Hacking SWITCH NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

FloridaMan79

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
119
Country
United States
If you do not have a backup of your emuMMC, then you cannot recover it. To properly update Atmosphere is the same process regardless if you are using emuMMC or sysMMC; delete the old CFW files/folders and place the new ones on the SD card. Next time, do not use the AIO Updater app. They have always been known to be buggy and many other people have had issues after using it so I would stay away from it as well as any similar applications.

Thanks ! Nice to know updating root folders update both sysnand and EMUMMC. Before I start from scratch even though I still have the EMUMMC file type folder in the SD card there is no way to restore the EMUMMC with that folder still intact?
edit:

I made a 2nd EMUMMC but but it's not showing on Launch options . Heres what's on hekate_ipl.ini on my bootloader folder and emmummc.ini. Anyone want to take a stab on the missing code to add the path to emummc?

Hekate.ini
[config]
updater2p=1
{------ Atmosphere ------}
[Atmosphere FSS0 SYS]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
kip1=atmosphere/kips/*
emummc_force_disable=1
icon=bootloader/res/sys_cfw_boot.bmp
{}
{-------- Stock ---------}
[Stock SYS]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
stock=1
emummc_force_disable=1
icon=bootloader/res/stock_boot.bmp

xxxxxx

[emummc]
enabled=1
sector=0x0
path=emuMMC/SD00
id=0x0000
nintendo_path=emuMMC/SD00/Nintendo
 
Last edited by FloridaMan79,

FloridaMan79

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
119
Country
United States
Thanks ! Nice to know updating root folders update both sysnand and EMUMMC. Before I start from scratch even though I still have the EMUMMC file type folder in the SD card there is no way to restore the EMUMMC with that folder still intact?
edit:

I made a 2nd EMUMMC but but it's not showing on Launch options . Heres what's on hekate_ipl.ini on my bootloader folder and emmummc.ini. Anyone want to take a stab on the missing code to add the path to emummc?

Hekate.ini
[config]
updater2p=1
{------ Atmosphere ------}
[Atmosphere FSS0 SYS]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
kip1=atmosphere/kips/*
emummc_force_disable=1
icon=bootloader/res/sys_cfw_boot.bmp
{}
{-------- Stock ---------}
[Stock SYS]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
stock=1
emummc_force_disable=1
icon=bootloader/res/stock_boot.bmp

xxxxxx

[emummc]
enabled=1
sector=0x0
path=emuMMC/SD00
id=0x0000
nintendo_path=emuMMC/SD00/Nintendo

Wow was able to recover my emummc found the missing code from the updated hekate_ipl.ini found in this NH Switch Guide.

{------ Atmosphere ------}
[Atmosphere FSS0 EmuMMC]
fss0=atmosphere/package3
kip1=atmosphere/kips/*
emummcforce=1
icon=bootloader/res/emu_boot.bmp
{}
 

Gifted1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2006
Messages
499
Trophies
0
XP
483
Country
United States
Hello. I have a question. I recently ran across a video where they were talking about editing saves for the switch but the console had to be jailbroken. Now I have a SaveWizard for the PS4 that allows you to edit a save file and your PS4 doesnt have to be jailbroken. Is there a program like SaveWizard but for Switch? My Switch can't be jailbroken so I'm wondering if theres a way I can edit save files without jailbreaking. Thanks in advance.
 

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
10,756
Trophies
1
Location
Vector Industry
XP
5,742
Country
United States
Hello. I have a question. I recently ran across a video where they were talking about editing saves for the switch but the console had to be jailbroken. Now I have a SaveWizard for the PS4 that allows you to edit a save file and your PS4 doesnt have to be jailbroken. Is there a program like SaveWizard but for Switch? My Switch can't be jailbroken so I'm wondering if theres a way I can edit save files without jailbreaking. Thanks in advance.

Not for the switch at the moment, you need CFW in order to decrypt your save.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I lost my sd card so can I just set up a new one from scratch and it will work? If not, what can I do?

