Emulation Homebrew Oldies Using an SD Card as an EmuNAND

mechatron

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Australia
Hi All, Sorry I’m quite new to this all but i managed to mod my Wii recently with Homebrew/USBLOADER GX etc using a 512GB SD Card. I have over 170 GC and Wii games and everything works well (where the only storage device I’m using is the SD Card).

The issue I’m having are the Wii game data saves are still going to the internal Wii Block memory instead of onto the SD Card. I’ve set the save paths to a NAND folder on the SD Card but not sure what other settings I need to set. Am I meant to set “Memory Card Emulation” to ON? Also when I try to use EmuNAND Save Mode a message comes up stating “this setting doesn’t work in SD Card mode”. I’ve also tried to update USBLOADER GX but it says it’s up to date. In this version of USB LOADER GX, is it possible to use the SD Card as an EmuNAND/game save data storage device, or should I be using an external HDD for the game saves? Thanks everyone

Attachments

• IMG_0111.jpeg
    IMG_0111.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 48
  • IMG_0110.jpeg
    IMG_0110.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 44
  • IMG_0113.jpeg
    IMG_0113.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 41
  • IMG_0114.jpeg
    IMG_0114.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 41

blackb0x

Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
is it possible to use the SD Card as an EmuNAND/game save data storage device, or should I be using an external HDD for the game saves?
The setting won't work because the d2x cIOS doesn't currently allow writes to the SD card while a games being read from it.

If I'm ever able to get my hands on a USB Gecko then I'll attempt to resolve the problem. But until then you could try using a USB SD card reader?

morning_glory

Trophies
XP
Country
Australia
If I'm ever able to get my hands on a USB Gecko then I'll attempt to resolve the problem
Get me the going prices for these, & I'll see what I can do to help you to obtain one.