Inherited red wii with a theme on it. Can i use modmii to mod like normal?

Marcomez18

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi, I'm very new to this all. I just wanna get started modding this red wii that i inherited. It looks to have a particular theme on it that l've tracked down to be the DarkWii Red Theme created by the Wii Theme Team. I wanted to know, if i go along with the ModMii process and just chose the original theme when setting up, would it brick my console? I've tried factory resetting the Wii but the darkWii red theme still remains. There is no sd card in the wii and there are no channels like homebrew. Any help is greatly appreciated

JuanMena

90's Kid, Old Skull Gamer & Artist
Trophies
XP
Country
Mexico
The first time I installed a Wii Theme wasin 2009 with PimpMyWii, and if I'm not mistaken, it had the option to remove themes... which I did after installing a Black Theme and getting bored of it quickly.

Some people advices against using PimpMyWii and to be honest I don't have many memories of using it aside of those two occasions. So be careful if you want to check PimpMyWii for Theme removal.

The only way a Theme can brick your Wii is by being a bad theme with wrong dimensions, formats, and whatnot, and installing themes for different regions (a PAL theme installed in a NTSC console).

On the other hand I've never utilized ModMii, but I'm sure it's author will actually let you know if such feature is implemented.

Last edited by JuanMena,

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Trophies
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
Country
Cyprus
It's totally safe to use modmii if u have a theme installed from before