SMG Update

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bestperson, Jul 29, 2008.

Jul 29, 2008

SMG Update by bestperson at 2:37 PM (1,302 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. bestperson
    OP

    Member bestperson Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    I have a wasabi modchip in my wii. Before I got the modchip I bought SMG and I updated when I put the disc in and it asked for an update. I played the game all the way through and beat it. I then got the modchip and gave the game to my friend to play and I got a backed up copy of SMG. Now when I put this backed up copy in it says it wants to update again. I'm running 3.2U and I tried running the back up through GeckoOs and it acts like it is loading up but then just freezes at a black screen. What should I do? Should I patch the image with brick blocker and regionfrii?
     
  2. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    what version of SMG is it. US, EU, or JPN.
     
  3. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the game's the same region as your Wii, then you should have no problem if you update.
     
  4. bestperson
    OP

    Member bestperson Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    the nfo claims it is NTSC-U, which is what my wii is, but how can I verify this? Why does it want me to update again anyway if I already did the update with the official disc?
     
  5. Condukt365

    Newcomer Condukt365 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    So you're saying you downloaded an ISO off the internet? For shame.

    But all shame aside you can use RegionFrii or another program that can change a disc's region code to verify it.
     
  6. Volkov

    Member Volkov GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Australia
    Two ways:

    1) Use WUM to open the ISO and check what region the disc is...

    2) Use WiiBrowser to extract to extract a file named boot.bin from the game partition (not the update partition) from the disc. Open this in a hex editor and look at the start. The forth byte (or 0x003) will be your country code.
    P/Z = PAL
    E = NTSC-U
    J = NTSC-J
     
  7. bestperson
    OP

    Member bestperson Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the help. I'll try this out tonight.

    does anybody have any idea why geckoOS froze up on me? Could I have done something wrong, or does GeckoOS not work with every game?

    Is it weird that it even wants to update? Shouldn't the update already be there from when I played the original game?
     
  8. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes - 3.2 is much newer than SMG is...

    It's more likely that it's wanting to update news/weather channels. So it's either from another region - doesn't see any news/weather from that region and wants to install them.... or maybe you have removed the ones from your own region.

    I wouldn't stress about it personally - updates off discs which are older than the menu you're already running will just give you dupe channels.

    With regards to gecko OS - could have been a bad burn.... could be a video mode incompatibility. Cross-region games don't always work - SMG NTSC-U works fine in my PAL wii though (in 480p).
     

Share This Page