1. toxic9

    OP toxic9 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    624
    Country:
    Hi everyone!

    I noticed lots of people are very confused how they should update their patches... Kosmos patches? Hekate Patches?! Atmos patches?!

    As asked by some users, here you have my set up and this simplifies everything.

    This is very simple tutorial on how to boot Vanilla Atmosphere via Hekate and use the Normal patches from the new thread from our friend @Raugo.
    You just need to do this once. Everytime a new release is out, you just need to update Atmos files + your patches from Here

    Note:
    This new patches thread replaces the no-more-updated old thread well known as "Sweet Patches".

    First, lets understand:

    1. Hekate comes with this folder structure:

    SD:\bootloader this folder have 4 sub-folders and no files.

    2. The 4 sub-folders are:

    SD:\bootloader\ini this folder is empty
    SD:\bootloader\payloads this folder is empty
    SD:\bootloader\res this folder have the default icons (resources)
    SD:\bootloader\sys this folder have system files (don't mess with them!)


    Then, lets configure Hekate to boot vanilla Atmosphere (+ Normal patches) and forget about those Hekate/Kosmos patches:

    1. Let's create the main configuration file:

    Create a new file hekate_ipl.ini inside bootloader folder:

    SD:\bootloader\hekate_ipl.ini

    Note:
    If you are a Windows user, be careful with the extension of the file. Google "how to view extensions for know file types".


    2. Inside this file you can copy/paste this text:

    [config]
    autoboot=1
    autoboot_list=0
    bootwait=3
    verification=1
    backlight=100
    autohosoff=0
    autonogc=1

    {------- Launch -------}
    [Atmosphere]
    payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin
    icon=bootloader/res/icon_atmosphere.bmp

    [Horizon]
    fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
    stock=1
    icon=bootloader/res/icon_horizon.bmp

    3. Then, you just need to put fusee-primary.bin inside payloads folder like this:

    SD:\bootloader\payloads\fusee-primary.bin


    4. You can create your own customized icon for Atmosphere and Horizon and put them on the res folder like this (You will have to learn how to create this BMP files or use the default ones, renaiming their names):

    SD:\bootloader\res\icon_atmosphere.bmp
    SD:\bootloader\res\icon_horizon.bmp

    5. You can also create your own bootloader screen and put it here (You will have to learn how to create this BMP file):

    SD:\bootloader\bootlogo.bmp


    And that's it! This simple configuration will let you:

    inject Hekate ----> See your custom bootlogo ----> Boot Vanilla Atmos + Normal Patches

    and forget about Kosmos/Hekate patches!

    If you press Vol - button while injecting, you can go to Hekate menu and check you configurations.
    You can boot Atmosphere and Horizon.

    Feel free to ask your questions.
     
    Last edited by toxic9, Apr 23, 2020
  2. f0li0

    f0li0 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Very helpful and appreciated, thanks.
     
  3. Tyvar1

    Tyvar1 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thank you!
     
  4. GeneX

    GeneX Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Very helpful. Thanks.
     
  5. claussm

    claussm Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2019
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    Nice write-up! I use this exact configuration but I had to figure it out with lots of fragmented info from here and Reddit so great that it's in one place now!

    One correction: I think to interrupt autoboot and jump into hekate it's "Vol -" not "+/-" while your splash is up.
     
    KeoniAzugon likes this.
  6. blinky87

    blinky87 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you! That clears things up a lot.
     
  7. toxic9

    OP toxic9 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    624
    Country:
    Thanks! Corrected!
    In a next time I can upload my BMP files if our friends can't find the way to create them. It's not very easy, as the are not common bmp files.

    I can also add an extra feature for adding an extra payload (and icon) like LockpickRCM to this setup.
     
    Tyvar1 likes this.
  8. claussm

    claussm Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2019
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    KeoniAzugon and Tyvar1 like this.
  9. Tyvar1

    Tyvar1 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yes please, that would be amazing! :bow:
     
  10. Mrperson0

    Mrperson0 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    United States
    Do you know if it's possible to create an extra bootloader on the .ini file so you can load sysNAND through fusee-primary? I tried adding "emummc_force_disable=1" below and above fusee-primary.bin, but it seems it still loads emuMMC.

    Edit: Apparently not possible since hekate can't write to the sd on every boot. Ah well, guess I'll just use fusee-secondary for that.
     
    Last edited by Mrperson0, Apr 23, 2020
  11. rommy667

    rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    560
    Country:
    Great tip thanks a lot :)
     
  12. AcIdPort

    AcIdPort Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Colombia
  13. Junz

    Junz Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Senegal
    Thanks for the guide. Will this work with Tinfoil?
     
  14. C7XL

    C7XL Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2020
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    What I usually do when updating is replacing the "reboot_payload.bin" inside /atmosphere folder with hekate's own .bin file. That works too.
     
    Broduskii and f0li0 like this.
  15. MattKimura

    MattKimura 3DS & WiiU Enthusiast
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    2,129
    Country:
    United States
    What's the difference of booting fusee-primary from rcm vs booting it via Hekate? In my setup I just simply use fusee-primary alone, though Im a banned user so I don't use emuMMC. So this setup isn't particularly useful for users like myself. But for my friends who I setup emuMMC with, it does help to use Hekate for everything.

    Since you're using Hekate, you should add to the post that it's convenient to have reboot_payload as Hekate's bin file. This way it's as simple as rebooting the system to get back to Hekate to swap between sysNAND and emuMMC without injecting a payload from rcm.
     
    Last edited by MattKimura, Apr 24, 2020
    Broduskii likes this.
  16. toxic9

    OP toxic9 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    624
    Country:
    Hekate and Atmosphere are a complement of each other.

    On my setup, there is no difference booting fusee-primary alone or from Hekate,
    because it makes Hekate to look as just a "bypass" to Atmosphere.

    On some setups, Hekate changes the way Atmosphere is booted,
    and so the big confusion on what patches should be used.


    But you should not exclude Hekate from your setup, because it is a precious tool to backup/restore your NAND regularly.
    I recommend doing a backup everytime you update your FW version and also when you make lots of changes on it, like installing/uninstalling a massive number of titles.
     
  17. NicDirkDex

    NicDirkDex Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I am using emummc. It still says I'm on 10.0.0. But when I boot switch normally, I'm on 10.0.1. How do I update emummc? My games work but I get the annoying message to update or start software. How do I fix this?
     
    Last edited by NicDirkDex, Apr 24, 2020
  18. wisnumurti

    wisnumurti Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I tried using the tutorial above, but I got error such as
    1. "Failed to apply 'nosigchk'! Failed to launch HOS! press any key

    2. and a fatal error occurred when running atmosphere, Title ID: 690000000000000000d, Error Desc: Data abort (0x101)
    Report saved to /atmosphere/fatal_errors/report_xxxxxxx.bin, please press Power to reboot

    Does anyone know what problem I faced? Thanks

    [Update]
    I managed boot my switch but using atmosphere fork from Neutos. I don't know why I cannot boot using vanilla Atmosphere or kosmos. Previosly I using Atmosphere with patches for tinvoil version 8 and install incognito rcm.
     
    Last edited by wisnumurti, Apr 25, 2020
  19. Corgano

    Corgano Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Canada
    Using this setup I was able to get standard atmosphere running and run all my games - sweet
    When i start tinfoil it complains about hekate being on my sd, even if it wasn't used to start atmosphere. Any idea how to get tinfoil to stop being a bitch about having hekate even when not used?
     
  20. claussm

    claussm Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2019
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    Try using Awoo (noir fork) or something instead.
     
    KeoniAzugon likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - chainload, vanilla, Hekate