1. mariosonicds

    mariosonicds GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    When i updated i was using hekate with nogo disabled, so idk whats happening for my switch not reading my cards.
     
  2. Alucardio

    Alucardio Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Hello guys, I'm currently having issues launching most games after hacking my switch for the first time.

    First I followed the nh hack guide, then applied the sig patches for atmosphere (the ones in this forum), then I set up tinfoil and nut for installing the games.

    I tried installing mario kart, civ vi, dq XI and only mario kart launches, all the others seem to install fine but then when I try to launch them it says "unable to start software". A blank software box also appears in the main menu which seems to be loading some image but never does anything.

    The weird thing is that MK launches fine but the others don't. Anyone knows what should I try? I'm thinking maybe I should use Kosmos, but I don't know how to make the switch from base atmosphere to kosmos, or if I should be doing something else... anyone have a clue? thanks

    edit: I forgot to mention that I'm on emunand on 9.1, with the latest base atmosphere/hekate release
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2019
  3. OfficialFBomb

    OfficialFBomb GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    591
    Country:
    United States
    Weird question.. Doing a backup.. Trying to get it off the SD and onto the computer.. The computer says there's not enough space to copy and that I need an additional 13 gb.. But I have plenty of hdd space..
     
  4. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,745
    Country:
    United States
    Judging by your post history and the fact that you are using PegaScape, you should be performing all manner of CFW in emuMMC. Only update emuMMC to play newer games. Never ever update sysMMC.
     
  5. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,861
    Country:
    Austria
    If you use hekate to boot, you need the sigpatches from Joonie. You can find the link to the sigpatches at the latest Kosmos release.
     
  6. JFizDaWiz

    JFizDaWiz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United States
    how do I go from Kosmos to vanilla atmosphere?
    I'm running emuMMC Kosmos (latest version)
    I attempted to remove everything except emuMMC folder, copied over latest atmosphere 0.10.1 package, injected fusee payload.

    i get atmopshere/sept bootscreen, then switch logo, then crash report.

    is there more to this?
     
  7. DonAndy321

    DonAndy321 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys,

    I am currently on switch system firmware 5.1.0 and using SX OS 2.5.3.
    I upgraded my SX OS a few months back and now would like to update the system firmware.
    I have understand using the choidujournx method is the way to go.

    My question is , is it safe to update 9.0.1 and is it safe to update straight to 9.0.1 from 5.1.0?
    Online play is not important to me.

    Thanks in advance
     
  8. CrisPy

    CrisPy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey guys.

    So I have an old switch that is firmware 2.0.0 (Europe) next to my normal switch I play all games on.
    And I wanted to the hack 2.0.0 Switch so I can play some of the local multiplayer games with my nephews.

    The problem I have now is the following:

    I am supposed to do a nand backup in case I somehow fuck up the whole hacking cfw etc.
    But I cannot use my SD cards. My 200GB my 128GB all require a system update. 32GB is insufficient for that as far as I understood.

    How do I proceed now? Do 64GB sd cards work? / What triggers the "update" notification? Size or type of SD card? Can I even do a nand backup if the SD is Fat32? 4GB Size limit isn't it?

    Help would really be appreciated :)

    Also whats the best way of /tutorial for doing the whole hacking in almost 2020?
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2019
  9. sandog

    sandog Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United States
  10. Alucardio

    Alucardio Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the reply!

    I don't know if we're making progress here, but I kept googling and found a post with someone like me that needed to put the keys file in the root of the SD card, I did that and now when I try to launch the game from tinfoil it won't say "unable to start software", but now I'm getting error 2155-8007.

    I've read about that error and it seems like my console failed to check for the game online or something? Anyway, is there anything I should try to bypass this?
     
  11. Tackskull

    Tackskull GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    France
    Hi there, I have a nintendo switch with the serial number starting in XAJ70013282*** and according to the serial number post in this forum, it should be safe to patch. Now, my switch is update to the latest firmware but I would like to install the cfw. So can I patch my switch even if have the latest update installed?
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2019
  12. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,861
    Country:
    Austria
    If your console is unpatched, you can hack it on any firmware. Atmosphere works for the latest firmware (9.1.0).

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Extract to the root: https://github.com/Joonie86/hekate/releases
     
    Alucardio and Lacius like this.
  13. DrDoctor

    DrDoctor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Getting sick of Atmosphere moving files around without explicitly saying how to properly update.

    Hekate just says "drag n drop bootloader folder into sd card root and hit replace. No need to delete that folder first, especially if you want your configs and payloads."

    What about Atmosphere 0.10.1? Should I just delete the whole old "atmosphere" folder first?

    How do I even use these new config templates?

    Edit: Deleting the whole folder would also delete the following folders:
    automatic_backups
    crash_reports
    fatal_reports
    titles

    Should I keep these?
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2019
  14. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,927
    Country:
    United States
    First, Atmosphere is very clear about the changes, and they happened for good reason.

    If you want to edit the BCT configuration file, it's in \atmosphere\config
    Anything else can be found in \atmosphere\config_templates, and then it needs to be moved into \atmosphere\config

    Unless there's something you don't like about the default settings, I recommended deleting the \atmosphere\ folder each time you update.
     
    DrDoctor likes this.
  15. DrDoctor

    DrDoctor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My issue is with the lack of clarity on how to update.
    I have some tiny tweaks, but it's hard to compare old and new files when they also change their names.
    In case anyone is looking for the same thing: "loader.ini" has been renamed to "override_config.ini"

    What about the folders that will also be deleted? Like the "titles" one and its contents?

    Update: The changelog for 0.10.0 has much more info about these changes. Here's hoping that the "titles" migration function works for me.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2019
  16. Alucardio

    Alucardio Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    I've done that before with the atmosphere files in that link (I'm assuming the kosmos patches are not for me since I'm running vanilla atmosphere).

    By the way, I'm just downloading the atmosphere files, extracting them inside the atmosphere folder and overwriting everything.

    I will extract them at the root this time and see how it goes! Will report back
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2019
  17. DrDoctor

    DrDoctor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From Atmosphere's "system_settings.ini":
    Code:
    ; Disable uploading error reports to Nintendo
    [eupld]
    ; upload_enabled = u8!0x0
    So, disabling this line disables the uploads, right?
    But it was enabled on previous releases...

    Cannot figure out how to change the button shortcut to open hbmenu from L to R.
    I've placed a copy of "override_config.ini" (which was previously called "loader.ini") on the "config" folder and edited it, but it refuses to work.

    Edit: L, LZ and RZ work, but not R. I'm confused. :\

    Edit #2: The problem is that the hbmenu now overrides the gallery by default, but I can't see to be able to reverse this behaviour.

    Edit #3: Figured it out, had to remove the exclamation marks from the buttons. I was still looking at the ini file as if the default behaviour was not opening hbmenu.

    (Sorry, I messed up and quoted myself instead of editing my post...)
     
  18. Tackskull

    Tackskull GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    France
    Ok guys, my new switch is arived right now. I moved my account from the old switch to the new one. Now I have to choose which cfw install to the old switch. Basically I want to play games backups and install HBG/shop. I can do this on every cfw? I know there is a cfw to buy, what are the disadvatages to install a free one?
     
  19. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,927
    Country:
    United States
    You can play game backups and install HBG on any CFW. Atmosphere is recommended, and it is free.
     
  20. Tackskull

    Tackskull GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    France
    Atmoshpere can read game's backups from external hard disk?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH