only to the USB Loader app; will the USB Loader app read past 512GB?

Make sure you grab the latest wbfs manager, it has the corruption fix (should you ever use it to delete games)
 

priapism

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 12, 2008
Messages
373
Trophies
0
XP
113
Country
United States
nl255 said:
I am currently using a 1TB WD Essentials drive with a 340GB WBFS partition for the loader, 10GB FAT32 for wads, and the rest NTFS for ISO images copied from the WBFS partition. So far, I haven't had any problems, not even the spindown issue reported by some other people.

are other people getting the spindown issue with that exact drive? if so, i don't want it.
 

imapterodactyl

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
424
Trophies
0
XP
55
Country
United States
priapism said:
nl255 said:
I am currently using a 1TB WD Essentials drive with a 340GB WBFS partition for the loader, 10GB FAT32 for wads, and the rest NTFS for ISO images copied from the WBFS partition. So far, I haven't had any problems, not even the spindown issue reported by some other people.

are other people getting the spindown issue with that exact drive? if so, i don't want it.

I have the WD 1TB Essential, partitioned with 200GB for Wii games, 800GB NTFS. No issues with it at all; it works great for me.
 

greevedogg

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
57
Country
United States
i would have to agree with den....
i have a 1.5TB Seagate Freeagent xtreme and haven't been able to get it to work...
500GB partitioned WBFS, the rest NTSC...formatted with WBFS.exe in XP, unable to be recognized wth any 1.1-1.4 loader.

tried formatting to FAT32 but still get ERROR:NO partitions found! (ret = -6)

DON"T GET A SEAGATE!
 

BrandonG777

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 15, 2009
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Tulsa, OK
XP
121
Country
United States
Not 1TB, but this is what I ordered...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16822136263

WD My Passport 320GB
Doesn't need an external power source
It's white, matches the Wii
It's small and lightweight

Being able to plug it without messing with a power source is very nice, since I can just disconnect plug into my Linux server and dump ISOs straight to the drive. I was going to go the 1TB route but it's really overkill, I have the 320GB loaded with all the games I like, all the games my son likes and then some and I still have like 160GB free.
 

Elfish

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
451
Trophies
0
Age
37
Website
Visit site
XP
520
Country
Gambia, The
good to hear that the wd essential works just fine
smile.gif


according to the wiki the wd elements 1tb works fine too.
i might go for that.

otherwise it makes me wonder if a 500gb drive is enough....
i got like 200+ games :/

on the other hand a 1tb drive is just 20€ more
ohmy.gif


*doesn't know what to do
wink.gif
*
 

hdhacker

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
437
Trophies
0
XP
287
Country
United States
nl255 said:
I am currently using a 1TB WD Essentials drive with a 340GB WBFS partition for the loader, 10GB FAT32 for wads, and the rest NTFS for ISO images copied from the WBFS partition. So far, I haven't had any problems, not even the spindown issue reported by some other people.

What's your hardware Revision Number (R/N)? I have a 500GB R/N: B7B that REQUIRED me to open it up to increase the spindown time. The newer B8B cannot be connected to a SATA port. On the plus side, maybe these revisions don't have a spindown issue?

greevedoggi would have to agree with den....
i have a 1.5TB Seagate Freeagent xtreme and haven't been able to get it to work...
500GB partitioned WBFS, the rest NTSC...formatted with WBFS.exe in XP, unable to be recognized wth any 1.1-1.4 loader.

tried formatting to FAT32 but still get ERROR:NO partitions found! (ret = -6)

DON"T GET A SEAGATE!

It's not surprising that a 1.5 TB would have problems working with the Wii? I wouldn't say that's Seagate's fault. I have heard that the Seagate FreeAgent Go works with the Wii. And, you can turn off the spindown feature without opening the case. I'd probably go with that one instead of the Passport if I had to do it all over.
 

sgwiiboy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
140
Trophies
0
XP
40
Country
hdhacker said:
nl255 said:
I am currently using a 1TB WD Essentials drive with a 340GB WBFS partition for the loader, 10GB FAT32 for wads, and the rest NTFS for ISO images copied from the WBFS partition. So far, I haven't had any problems, not even the spindown issue reported by some other people.

What's your hardware Revision Number (R/N)? I have a 500GB R/N: B7B that REQUIRED me to open it up to increase the spindown time. The newer B8B cannot be connected to a SATA port. On the plus side, maybe these revisions don't have a spindown issue?

greevedoggi would have to agree with den....
i have a 1.5TB Seagate Freeagent xtreme and haven't been able to get it to work...
500GB partitioned WBFS, the rest NTSC...formatted with WBFS.exe in XP, unable to be recognized wth any 1.1-1.4 loader.

tried formatting to FAT32 but still get ERROR:NO partitions found! (ret = -6)

DON"T GET A SEAGATE!

It's not surprising that a 1.5 TB would have problems working with the Wii? I wouldn't say that's Seagate's fault. I have heard that the Seagate FreeAgent Go works with the Wii. And, you can turn off the spindown feature without opening the case. I'd probably go with that one instead of the Passport if I had to do it all over.

I have a 320BG FreeAgent Go and I have had no problems with it all. I changed the power settings via PC and then formatted on the Wii and it's worked like a charm.

Some people might want a bigger drive but to be frank, there are not enough good games to fill 320GB, let alone a TB.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: I went with base model just because you can find 512gb ssds on eBay for like $60