Hacking SD card problem

Meanime

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Location
The World of Balance
XP
24
Country
Canada
Hi....

I have a problem with a 4gb micro sd card.
I'm using Mac OSX, too.


Anyway, I'm using the card inside an NDS Acekard 2 (not 2i). It works fine, I can run the roms fine on the DSLite system. I'm also using the current AKAIO 1.8 firmware (but this issue was present in the 1.7 firmware as well).

My problem is, whenever I put the card into a usb card reader or into an SD slot on my laptop (using the SD adapter) it will always say there is 24mbs space left on the card.

I can delete multiple roms, but it will always say there is 24mbs of space left. So I can never add any new roms to the card. I'll continue to delete and delete more roms but it will always say 24mbs left.

When I check the folder that the roms are in on the SD card, the info window will say that the whole folder is around 2.3 gbs big. So than you'd think I would be able to add more roms since it's a 4gb micro sd card.

This is the second micro sd card to do this. One is a Kingston and the other is a Staples store brand. Does anyone know what could be the problem? Is the Acekard messing up my sd cards?

My cousin has an Acekard 2i (using on DSLite) and he's never mentioned having a problem like this.

I've tried reformating when it happened to the first card but it didn't work. After reformating, the Acekard wouldn't even detect the SD card when I tried to use it. My cellphone is using the first micro sd card just fine though. The first one being the Kingston card. And now this is the second sd card (the staples card) that has done this to me since using one inside the Acekard.
 

Meanime

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Location
The World of Balance
XP
24
Country
Canada
I don't really know where the sd cards were made.

One sd card is a Kingston and the other is Staples store brand.

I have access to Mac OS X 10.6 and Windows 7.

When I put the card into my windows 7, it doesn't auto run as usual. And it says it has less space than when I view it on mac. It says 22mbs instead of 24. But in windows I can't even open the sd card folder. It just says application not found. And the bar that indicates how full the card is, is red instead of the usual blue.

Reformatting didn't seem to do anything. After I did that the Acekard wouldn't even recognize or load anything up. But my cellphone would still continue to recognize the sd card after reformatting.

I'd attach an image of a screenshot of the card plugged in through Windows 7 but I can't attach an image to this post.
 

Meanime

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Location
The World of Balance
XP
24
Country
Canada
I did a bit more digging around.

I put the card into Windows 7 and enabled hidden files. There's a folder callded .trashes on the card that shows all the roms that I deleted from the card over time. The .trashes folder is 1.7gbs itself. So that could have something to do with it.

From what I understand, .trashes is a MAC OS X thing. I think it's supposed to be like having a trash bin on the sd card that you have to empty out like the normal trash/recycle bin.

So I restarted back into Mac OSX.
I never noticed before. But when I plugged in my SD card into the computer, the main trash bin became full. I opened the main trash bin and it showed all the files that I had thought I deleted from the card in the past. So i emptied the bin and it freed up all the space on the SD card. Now the sd card has 1.6 gbs available.

So...I guess I'm good now.
 

wiilovewii

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
13
Trophies
0
XP
46
Country
United States
you wont break your SD card by deleting .trashes.

just delete it.

after that, reformat your card to fat 16 or 32 using the Panasonic formatter on windows.

see if that helps.

and reinstall your cards firmware, I prefer AKAIO, but to each his own, just make sure your up-to-date.

hope this helps,

wiilovewii
 

Javacat

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
323
Trophies
1
Website
Visit site
XP
288
Country
^^ You need to empty the dustbin after deleting the files on OSX, as it moves them into there normally instead of actually deleting them. If you want to delete the files in one go then you need to hold some other key down whilst you delete the file. I forget what key it is though. It's one of the function keys on the bottom left of the keyboard, but I dunno which
tongue.gif
 

SuicideBunny

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
5
Country
Gambia, The
Meanime said:
So...I guess I'm good now.
disable trash as a default, enable it for your main partitions only. it can severely fuck removable flash media up, result in irremovable ghost files, and so on.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: https://www.reddit.com/r/FunnyAnimals/comments/10ueh0e/catasaurus_rex/ +2