1. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    If you are so lazy and simply want to combine the top and bottom screens of the screenshots you take without using your computer, well here you go.

    This is screenshot-merge and it does just that: merge every screenshot on your [micro]SD card. The result is a bunch of images in the folder "screenshots-merged". It only asks for confirmation and patience.

    Get the latest release

    This is obviously inspired by Screenshot Tool, a PC program by @RedHat but this comes with a few changes and limitations...
    • Merged screenshots are in .bmp format. lpp-3ds can't save in .png (at least for right now). This does raise the filesize.
    • There's no transparency on the sides of the bottom screenshots.
    • Templates can't be used at the moment due to strange limitations that I'm looking into.
    So, what are the advantages then?
    • Done entirely on the 3DS, doesn't need a computer! Then (if you really want to) use a mobile device to transfer the screenshots (FTP? inserting SD card?) and upload using it.
    • Only takes a few button presses and out comes images ready for uploading to a service like imgur! imgur will convert it to a .png.
    • Supports ninjhax 2.x, NTR CFW, and Luma3DS Rosalina screenshots!
    I figured the current downsides wouldn't bother most people, so I'm releasing it in the state that it's in. Enjoy!

    Source: https://github.com/ihaveamac/screenshot-merge
    All releases: https://github.com/ihaveamac/screenshot-merge/releases
    Please report bugs, requests, and other issues on GitHub or this thread.
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Thanks to Rinnegatamante for Lua Player Plus, smealum for the screenshot feature of ninjhax 2.x, and Aurora Wright/TuxSH/other contributors on Luma3DS and Rosalina.
     
    Last edited by ihaveamac, Jun 20, 2017
  2. SANNIC789

    SANNIC789 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    704
    Country:
    United States
    thanks im a try it out :D
    it wode be nice to update it to choose if u whant all or just 1 or 2
     
  3. gudenau

    gudenau Largely ignored
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,656
    Country:
    United States
    A nice little tool for sure.

    Edit:
    Why not make it support NTR as-well?
     
  4. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    if you can tell me exactly how the format works then maybe. unfortunately I don't have a 9.2 or lower system, so...
     
  5. dfsa3fdvc1

    dfsa3fdvc1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    Albania
  6. gudenau

    gudenau Largely ignored
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,656
    Country:
    United States
    top_XXXX.bmp and bot_XXXX.bmp where XXXX is a decimal number.
     
  7. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    what folder are they stored in?
     
  8. gudenau

    gudenau Largely ignored
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,656
    Country:
    United States
    "/" unfortunately.
     
  9. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    I guess I should go try and work with that then. since I can't use NTR on anything I won't be able to test it.

    in "top_XXXX.bmp", is XXXX always 4 digits or can it vary?
     
  10. gudenau

    gudenau Largely ignored
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,656
    Country:
    United States
    Always four, padded with zero.

    Edit'
    I swear that got auto-corrected.
     
    Last edited by gudenau, Dec 10, 2015
  11. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    can you (or anyone) please try this out and tell me how it goes?

    https://github.com/ihaveamac/screenshot-merge/releases/tag/1.1NTRtest

    I need someone who can actually use NTR to use it with the images it generates, because when I tried to convert a screenshot with an editor, this happened. I need to know if the images directly from NTR (or the plugin?) work fine.
     
    Last edited by ihaveamac, Dec 10, 2015
  12. Lycanroc

    Lycanroc Woof
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2,099
    Country:
    Germany
    I'll try this out! Does it merge the top screen images into a 3D image?
     
  13. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    no, it only uses the left image (for nh2.5). using the right screenshot would result in two separate merged images.
     
    Lycanroc likes this.
  14. gudenau

    gudenau Largely ignored
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,656
    Country:
    United States
    I'll give you a few screenshots when I get home. So in ~5 hours.
     
  15. Asia81

    Asia81 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,033
    Country:
    France
    @ihaveamac I used this for NTR, success, but nothing in the screenshot-merged folder
     
  16. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    the format is top_XXXX.bmp and bot_XXXX.bmp at the root of the SD card. if whatever you were using has a different format, please tell me. the final result are a bunch of files at /screenshots-merged/ntr/mrg_XXXX.bmp
     
  17. hobbledehoy899

    hobbledehoy899 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,818
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Does saving the merged image/s as .bmp lower the quality of the image?
     
  18. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    no, it's just a larger file size. it's a consistent filesize though (always 576054 bytes).

    the only other option was jpeg, which of course has compression and not good for this.
     
  19. Asia81

    Asia81 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,033
    Country:
    France
    @ihaveamac This is my root (made with the latest NTR):
    http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2015/50/1449782507-1.png

    So I don't know...

    When I try the homebrew, I have that:
    http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2015/50/1449782831-20151210-222527.jpg

    Here it's 2 PNG if you want check the bmp format:
    http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2015/50/1449782974-bot-0000.png
    http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2015/50/1449782977-bot-0001.png
    http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2015/50/1449782980-top-0000.png
    http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2015/50/1449782981-top-0001.png

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I'm sorry it's me... I'm stupid because I didn't press X for Start...
     
    Last edited by Asia81, Dec 10, 2015
    ihaveamac likes this.
  20. ihaveamac

    OP ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    looks like it's time for UI changes :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - screenshots, screenshot, merge