1. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,336
    Country:
    United States
    1. The RCM exploit is hardware dependent meaning it doesn't rely on the software of the Switch. In English, firmware is irrelevant
    2. Like I said, if your console was already on firmware 4.0 or higher without using that kip, then your cartridge slot has already been updated
    3. I linked them in my previous reply
    4. As explained in the first bullet point, it is a hardware exploit. There is no firmware update that will ever change your hardware.
     
    Lacius likes this.
  2. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,834
    Country:
    United States
    1. If it already ran cfw before you got it and the person never have gave you a nand backup then you don't have clean nand.

    2. If you want to use sx os, you have to pay for the license, you can delete atmosphere file on your sd as they are not installed on the system.
     
  3. hippotas98

    hippotas98 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Vietnam
    hi, i want to ask how to enable autorcm when updating sysnand firmware in system setting ???
     
  4. Vcliex

    Vcliex Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Indonesia
    do i need nand backup for installing sx pro?
    do my switch brick without nand backup for using another cfw like sx pro?
     
  5. FunkyK

    FunkyK Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    As a noob myself, let me try to answer your noobish question. Electronics are highly sensitive equipments. If you are altering the intended working of an electronic device then there is a high chance of malfunction because you are making it work in a way it was not meant to work. In simple terms, with hacking comes a chance of bricking. If you have a NAND backup then it's easier for you to restore a brick. If you do not have a backup and your Switch bricks then you will just have a very expensive paper weight. Always keep a backup of NAND for you never know when something bad happens to the Switch. You don't need a NAND backup to use SX Pro but it's strongly recommended.
     
    Last edited by FunkyK, Jul 6, 2019
  6. Tugay

    Tugay Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Turkey
    Hey guys, will the upgrading FW via ChoidujourNX causes your SD Card formatted? I have many nsps installed right now so it would be good to know before upgrading FW. Thank you.

    And I have already a nand backup (from the time my first Ams CFW 6.2.0 hack - months ago it was the latest CFW and OFW version) should I backup again or this older backup is enough?
     
    Last edited by Tugay, Jul 6, 2019
  7. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,336
    Country:
    United States
    Use the homebrew application ChoiDujourNX

    ChoiDujourNX does not format your SD card. You also do not need to make another NAND backup but if you can afford the extra space, you can choose to make another one when you update your firmware.
     
  8. Tugay

    Tugay Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Turkey
    Thank you much!

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    @Draxzelex sorry I forgot to ask. You said ChoidujourNX does not format SD card but does it format System memory? Should I do something about my game save files?
     
    Draxzelex likes this.
  9. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,336
    Country:
    United States
    ChoiDujourNX only formats the system memory when System Initialize is checked which is only required for downgrading across major firmware versions.
     
  10. Tugay

    Tugay Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Turkey
    It does not necessary in my situation then. Much appreciated!
     
    Draxzelex likes this.
  11. Vcliex

    Vcliex Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Indonesia
    i think i dont even have a chance to get NAND backup for now because already in cfw, hope still can use sx pro without any problem.
    thanks a lot
     
  12. suryavegeta12

    suryavegeta12 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello guys, I'm following the switch.homebrew.guide to install Caffeine on my ipatched Switch unit with 4.1.0 firmware and when I try to connect to the internet using the dns settings given in the website, it says "Could not perform DNS name resolution". I'm sorry if this is a wrong place to ask this question. But, can someone please help me with this?
     
  13. Ly-sAn

    Ly-sAn Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    France
    Hello,do you guys know how to safely make sure if my patched Switch has supernag or not? It's currently on 7.0.1 and it's been a long time on airplane mode but I'm not sure whether or not It was connected to internet when 8.0.0 came out.

    I've heard 7.0.1 could potentially be hacked as long as it doesn't have supernag.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  14. Crashdummyy

    Crashdummyy Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey Guys,
    I have a ( probably not ) tricky question I can't find any answer yet.

    - I bought my switch with FW 4.0.1 and only Updated through ChoiDujourNX
    - Before any tampering I made a Backup of my clean Nand.

    Now here is my Question:
    After atmosphere now provides a Emunand solution I want to switch to it.
    I have already installed like 400gb of Games ( all on the SD card )

    Can I migrate all Games/Saves to the Emunand and just restore my old 4.0.1 FW to my Sysnand?
    I don't want to install every Game again as I don't have every nsp anymore and the process itself consumes a lot of time.
     
  15. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,336
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure you entered the DNS settings properly?

    There is no way to tell without connecting to the Internet so you should wait until Deja Vu is ported to firmware 7.X. However that may take a long time which is why I recommend most users buy an unpatched Switch whether new or used.

    Make the emuMMC partition before restoring your clean NAND dump so this way emuMMC copies everything from your current sysMMC.
     
  16. Jroid3

    Jroid3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay, i got the Hekate payload and RCM working in TegraRCMGUI but it doesn't work. my battery is okay and i get the error code (RC=-99). I an't find much on google so i'm asking here. any help?
     
  17. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,834
    Country:
    United States
    It is nice to have a nand backup on hand in case something happens
     
  18. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,336
    Country:
    United States
    Use TegraRCMSmash instead of TegraRCMGUI.
     
  19. Jroid3

    Jroid3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tried, all that shows up is:

    "
    TegraRcmSmash (64bit) 1.2.1-3 by rajkosto
    Opened USB device path \\?\usb#vid_0955&pid_7321#5&1b2db561&0&2#{aa0dbd45-3117-f331-5c49-76bf65225042}
    "

    and doesn't do anything.
     
  20. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,336
    Country:
    United States
    Get your console out of RCM by performing a manual shutdown (holding the Power button for 12 seconds), boot the console back into RCM, and try again.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH