Hacking sky3ds and gateway saves compatible?

lucasferrr

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
50
Trophies
0
XP
170
Country
Brazil
guys im using a sky3ds,in a few days ill get a gateway, can i continue to play my games and use the .sav from sky3ds into the gateway? or should i stop playng until i get the gateway since ill have to restart the games (MH4, MK7, tomadochi life)?
 

bowser

Mwa ha ha ha!
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2008
Messages
2,377
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
XP
2,533
Country
India
I backed up a save from my retail OoT cartridge using Gateway. I also made a backup of OoT using Gateway. My 3DS is on 4.5 and emunand on 9.2.

Next I flashed my OoT backup to a Sky3DS and restored the backed up save using DiskWriter. When I start the game on a *new* 3DS XL on 9.0 it said the save game is corrupted. How can I get my save to work?
 

SomecallmeBerto

The Anti-Hero
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
1,097
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
USA
XP
636
Country
United States
I backed up a save from my retail OoT cartridge using Gateway. I also made a backup of OoT using Gateway. My 3DS is on 4.5 and emunand on 9.2.

Next I flashed my OoT backup to a Sky3DS and restored the backed up save using DiskWriter. When I start the game on a *new* 3DS XL on 9.0 it said the save game is corrupted. How can I get my save to work?


Change the extension to .3dz and see if that works
 

bowser

Mwa ha ha ha!
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2008
Messages
2,377
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
XP
2,533
Country
India
duke_srg wrote a perl script that converts the Gateway-dumped save file into a format usable by Sky3DS. I've used it and it works. We really should make it a sticky as the question comes up a lot and this is really the only way to use a retail save on Sky3DS.

https://gbatemp.net/threads/any-way...to-use-with-sky3ds.378750/page-5#post-5359685
Thanks for the tip! I tried it and the perl script created a 1mb .sav file from my 128kb save dump. Is that right? I then rewrote the game and restored the save but still got the corrupted save error.

The EEPROM size in the template is correct CC 22 11. The game id is AQEE (OoT USA). Not sure where it's going wrong.
 

UsualNoise

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
119
Trophies
0
XP
583
Country
United States
You also have to make sure the template.txt file you're using to load games onto Sky3DS has a header that matches your retail cartridge. There are various utilities to do that floating around this forum. Once the header contains your private info it should work (assuming you are providing a new / different name for the output save file ... the original can't be named AQEE.SAV since that's what the output file is named).
 

bowser

Mwa ha ha ha!
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2008
Messages
2,377
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
XP
2,533
Country
India
You also have to make sure the template.txt file you're using to load games onto Sky3DS has a header that matches your retail cartridge. There are various utilities to do that floating around this forum. Once the header contains your private info it should work (assuming you are providing a new / different name for the output save file ... the original can't be named AQEE.SAV since that's what the output file is named).
Yeah I made sure my original save file has a different name than the output. Can you confirm the output save file size of 1mb is normal?

Also, can you please name the utilities you're talking about? Do you mean Sky Army Knife?

And I might have launched the retail cart on a 9.2 console before dumping the save, don't remember exactly. Will that affect anything? I only launched the game, did not play it.
 

UsualNoise

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
119
Trophies
0
XP
583
Country
United States
The one I used was called Sky3DS template maker by Falo. I dragged my rom into the box, then copied the private header / ID I got via Gateway ROM Patcher v1.1. I pasted the result into my template.txt file (created a new one just containing my games with private headers) and used that in Sky3DS's diskwriter utility. After this the save file you modified should match. And yes, 1 MB sounds right - all my Sky3DS-compatible saves are that size.

We REALLY need some of this info in a FAQ / sticky somewhere in the Tutorial section or at the top of this forum. It's essential info for Sky3DS users and it currently is only accessible via getting lucky through searching this forum.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bowser

tony_2018

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
3,107
Trophies
0
XP
1,002
Country
United States
The one I used was called Sky3DS template maker by Falo. I dragged my rom into the box, then copied the private header / ID I got via Gateway ROM Patcher v1.1. I pasted the result into my template.txt file (created a new one just containing my games with private headers) and used that in Sky3DS's diskwriter utility. After this the save file you modified should match. And yes, 1 MB sounds right - all my Sky3DS-compatible saves are that size.

