Homebrew Updating Wii gamer card using homebrew

minus_273

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I have made a wii gamer card system that works like the xbox live and PSN equivalents because i doubt nintendo would ever do it. It piggybacks on the giantbomb database to get game boxart. As an example here is my gamercard (the backgrounds are customizable of course) :

I have been testing the card in beta for a few months and its open to the public now. I am shifting focus to wii end of things.

At the moment updates are done manually by searching for and clicking on the game name on the web page. Its not too tedious when using the nintendo channel, but eliminating that step entirely would bring this closer to parity with the live and psn cards. This is where homebrew would come in. I have made an API that consists of simple HTTP get calls that can be done from any homebrew application to update the users card. As long as you can connect on port 80 and send commands you can update someone's card provided you have the game name and user's secret key or username/password.

I have no experience developing anything on the wii so i am not sure what complications may arise. Would anyone like to help me test this out and iron out any bugs with the gamercard in the process?

For the interested, detailed documentation on how to update a card is here:
http://www.messageboardchampion.com/2009/1...e-from-the-wii/

minus_273

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
X D D X said:
Nice idea but it seems a bit complicated... I'd love to see where this project goes though.

Actually, its very simple. The gamer card is already setup and working. We just need an app on the wii to tell it when a new game is played.

its supposed to work like this:
1. set up application with username and password
2. play game(s)
3. run app to update the card

alternatively if you are using a launcher to play off a HDD or something, this would happen in the background automatically