1. Emankcin

    OP Emankcin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    My Vita was working fine. No problems at all. In fact, it was in sleep mode, still running Minecraft. It hadn't been dropped or anything. When I turned it on the other day to resume, I noticed that the camera started drifting. At first it was a little, then a lot. I jolted the right analog stick a bit, up and down, and it stopped... for a bit. But then, it started doing it again, so I exited the game, then started again. Still doing it... now worse! Tried a power down cycle. Even worse now! Now, it's fully looking down (I always invert the axis), and nothing can pull it back up. It's like I'm holding up on the right analog stick, but I'm not touching it at all!
    So, I tried another game to see if it was consistent. Load Quake, start game, same thing. Tried all the known soft fixes that I know of. Power off, rotate sticks for a while. No fix. Tried to rebuild the database. No fix. Tried leaving the power off for several hours. No fix. Checked to see if it was maybe an issue with the memory card itself by putting a game card, and playing that... no fix! Possibly hardware? Maybe. Take it apart, and check the cables. Cables look fine, but to be sure, disconnect them and reconnect them... No fix!
    Now, this is where it starts to get weird, and worse! I run Vitashell, and activate the script to switch to the SD2Vita, trying to rule out something fouled on the Vita memory card. It won't work! It was working before... it had always worked! Apparently, when I rebuilt the database, it must have erased all of my command scripts, but re-entering the script on the config should have worked. I checked it repeatedly and know that I entered it correctly... I even checked it against my other Vita!
    Next, I plug my Vita into my computer to back up the memory card, and even though it is connecting, it wouldn't copy anything over to the backup folder. Select all, copy, nothing! Try individual folder, ok, that worked. Next folder, worked. Next folder, nothing. Go into it, and continue moving everything over one folder at a time, as long as there's no subfolders! Copied everything except one folder in the Quake II directory, labeled nul. I guess I backed everything up, and I'm probably gonna have to format the card no matter what, but I can't figure out what would cause am analog stick to do this with no explanation whatsoever! Anyone?

    [TL-DR] PS Vita Right analog stick registers up input always, Leads to other minor problems that weren't there previously.
     
    Last edited by Emankcin, Jun 19, 2019
  2. kaymynd

    kaymynd GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    608
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like the analog stick is at the end of it's life I've had a few vitas with the same problem.
    I used the analogsenhancer plugin and that helped but didn't fix the issue. I had to replace the analog stick to fix.

    Also I was told that when you rebuild database it recreates the tai folder in ux0, which causes issues since theres already a tai folder in ur0. delete the ux0 tai folder and sd2vita should be working again.
     
  3. Emankcin

    OP Emankcin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    I kinda figured that the script loss in the ur0 folder was because of the database rebuild, but I couldn't figure out why writing in a new script failed... Might have to look at that deeper. I'll look into new analog sticks if they aren't too expensive, otherwise, I guess I'll just use the other Vita, and use this one for parts. Thanks.
     
  4. Vinceherman

    Vinceherman GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    haven't used this website myself but; egamephone has a good selection of PS Vita parts.
     
  5. Emankcin

    OP Emankcin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. Their prices are reasonable, so I placed an order.
     
  6. Emankcin

    OP Emankcin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Update: swapped out the analog. That didn't work, so swapping out vita!
     
  7. adeptape

    adeptape Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    do NOT attempt invasive repaits b4 trying Electrical Contact Cleaner. more info on "Is There any way to swap the left analog to the Dpad yet..."
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - problems, starting, analog