Yes you could as long you use the necessary files require to get up and running. You can follow the link below to set up vanilla atmosphere.

https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-hekate-chainload-vanilla-atmos.563255/

https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/releases/tag/1.0.0
https://github.com/CTCaer/hekate/releases/tag/v5.6.0
https://github.com/ITotalJustice/patches/releases/tag/12.1.0-1.0.0

For hekate_ipl.ini, for any lines that use fusee-secondary.bin, you must change that from fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin in hekate_ipl.ini must be changed to fss0=atmosphere/package3.
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
16,692
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,240
Country
United States
Wouldn't that be, presumably, the single bin in the warmboot_mariko dir? That got dumped, as far as I can tell.
Is that in the /atmosphere folder?
Maybe I wasn't clear enough. Firstly, I started atmo without migrating emummc (I didn't do that in the menu, just launched atmo) and I'm wondering if it started on the sysnand and if the sysnand is "dirty" or flagged by N now or it started on the emunand somehow (I had emunand created for sxos) - I want to have clean sysnad. That error/information (which isn't mentioned in the guide) occurred when I switched off device with atmo and went into menu once again, to migrate emummc (which should I do before starting atmo).
Well if you booted Atmosphere before migrating emuMMC, then it couldn't have possibly booted emuMMC because it wasn't migrated yet; Atmosphere doesn't magically boot on its own or anything.
 

NintenDoe

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
4
Country
Australia
Hey recently purchased a hackable switched and was wondering what guides I should follow for my criteria.

  • Want to transfer my saves and purchased games from current switch [1] to (to be hacked) switch [2]
  • Wanting to sell switch [1] and make switch [2] my primary switch.
  • Able to play online purchased games on hacked switch [2] whilst being able to play offline downloaded games.
Thanks for any responses. New to switch modding and was just overwhelmed with the amount of resources available and not sure which one to follow, since most people say to have a separate modded and clean switch.
 

pepoy

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
32
Trophies
0
XP
255
Country
Hi i havent updated my firmware since before pandemic. havent been able to touch my switch since then however now i see sxos is closed. i will restore my official firmware. is there anything i should be cautious before updating to official firmware? planning to get atmosphere also.
 

Hayato213

( -_・) ︻デ═一' * (/❛o❛)/
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
10,756
Trophies
1
Location
Vector Industry
XP
5,742
Country
United States
Hi i havent updated my firmware since before pandemic. havent been able to touch my switch since then however now i see sxos is closed. i will restore my official firmware. is there anything i should be cautious before updating to official firmware? planning to get atmosphere also.

Depends on your goal, if you update sysnand firmware above 11.0.0, you can no longer boot up SX OS, so if you want to continue use SX OS while able to use Atmosphere you need to make an emunand. No need to restore original firmware unless you have a clean firmware that you plan to use to go online..
 

Wookis

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 1, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
16
XP
14
Country
United States
Just hacked my switch yesterday, worked fine, but now it says “a fatal error has occurred. Press power to reboot the system.
Invalid GPT Signature
Did this ~5 times yesterday, worked fine. Can still boot into Hekate and stock.
Help?
EDIT: if it helps, one partition is 170gb FAT32 and other (for emunand) is 70gb unformatted. using emummc, sysmmc works perfect.
 
Last edited by Wookis,

Goku1992A

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2019
Messages
1,719
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,735
Country
United States
Think he misread your question in the first place, he probably talking stability of 12.1.0 CFW in general not on the topic of emulator.

Yeah Idk because I updated not to long ago to 11.0.1 firmware and everything works good. I do want to upgrade but I don't wanna mess up my setup because the last time I upgraded I had to delete all my stuff and it was a hassle.

Dont forget about the sig patches you gotta do that right also because it seems to change after each update
 

such

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 20, 2021
Messages
61
Trophies
0
XP
239
Country
Barbados
No, it got created in root, and stayed there. That's interesting, though. If it should be somewhere else I'll try moving it and see what happens.
Well, that didn't do me any good. Same errors. Could anyone share their correct path?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://youtube.com/shorts/mCVK2BkF6MQ?feature=share