We REALLY need some of this info in a FAQ / sticky somewhere in the Tutorial section or at the top of this forum. It's essential info for Sky3DS users and it currently is only accessible via getting lucky through searching this forum.


No point because no one reads it or does any searching. I've seen multiple topics asking the same question and the original thread gets buried, or people just don't want to read through it to find there answer.
 

bowser

Mwa ha ha ha!
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2008
Messages
2,377
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
XP
2,533
Country
India
The one I used was called Sky3DS template maker by Falo. I dragged my rom into the box, then copied the private header / ID I got via Gateway ROM Patcher v1.1. I pasted the result into my template.txt file (created a new one just containing my games with private headers) and used that in Sky3DS's diskwriter utility. After this the save file you modified should match. And yes, 1 MB sounds right - all my Sky3DS-compatible saves are that size.

We REALLY need some of this info in a FAQ / sticky somewhere in the Tutorial section or at the top of this forum. It's essential info for Sky3DS users and it currently is only accessible via getting lucky through searching this forum.
After following those steps, I wrote the rom again and restored the save. When I put the Sky3DS in the system, the game showed up fine in the system menu. But right after booting the game I got an error "The game card was removed" and the game stopped showing up after that. I'm able to cycle to other games by pressing the blue button but this particular game doesn't show up anymore no matter how many times I remove and write it again. Any ideas? :wacko:
 

UsualNoise

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
119
Trophies
0
XP
583
Country
United States
No, sorry. I do know if it's the first game in the list you have to wait a few seconds before launching it. If I launch the first game on my Sky3DS within the first 5 seconds or so it gives me the "Game Card was removed" error. If I wait until the blue light goes / more than 5 seconds off it works.
 

MelonGx

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
1,648
Trophies
0
XP
889
Country
China
Compatible:
Pre-Oct-2013 Card1 GW saves (original game cart save 512KB)
All Card1 retail cart saves

Incompatible:
Pre-Oct-2013 Card1 GW saves (original game cart save 128KB)
All Post-Oct-2013 Card1 GW saves

For Card2, I don't know.

CartSave -> SkySave (Card1) Converting Instructions:
1) Dump CartSave
2) Edit Sky3DS game's template to your retail cart's
3) Press Sky3DS's Blue/Red button to make the game which you want to export the save UNLAUNCHED
4) Export SkySave
5) Open both CartSave and SkySave with Hex editor
6) Replace SkySave's 0x58-0x80057 (or 0x20057 if CartSave is 128KB) with the entire CartSave
7) Import the modified SkySave

GWSave -> SkySave (Card1) Converting Instructions:
1) Import Sky3DS Template's game header to your ROM and rename it into .3DZ
2) Do a .3DS save to .3DZ save conversion
3) Follow CartSave -> SkySave 's Step 3-7
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Turns out Germany's version of Santa back in the 40s didn't go that well
  • Veho @ Veho:
    You don't wanna know where his toys were made.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Camp #2 or #4?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Or a Disney warehouse
  • Veho @ Veho:
    A Disney whorehouse.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Damn that's even worse
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Kumar becomes Santa now
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Harold and Kumar go to the North Pole.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Rudolph tasted the best
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Rudolph the red-rocket reindeer.
  • Shape @ Shape:
    @M4x1mumReZ every console. Every console. Please no more unbelievably bloated updates
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Imagine if nothing ever updated
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Imagine all the people.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I wouldn't mind a rock as a house easier to repair
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Subway announced footlong cookies.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Yay more ways to improve my diabetes
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Shape, Just block the updates with a custom DNS or never use internet on it in the first place.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Lol I am #81 in queue
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Damn she is one popular hooker
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The government does fuck you alot
    K3N1 @ K3N1: The government does fuck you alot