Hacking Semi Brick Problems?

renae2469

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi I have looked everywhere and not sure where to turn so I decided to post. I am a total noob and have a soft modded 4.2u wii. I tried installing the dark wii theme using menuify but after the install it restarted and the system menu comes up for about 2 secs then whines and freezes. So I tried changing back to the 4.2u system menu theme using menuify and it did change it back but it still whines and freezes after 2 secs. One guy in a forum had me put the bootmii file on the root of my sd and when I turned on the wii it took me to custom ios 2.0 and not sure what to do after that. I still have access to hbc and priiloader so another guy had me disable all options in system menu hacks and turn it on but same thing. Not sure where to go from here. I can still play my games through maintenance mode by holding + and - on black screen at startup..in fact that gives access to everything but the message board which I don't need. I just want to get my 4.2u system menu back and I will never do that again. Also, I downloaded the syscheck 2.0.1 but I wasn't sure how to put on my sd card and use it in the wii. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Does this mean I semi bricked my wii? Sorry I dont even know if put this in the right place.

EmbraceFiction

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Canada
You can boot up PriiLoader;

Then go to the HBC. There you can access Dop-Mii, which is probably your best bet of re-installing the System Menu.

Another option is using BootMii.

renae2469

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I had heard that dopmii could fully brick my wii so I haven't tried that yet. How do I use the bootmii option? I have a copy of my nand bootmii and system menu 4.2u. How do I use these or is this the wrong method? If you guys can help me please make sure it is step by step cause as I said I'm very new at this...... Thanks for everything so far!

jskyboo