The Game Disc could not be read with backup launcher gamma

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by multiphrenic, Jan 21, 2009.

  1. multiphrenic
    OP

    Newcomer multiphrenic Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm on 3.2U, installed homebrew, installed the cIOS for Backup Launcher, then installed Backup Launcher Gamma. I've burnt a few games and initially I would get the error Disc Read Error from within Backup Launcher. I chucked my old DVDs and switched to Verbatim DVD-Rs, burning at 8x speed, and now I get past the Backup Launcher screen (it detects a game id, etc.) and now I'm stuck on "The Game Disc could not be read. Refer to the Wii Operations Manual for details."

    Any ideas? I've searched the forums, but haven't had any luck. Before I go and burn through my stack of DVD-Rs, I was hoping someone else might have some ideas.

    The games I've tried burning have been both PAL and NTSC. Right now I just tried Mario Kart NTSC and I'm still stuck.
     


  2. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what speed are you burning at and with what software, and are the dvds 100% dvd-r or might they dvd+r?
     
  3. 20clarky08

    Member 20clarky08 Official Wii Freak

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    ScouseLand
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if your gerrin read errors like that...

    can you list the games for us mate and also where you got the cios and loader you installed so we know your setup..

    and as nutta said, check them verbs.
     
  4. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    Most likely it is one of the following.
    1. Cios install didn't work properly, reinstall the cios
    2. Dvd burn speed resulting in low quality burns, increase burn speed to max or auto, and test disc quality with dvdinfopro using a pi po scan. quality needs to be at least 85% to rule out bad burns as a possibility.
    3. This one is very unlikely, but your burner may be changing the booktype to +R by default
     
  5. AndersDK

    Newcomer AndersDK Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Denmark
    I have the same problem [​IMG] Not solved completly, but I am patching the disc before burning (The same as by the old version 0.1).. I believe its a problem with the IOS... But can't get it solved.. But by patching the iso's I can play the games, mieght be the same problem you have.?
     
  6. 20clarky08

    Member 20clarky08 Official Wii Freak

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    ScouseLand
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sound like you got your loaders mixed up..

    re-install cIOS rev 7 waninkoko version. and get your self a new 002fix channel.
     
  7. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    are you issues happening at the same time as multiphrenic's or mid-game?
     
  8. multiphrenic
    OP

    Newcomer multiphrenic Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    I've tried Mario Kart and Wii Music. I'm using IMG Burn at 8x (max speed). IMG Burn confirms they are DVD-Rs. I've reinstalled the cIOS twice now. Checked IMG Burn's booktype settings, it's DVD-R.

    With Mario Kart, I do get to the warning screen that tells you to check your surroundings. With Wii Music it only freezes at a black screen.

    DVD Info says my burner doesn't support pipo. I did run an error test which came out clean.

    I reinstalled cIOS rev 7.

    Thanks alot for the quick replies!
     
  9. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    are the games the same region as your own
     
  10. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    How old is your burner? I personally wouldn't trust a burner that can't verify the quality of its burns. Is 8x the max of your media or your burner? If its the burner, then i'm 75% sure your problem is the burner.
     
  11. AndersDK

    Newcomer AndersDK Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Denmark
    Same time, just after the warning text.. never getting into playing the game.
    But as written, I can get all games to play but only when im patching them.?
     
  12. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland

    Yours sounds like you have the old cIOS installed - deleting ios249 with any title deleter and re-installing cios36 rev 7 should resolve your issue - though patched games may not work anymre for you.
     
  13. AndersDK

    Newcomer AndersDK Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Denmark
    With cIOS36 Rev 7? Dosn't matter not being able to play the patched games, just would be nie to have the Wii up to date would be nice.. [​IMG]
     
  14. AndersDK

    Newcomer AndersDK Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Denmark
    Now I have tried to delete the IOS249, and then installed the cIOS39... And still the same problem, only able to play the patched games..
     
  15. scarface12828

    Newcomer scarface12828 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    zomg im on this very same problem. SAME THING!!! im on 3.2U(after downgrading) and the same problems with me. Im am gonna try to reinstall rev7 and patch things up,cmon guys LET DO THIS!!!!

    im using the same things as well dvd-r verbatin disks.

    If anyone figures anything,post up,i will as well if i get it to work.
     
  16. scarface12828

    Newcomer scarface12828 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    ok i reinstalled it twice,no deal. Now im having some questions about patching. Are you guys atalkin about using the Cios installer to patch things up(the sonic thing) or ??? I dont recall using a patching thing,or maybe i forgot that i used it before. Ok next thing is what is the 002fix??? I dont recall using that either.

    As soon as someone answers those common questions,i'll try it again,thanks!
     
  17. MrSlut

    Newcomer MrSlut Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    If you're using a cIOS installer that has a sonic image on it, you're using the older one. Find wiigator's newer one, with a little gator on it.

    and just because it's on topic, I have rev7, and 002 fix loader. My games still run better when I patch to IOS249 (waninkoko's). Don't know why. Don't really care. it works, why worry about it?

    Oh, and it sounds like your burner is a little older. try experimenting with lower burn speeds, as a buddy of mine has the same issue with his burner. He burns between 2 and 4x, and gets no DRE's that way.
     
  18. scarface12828

    Newcomer scarface12828 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you MrSlut,i'll look for that version right now. On another note,can you tell me a way to uninstall apps? Do i place them in the WAD folder and uninstall as like that?
     
  19. scarface12828

    Newcomer scarface12828 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone have any updates for this?

    Im still kinda screwed here...i cant figure it out...I get as far as the loader reading the game id then it just blacks out...i dont know what to do...
     
  20. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    first off drop the burn speed slightly. Try using 3x or 4x max. If that fails then you will likely wnat to try a different brand of dvd. I've had no problems with Maxell DVD+R's with IMGBurn forced book type of DVD-R at 3x speed. I've copied many games that work great on this media.

    I know it says not to use DVD+R's However every time I use a DVD-R I have issues.......
     

Share This Page