Gaming Safely back up Pokemon Omega Ruby save?

Crossvxm

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
124
Country
United States
I have Omega Ruby (digital version). Is there a way to safely back up my save file(s) to use on another console? I have CFW, am on the latest 11.8 and the last time I attempted to do this using Checkpoint (I assumed it would work) I got the ''corrupted save" message after restoring it.

NOTE: I don't play this game online at all.
 

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,406
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Imola
XP
6,307
Country
Italy
Any save manager (JKSV, Checkpoint, SaveDataFiler, and even the ridiculously old svdt and save_manager) will make correct backups; the "error" you experienced is likely due to a mismatched secure value, which the first 3 programs should be able to handle (the first 2, automatically while importing a save, although they're not perfect)
 

Bondrewd

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
48
Country
Mexico
Are both games on the same version?
Something similar happened to me with UM, it'd say that the save was corrupted then i updated and it worked
 
  • Like
Reactions: Crossvxm

Crossvxm

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
124
Country
United States
Any save manager (JKSV, Checkpoint, SaveDataFiler, and even the ridiculously old svdt and save_manager) will make correct backups; the "error" you experienced is likely due to a mismatched secure value, which the first 3 programs should be able to handle (the first 2, automatically while importing a save, although they're not perfect)

Would it be silly of me to make a back up using all of them to ensure one of them works? If it's a safer option, I'd be willing to do it.

Are both games on the same version?
Something similar happened to me with UM, it'd say that the save was corrupted then i updated and it worked

Now that you mention it, this may have been the thing. The one I made the back up of was not updated, and I tried to restore it on a more updated one. However, even trying to restore it back on the one it was backed up from failed afterwards and my progress was a RIP.
 

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,406
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Imola
XP
6,307
Country
Italy
Would it be silly of me to make a back up using all of them to ensure one of them works? If it's a safer option, I'd be willing to do it.
In general, having more than one backup (even better if on multiple devices) is smarter than only having one; but in this case, if you were to compare the files extracted by different tools, they would be 100% equal, just placed in different folders
 
  • Like
Reactions: Crossvxm

Crossvxm

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 7, 2016
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
124
Country
United States
In general, having more than one backup (even better if on multiple devices) is smarter than only having one; but in this case, if you were to compare the files extracted by different tools, they would be 100% equal, just placed in different folders

Sorry for the late reply. I've decided to go this path. For the most part, it looks like JKSV is going to be my go to as it is very basic. It was the first one I tried and it worked perfectly, backed up on one 3DS and successfully restored in the other without issues. Thank you both very much for your help!
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • DSgodman @ DSgodman:
    lol wat is this
  • Maq47 @ Maq47:
    Ur mum. lol xD
  • wiiuepiccpu @ wiiuepiccpu:
    F u n n i t e x t
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    I wonder what the speeds are with this upload I'm doing, because I have a reason to believe that YouTube is barely taking advantage of my upload speed under Firefox.
  • Ishzark @ Ishzark:
    did your upload slow down? V:
  • Ishzark @ Ishzark:
    #+
  • Ishzark @ Ishzark:
    oops
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    No, I've checked my upload, it's still good.
  • Ishzark @ Ishzark:
    so Youtube is not the one at fault
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    I blame Firefox. I can't believe I'm saying this, but if this was Chrome, the video would be processing right now.
  • CeeDee @ CeeDee:
    @wolffangalchemist you're just doing it wrong, smh
  • Ishzark @ Ishzark:
    greedy Firefox
  • CeeDee @ CeeDee:
    comic sans is pretty awesome
  • CeeDee @ CeeDee:
    I mean... at least I think so... HAH
  • VinsCool @ VinsCool:
    poop
  • Olmectron @ Olmectron:
    bread
  • boomy @ boomy:
    bread
  • Olmectron @ Olmectron:
    breadofthewild
    +1
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    ^ That explains why that game feels so stale and old and gross; thanks!
  • Asia81 @ Asia81:
    pooping a bread in the wild
    +2
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Yo found my PS1 pizza hut demo disc
  • thehawksfuckingdead7 @ thehawksfuckingdead7:
    ps1 games are wild man
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Okay, how do I disable that "GBAtemp wants to enable push notifications" banner at the bottom of the screen? It keeps appearing whenever I visit the home page, and I can't enable them.
    RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing: Okay, how do I disable that "GBAtemp wants to enable push notifications" banner at the bottom of...